We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We would stay here again” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Minneapolis (Golden Valley)

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Minneapolis (Golden Valley) to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Minneapolis (Golden Valley)
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   6051 Golden Hills Drive, Minneapolis, MN 55416   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #32 of 48 Hotels in Minneapolis
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“We would stay here again”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

The service was excellent both at the front desk and from housekeeping. They have one of the best breakfasts I have had in this price range. Even though the hotel was busy, noise was not a problem.

I knew that this is an older building. In general the upkeep is good. There are a few details I hope they will attend to- the paint was chipping a lot on the bathroom doorway and the desk chair had cracks and tears. Small things but at this price range I expect good attention to details.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIGoldenValley, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Minneapolis (Golden Valley), responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Thank you! We are pleased to hear that although our hotel was busy during your stay, you still found the noise to not be an issue. We appreciate you sharing your feedback regarding the small touch-ups and I will make sure to share your review with our entire management team so they can follow-up with these issues. Again, thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    18
    9
    2
    1
See reviews for
12
4
Solo
0
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Anytown, USA
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
257 helpful votes 257 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

I had a conference at another hotel nearby in Minnitonka but opted to stay at the Holiday Inn express primarily because I am a PC member and this is yet another way to keep my elite Platinum status. I was upgraded to a suite on 3rd floor on arrival and the stay has been comfortable.

The property is a bit older than many of the HI Express at other locations but the proximity to highway and the service more than makes up for it. Also noticed that the manager has been active on Tripadvisor, a sign of being responsive to customer needs.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIGoldenValley, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Minneapolis (Golden Valley), responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thank you for the 5 star review! We are lucky to have you as such a loyal guest and appreciate that you chose to stay with us, opposed to the hotel where your conference was being held. I am delighted to hear our team of associates were ready and willing to assist you to upgrade to a suite. They work very hard to provide the highest level of customer service possible and we could not be more proud of them! Thanks again for sharing your feedback and we hope you will stay with us again if ever back in the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

This location is very close to the Toby Kieth I LOVE THIS BAR AND GRILL. The service was great, which includes free shuttle service to the surounding area. The breakfast is much better than I have seen at other properties. Rooms were big and updated with flat screen TV's.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIGoldenValley, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Minneapolis (Golden Valley), responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review! We are fortunate to be located in a such a prime location which is close to many notable dining and shopping options, and a happy you agree! We appreciate you choosing to stay with us and hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

ok.... so.... the room N126 Suite was clean and nice, breakfast ok, standart meniu.... pool... this was our problem... we choose this particulare hotel cause only they had pool open till 1AM , which is amazing if you were skiing 4PM to 10PM in -10 F... one of the walls in the pool area is made from glass( 3 or 4 huge windows), when its cold outside it doesn't really help to keep temperature inside... also they have some fans there, by some rules working non stop..... to avoid freezing we went to the room((((
still wanna than them fot letting us check in earlier and check out later.....
the hotel is 30 min away from Buck Hill ski...
24 min from Mall of America...
in the end..... I just think 154 doll per night (Sun to Mon) its a little to much...

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIGoldenValley, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Minneapolis (Golden Valley), responded to this review, January 28, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience staying while staying with us! We apologize if the comfort of your stay was interrupted due to cool temperatures near the pool area. However, the fans you mentioned are used strictly to ensure air circulation and are not functioning to cool the area down. It is a common misconception when people see them to associate them with the cold but they are just to keep the temperature regulated. Thanks again for the review and we appreciate you choosing to stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Overall I had a good stay at this hotel. Relatively close to Metrodome where I was going. Not too far from Mall of America which I also went to. Good quiet location without chaos. My Only complaint is that they charge more for a room with two queen beds than a room with a King and and sofa bed. Who actually wants to sleep on a sofa bed? Doesn't make sense to me it should be same price. Breakfast was good and was refilled often. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TPImanager, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Minneapolis (Golden Valley), responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments relating to your recent stay with us. We are fortunate for our property to be located in such close proximity to many notable local attractions, restaurants, and shopping options – it is great that you agree! Regarding the room rate for two queen beds vs. one with a king bed; it is all related to our occupancy that specific night and the fact that there are typically more guests staying in a room with two beds instead of one. This industry is based on supply and demand and so our rates fluctuate often and it is not always more expensive to have two queens. If you have any more questions regarding this issue, please do not hesitate to contact us as we would be more than happy to answer any and all questions you may have! We are thrilled you enjoyed our free hot breakfast that we offer our guests each morning and that it was monitored closely by our team of associates. We appreciate you choosing to stay with us and hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
159 helpful votes 159 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

This hotel is older, but I didn't have any complaints about cleanliness. Overall it was a good experiance and the staff was helpful but I probably wouldn't stay here again. The hotel is in a very strange place in between office complexes and seperated from the resturants and bars by the interstate highway. There is a shuttle service, but while we were told is has a 5 mile radius of the hotel they will exclude the uptown area even though it fits in that radius.

Breakfast was standard but always hot and ready to go each morning. However the biggest complaint I had about the hotel was the noise. It really did sound like a waterfall was coming through the room when someone would shower next door. You could hear conversations clearly between walls and elephants certainly walked above your head. I guess that comes with an older building.

Overall I think we got what we paid for but there was nothing that stood out to make it memorable.

Room Tip: pick something on back of hotel because train runs in front of hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TPImanager, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Minneapolis (Golden Valley), responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your open and honest feedback in regards to your recent stay with us. We appreciate receiving opinions from our valued guests so we can improve where we have failed. Please accept our apologies if the comfort of your stay was interrupted due to noise issues and if you did not find our location beneficial to you. We are fortunate however, that this location is a very secure area for our guests to feel safe which is a large concern for us. Please know that if you or any of our guests would prefer a room change, our front desk associates would be more than happy to accommodate to you. It is our goal to meet or exceed all guests’ expectations! We are happy to hear you enjoyed our free breakfast that we offer daily. Thank you again for choosing to stay with us and we hope you change your mind and come visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northfield, Minnesota
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Hotel was very clean, staff was excellent, friendly and beyond helpful,breakfast was delicious, beds were very comfy, overall wonderful stay!!! Awesome location, very close to downtown! Anyone looking for a great hotel outside the city limits should check out this hotel!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kjerstin K, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Minneapolis (Golden Valley), responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. Your kind comments will be shared with our entire team as it helps us continue to deliver the level of service and cleanliness you experienced. We are happy to hear your enjoyed our amenities and had a great stay! We hope to host you again and thank you for the 5 star rating!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Minneapolis (Golden Valley)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Minneapolis (Golden Valley)

Address: 6051 Golden Hills Drive, Minneapolis, MN 55416
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Minneapolis (Golden Valley) 2.5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel Golden Valley Minneapolis, MN is conveniently located 3 miles west of downtown Minneapolis, MN, a short drive away from the Minneapolis Metrodome, Target Center, U of M & the Minneapolis Convention Center. Less than 20 minutes from the Minneapolis/St Paul Airport & the famous Mall of America, you will find our location most convenient. Whether you're traveling for business or pleasure, you have found your home away from home. Join us after a busy day for a light dinner, snacks, & drinks at our evening social Monday-Thursday or join us for movie night on Fridays & Saturdays. Your stay at the Holiday Inn Express Golden Valley Minneapolis, MN will be complete with the Simply Smart Bedding Collection which brings comfort to a whole new level. Wake up refreshed to the pleasant aroma of our delicious hot breakfast including all of your favorites; cinnamon rolls, omelets, bacon, sausage, eggs, biscuits and gravy, and many more scrumptious delights. Holiday Inn Express Golden Valley Minneapolis, MN comes with free high speed Internet access, mini-refrigerator, microwave & iPod clock radio in each room as well as a pool & whirlpool, exercise room, business center, on-site laundry, dry cleaning, boardroom & complimentary parking. Just minutes from downtown Minneapolis close to Allianz Life, General Mills, Honeywell, Metrodome, Target Center & 3rd Lair Skate Park. Hotel also offers weekday shuttle to and from local businesses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Minneapolis (Golden Valley) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Minneapolis (Golden Valley) Hotel Minneapolis
Holiday Inn Minneapolis
Minneapolis Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Minneapolis (Golden Valley), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.