We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern, Sleek and Comfortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Ivy

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Orbitz.com Booking.com
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Ivy
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   201 South Eleventh Street, Minneapolis, MN 55403 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #18 of 49 hotels in Minneapolis
Haverford, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
347 reviews 347 reviews
86 hotel reviews
Reviews in 112 cities Reviews in 112 cities
218 helpful votes 218 helpful votes
“Modern, Sleek and Comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

The Hotel Ivy is located near the center of downtown Minneapolis.
It's a very comfortable,modern choice of downtown hotels.
In pulling up to the hotel I had a large bag spill all over my backseat of the car. When I pulled up to the valet, he was extremely helpful in cleaning up the mess and was patient about doing so. It was that kindness that you don't find in a lot of big cities.
The lobby is spacious and sleek in a clean sort of way. Check-in was fine, but not overly friendly. As a matter of fact the guy checking me was talking to a co-worker while processing me and never looked at me or gave my check-in much attention.
I was happy with room. It was spacious enough and had some modern elements to it, however it was still warm and cozy. It was decorated perfectly to blend modern with comfort. The bathroom was large and the amenities were top rate. I had a great view looking over to Loring Park.
My only complaint was that it was just a tad too far out of the center of downtown. It was certainly walkable in the summer months, but would have been a chilly walk in the depths of a Minnesota winter. If you are working or doing anything at Orchestra Hall it is very convenient.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travis T, Director of Rooms at Hotel Ivy, responded to this review, May 17, 2012
James,
We are so delighted that you had a wonderful experience with us at the Hotel Ivy. Your comments reflect the kind of service we strive to give each of our guest everyday. From the moment you pull up to the hotel to the time of check out and driving away, we give 110% luxury service.

When you do come to visit us in the winter season, don't forget that the Hotel Ivy is attached, via the city's skyway system, to the rest of downtown Minneapolis.

Thank you again for your stay and your kind words, we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    123
    78
    31
    12
    8
See reviews for
25
84
20
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012 via mobile

This was my first trip to Minneapolis and this hotel was recommended by conference planners. An easy walk to the train from the airport and convenient to everything downtown.

Though rooms are a bit on the small side, they are beautifully furnished with great views of downtown. The best surprise about these rooms is the soaking tub with separate shower. It felt like a spa a bit away from home.

Only one complaint about this hotel. Internet is free in lobby, but pricey in the rooms. It was frustrating that paying guests had to pay for Internet in the room, but anyone from off the street could walk in and use lobby Internet for free.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012 via mobile

All the staff at Hotel Ivy are great! They go above and beyond to make sure you are comfortable and have everything you may possibly need. The bed in the room is the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in and the bathroom is the best I have ever seen in a hotel room. I will definitely return to this hotel. It is also connected to the skyway system and two blocks from Nicollet mall.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

This hotel is like an oasis, when you leave the busy downtown city streets, you enter a very calm, quiet welcoming environment. The staff is extremely helpful, courteous and knowledgeable. The rooms are super clean, with comfy beds and very quiet. The bathroom is luxurious with high end toiletries, fluffy towels, and a lovely soaking tub. The bar is very nice also, with a "small bites" bar menu priced very well and the items we tried were delicious. We also had breakfast each day in the restaurant, the Eggs Benny and the Fried Egg Sandwich were delicious. Unfortunately, we did not have time to visit the spa, not enough time, so that is on our list for our next visit. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting the Twin Cities area, the location is wonderful. We walked to the "Twins " game, went shopping using the skyway sytstem, and walked over to Nicollet Mall for dinner, everything you need is within walking distance. Enjoy!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

Our first annual girls' weekend (plus half marathon) was perfect thanks to the Hotel Ivy - great accomodations, helpful staff, super bar, wonderful spa... it all added up to the type of place to feel like you are "home" yet "far away from home"!

Room Tip: Ask for the highest room possible...our view from the 18th floor was amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

I spent several months at Ivy, for work purposes.
The hotel is nice and the room are big. The gym is super!
What really liked about the hotel was the friendliness and availability of the staff. I got help from them in multiple times (in particular the guest service manager has been really helpful!).
Would definitely go back when I will be in Minneapolis again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Two friends and I had tickets for a show at the Guthrie. Having stayed at the Ivy before I suggested it to my friends.
From the parking attendants to the desk staff, everyone is warm and friendly. The decor is contemporary but warm.
Our room had a great view of downtown and was well appointed. Large screen TV, plenty of clothes storage and a spacious bathroom with large tub and separate glass shower. The beds were very comfortable and I had no problem falling asleep in minutes.
The Ivy is a short walk to Nicollet Mall with many restaurants, bars and shopping.
It's upscale but a very good value.

Room Tip: If you don't need or want a tub, you can ask for a room with a larger shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Ivy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ivy

Also Known As:
Ivy Hotel Minneapolis
Address: 201 South Eleventh Street, Minneapolis, MN 55403
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Minneapolis
#9 Luxury Hotel in Minneapolis
#15 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
#24 Family Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Ivy 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of downtown Minneapolis, the skyway-connected Hotel Ivy hotel is conveniently located next to Orchestra Hall, the Nicollet Mall area and the Convention Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Starwood, Travelocity, Expedia, BookIt.com, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Hotel Ivy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Ivy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hotel Ivy to your Saves list