We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So-so” 3 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Minneapolis

Save Saved
You added DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Minneapolis to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Minneapolis
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1101 LaSalle Ave, Minneapolis, MN 55403   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn 2x HHonors Points
Ranked #22 of 49 hotels in Minneapolis
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
“So-so”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

I stayed at the hotel with some friends to celebrate our birthdays. When we got there, the door to the hotel from the parking ramp had plastic on around it but looked like it could be open, I grabbed the door handle only to find out that it was freshly painted. So I still have paint on my hand. There was also no alternative way to get in but to walk down the parking ramp and go in below. When I told the person at the desk what happened, they were very blasé about it and offered nothing. As well, they are supposed to give cookies to guests and we had to ask for them. When we were leaving the next day, again, caution tape on a different door and we had to walk around with our luggage. The room was very nice, but the service was not so great. Also, their parking lot is not very big and it's $19 per car to park overnight.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dustin P, General Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Minneapolis, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Our goal is to make every stay perfect, and to hear that your stay was "so-so" isn't acceptable to myself or my team. We were performing many enhancement projects to our building in the past few months, but to hear that we didn't properly quarantine off an area to prohibit you from getting paint on your hand is absolutely unacceptable. I would be frustrated if I were you as well. This is not typical of my hotel, so I certainly hope that you give us one more chance to prove to you that we have the best service and accommodations in Minneapolis and that we sincerely want to give our guest's the best experience for all the right reasons.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

393 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    132
    159
    60
    25
    17
See reviews for
59
75
27
167
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

We came to Minnesota for a Vikings game and we're very pleased with the hotel. Our only gripe was the parking! There is a parking garage available to guests but if you're not in a Vespa or Smart Car, you'll be pulling your mirrors in and holding your breath while trying to maneuver through the parking garage! It's a two way traffic garage, however there are cars parked on the side blocking one of the "lanes".

Do not let this deter you from staying here though. Again- great location, very clean, very nice, can't beat the price! Maybe see if they offer valet to save yourself a parking panic attack.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dustin P, General Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Minneapolis, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us while you were in town for the Vikings game. While it is difficult to stop people from parking in "non parking" areas, we still need to do a better job in the future. I am glad that the parking isn't going to deter you from staying with us again. We strive to create life long customers. We hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Mills, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

A few cleanliness issues with the room aside, it was a wonderful stay, with great staff, and very comfortable beds. I was very pleased with the hotel. I wish there was a non-nut option for the cookie given at check-in, but that is really a minor quibble. Great location downtown, close to food options and the convention center.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dustin P, General Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Minneapolis, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
It is nice to hear that most of the aspects with your stay were enjoyable. I will certainly place an additional focus on the cleanliness of all of our guest rooms to ensure we clean up our mistakes, no pun attended. The housekeeping department usually does a superior job, so I am sorry that there were some hiccups with your stay. I hope you give us another chance in the future as we would love to have your business again and again. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Came to MN for a wedding, and booked a room at this hotel based on its location. The staff was very friendly and easy to work with and the room was very clean. My room was right next to the elevator, which would explain why the noise level was a bit higher than I'm used to. It wasn't the cheapest room either, but the location justified the cost. Definitely not a hotel to avoid.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dustin P, General Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Minneapolis, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
I hope you enjoyed the wedding and the experience while you were in Minneapolis. We appreciate your business and while things were not perfect with you stay, we are glad you had a good time. We will try as always to improve and get better for next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Dakota
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

My husband, myself, and another couple were in Minneapolis for a Vikings game and chose the Doubletree Suites based on location and reviews on Trip Advisor and we were not disappointed with our choice. The rooms were large, very clean and had awesome comfortable beds. We also found the hotel to quiet and we all slept very well. The location was defintely a plus for us as we were able to walk to several bars and restaurants during our two night stay. Our favorite was Brit's Pub which is just around the corner.
Although we did not take advantage of the hotels ammenities, we found the staff to be very friendly, attentive and efficient during check in and out or when we had questions. We will make Doubletree our downtown Minneapolis favorite. Thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dustin P, General Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Minneapolis, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Thank you for staying at the Doubletree Suites while you were in Minneapolis! It is very nice to hear that you enjoyed the area, enjoyed the accommodations we provided you, and that you mentioned the staff. We need you a lot more than you need us, so we try to keep things as fun and upbeat as we can to create an experience with our customers. Please come back and see us again soon! We appreciate you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bemidji
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We recently stayed at Doubletree Suites to attend a Twins game and attend a play at the Orpheum Theater. Both were easily walked to, the theater being only 3 blocks, and Target Field a 10 minute walk. The location is a block off of Nicollet Mall, so the dining and shopping choices are good. We had dinner around the corner at Brit's Pub after the game on a Saturday night...we got there about 5:30, and were seated immediately. When we left the lobby was packed, and we were glad we went early. I had booked the hotel with a discount coupon, as well as our AARP rate, and due to overbooking doubles that weekend, the front staff gave us a king suite which was beautiful. All the staff were excellent, and very friendly. The only minor negative was lightweight bed linens, but we used the linens from the pullout sofa which helped. We will definitely stay here again, especially for Twins games and theater..

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dustin P, General Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Minneapolis, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Thanks for your comments. We truly welcome feedback and constructive criticism with all of our guests so that we can continue to improve and get better with all aspects that we provide. We appreciate you staying with us and hope next year the Twin's will do a little bit better so maybe you'll come see us even more. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for MLTU convention this past weekend. I can't get over how clean the hotel is . Check in was great and checkout and whenever I had questions they were very helpful . Also walking distance to many downtown locations . Last but not least the chocolate chip cookies yum.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dustin P, General Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Minneapolis, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Thank you for your great review! It is very satisfying to know that we exceeded your expectations in many different areas. The housekeeping staff works diligently to ensure all areas of the hotel are kept top notch, and the front desk is a great group of humble and vibrant people. We hope to see you back soon, and thank you for your business!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Minneapolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Minneapolis

Also Known As:
Doubletree Suites By Hilton Minneapolis Hotel Minneapolis
Doubletree Suites By Hilton Minneapolis Hotel
Doubletree Hotel Minneapolis
Doubletree Minneapolis
Address: 1101 LaSalle Ave, Minneapolis, MN 55403
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Minneapolis
#21 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Minneapolis 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy downtown Minneapolis' only full service, all-suite hotel! Refreshed & renewed for your enjoyment, our hotel has just wrapped up a multimillion dollar renovation. All suites feature the luxurious Suite Dreams beds, in-room safes, spacious living rooms, refrigerators and microwaves. Located in the heart of the city, this hotel is walking distance to Target Field, Hennepin Theatre District, the Minneapolis Convention Center, Nicollet Mall and Target Center. Start your morning by visiting the only full service Starbucks located in a hotel in the city! Come lounge, network and cozy up by the fire in the lobby or visit our restaurant for breakfast, lunch or dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Hilton Hotels, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Minneapolis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Minneapolis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.