We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Minneapolis

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Minneapolis to your Saves list
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Minneapolis
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1101 LaSalle Ave, Minneapolis, MN 55403   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Low Rates from $89
Ranked #19 of 48 Hotels in Minneapolis
Winnipeg
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Excellent service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Stayed at the Double Tree for a volleyball tournament held at the Convention Center and was very impressed. Rooms are modern and very clean. Hotel is nice and close to the Convention Center as well as Nicollet Mall with plenty of shopping and dining nearby. The service was exceptional. Everyone was very friendly and extremely helpful. The only downside to this hotel was no pool and wifi was only free in the lobby.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dustin P, General Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Minneapolis, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
We appreciate the kudos for the excellent service you spoke about in your review. We are here to try to make each guest's stay the best they have ever had, and while that is sometimes easier said than done, we are determined and always learn from our mistakes. I have to give all the credit to my staff, as they truly serve because that is what is in their hearts, not because that is what I tell them to do. It was an awesome weekend getting to host some of the volleyball teams, and we look forward to many more years of patronage. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

530 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    205
    76
    32
    21
See reviews for
84
89
33
236
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
243 helpful votes 243 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We spent 3 night here as we were in town to attend our daughter volleyball tournament. We were very impressed with the comfortable and spacious king suite room we received. The room had a very comfortable bed and sofa bed and two LCD tv sets, as well as a mini bar stocked with complimentary water and soft drinks. The bathroom was clean and modern. The location was perfect walking distance to the Minneapolis Convention Centre which is the venue where the tournament was taking place. Lots of good shops and restaurants around. Nice breakfast buffet in the morning. Staff was very friendly and accommodating.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dustin P, General Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Minneapolis, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Thank you so much for choosing the Doubletree Suites in Minneapolis while you were in town for the volleyball event. It was so much fun to host your team and others for the weekend. I apologize about the wind chill but I am going to go out on a limb and say next year will be much better. We have made some significant changes in the last few months and continue to live and breathe our service goals every day, so it is nice to hear that you experienced the staff working hard and doing our best to take care of our valued guests. Come back and see us the next time you are in town. I trust your journey back home was swift and safe. Take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Good service and a great location at this hotel in downtown Minneapolis. Walking distance to restaurants in the Nicollet mall area, Starbucks on site & a really friendly staff. Rates, parking & Internet made the stay a little pricey, but nothing out of the ordinary for downtown Minneapolis.

Note-the hotel is probably 2 blocks from the Skyway, so be prepared for a brisk walk in the morning if its winter in MN.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dustin P, General Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Minneapolis, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Thank you very much for your review of the Doubletree Suites in downtown Minneapolis. It is very rewarding to hear that your interactions with the staff were pleasant and fun. I am very proud of my staff for their sincere and genuine approach to hospitality. I will, however, tell them they need to work on the weather for you so the next time you come to visit it won’t be so “brisk”. They have not done the best of jobs this year in that “weather” area. Don’t forget about those warm chocolate chip cookies that usually do the trick! It was our pleasure to serve you, and please come back and see us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Everything works at this hotel. The staff were attentive and happy. The bar/restaurant was small and cozy and open late. The Starbucks connected to the hotel makes mornings quite easy. It's located a block off of the northern end of Nicollet Mall and within walking distance to numerous restaurants,bars, and shopping. A downtown Target is nearby in case you need to pick up something quick.

Room Tip: there is free street parking on weekends (starting after 6pm on Fridays) right near the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dustin P, General Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Minneapolis, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Thank you so much for the 5 star review of the Doubletree Suites in Minneapolis. It was a pleasure to have you as our guest, and we certainly appreciate you taking the time to give us your feedback. Stop by for a Doubletree cookie or just to say hello anytime you are near the hotel. I would love to meet you and thank you personally for your patronage. Take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Great service. Every one was very accommodating. Lobby was very nice Room was a little dated but clean and we enjoyed the stay and would definitely go back. It was very easy to get to downtown locations. Actually we have stayed at higher end places in Minneapolis and felt this was overall best for us. It was a good value also.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dustin P, General Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Minneapolis, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
We loved having you as our guests! We are glad that you survived the weather while you were in Minneapolis, and hopefully the warm cookies helped out a bit. Thank you for taking the time to give such a detailed review of our staff, service, and accommodations. It will certainly help others when they are planning a trip to Minneapolis. I know there were a few glitches during your stay so thank you for bringing them to my attention. We truly welcome the feedback and will use your comments to make the necessary changes immediately. It was uplifting to hear that despite the few setbacks, you enjoyed your stay with us and for that I am extremely grateful. I can’t wait until the next time you visit us, but hopefully it will be a little bit warmer. Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, WI
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

First, let me say that we stayed here during the least visited time of year, winter in Minneapolis! Perhaps that is why they were so good to us. This was NOTa typical big city hotel with a gorgeous lobby and then dirty rugs in the rooms matching a well worn decor. The lobby is very modest and clean. We were greeted with large warm chocolate chip cookies and 2 current newspapers for free (USA Today and The Wall Streert Journal). On subsequent days we had a free local paper as well. The elevators are worn and the rooms were obviously not built in 2013 but everything was clean. The "rooms" are really suites with one area having a couch, desk and coffee bar. The other is a bedroom area with tv etc. All were clean and newer. The bathrooms are smallish but everything worked well meaning that the sink and tub drained adquately and with no toilet problems like we've had at other big city hotels. Electric lighting and outlests were adequate. In some places that we have stayed, we had trouble finding an outlet or the plugs have even fallen out of the wall. None of these type of situations occurred here. The bath had been updated since inception which made it sort of modernish. It takes a long time for a shower as the water saver shower head doesn't deliver enough water for a quick shower but there were no big surprises like trying to figure out how to change the water temp or getting the thing to switch from tub to shower. The bed and linens were newish and without that gray look of well aged sheets. The rugs could have used a cleaning but were not filthy. The phones and decor were all newer and clean as was the window with a view of the city. A really big plus was the free breakfast which included eggs, toast, bacon, sausage, fruit, cereal, yogurt, coffee, milk, juice etc. We have sort of gotten used to the dry donuts and boxed cereal offered at other places and this was a treat! Also each night they had coffee bar in the lobby with more of those great chocolate chip cookies. WIFI was free but we had trouble logging on. Since it was winter and were were there to visit our kids for a short stay, we did ;not even check out a pool or exercise facility and don't even know if they have them. Finally a big concern of ours when staying in a hotel is that the place is too hot for sleeping well. It did have those heavy duty quilts but we managed to have it cold enough for a good sleep.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dustin P, General Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Minneapolis, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
We loved having you as our guests! We are glad that you survived the weather while you were in Minneapolis, and hopefully the warm cookies helped out a bit. Thank you for taking the time to give such a detailed review of our staff, service, and accommodations. It will certainly help others when they are planning a trip to Minneapolis. I know there were a few glitches during your stay so thank you for bringing them to my attention. We truly welcome the feedback and will use your comments to make the necessary changes immediately. It was uplifting to hear that despite the few setbacks, you enjoyed your stay with us and for that I am extremely grateful. I can’t wait until the next time you visit us, but hopefully it will be a little bit warmer. Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Interior Decor: Delicately rich and luxurious - excellent.
Exterior appearance: Relatively small hotel (still very attractive) on the southwesttern side of downtown Minneapolis.
Outside view from the room I stayed: Relatively average with bland buildings.
Room size: Approximately 75 square meters. Very luxurious.
Price value: Reasonable for what I paid and what I got.
Service: Excellent. Complementary mineral water, chocolate chip cookie and breakfast. Friendly staff lent me a packing tape to box my luggage to be sent separately via mail.
Bed: Medium - King. Got comfortable sleep. Excellent noise insulation.

Room Tip: Try apartment suite for extra comfort
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dustin P, General Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Minneapolis, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
It was an absolute pleasure to have you as our guest. Thank you for rating out hotel and amenities at the top level. It motivates all of my staff to hear that a guest thoroughly enjoyed every aspect of their stay, and we thrive at the opportunity to continue to show our true abilities. It was great to see that you took pictures of the hotel and of your food in our restaurant. We want to be able to show others that we take pride in what we do, and though we aren’t perfect yet, we continue to stay determined to make each guest’s stay better than the next. Thank you for your time, and we hope to see you again the next time you are in Minneapolis. Best wishes!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Minneapolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Minneapolis

Address: 1101 LaSalle Ave, Minneapolis, MN 55403
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
#17 Family Hotel in Minneapolis
#23 Romantic Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Minneapolis 3.5*
Number of rooms: 229
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, this all-suite hotel is walking distance to Target Field, Hennepin Theatre District, the Minneapolis Convention Center, Nicollet Mall and Target Center. Large guest suites are 25% larger than most standard hotel rooms and feature the luxurious Suite Dreams beds, in-room safes, spacious living rooms, refrigerators and microwaves. Come lounge, network and cozy up by the fire in the lobby or visit Lot 57, our onsite restaurant and bar serving breakfast and dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Minneapolis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Suites By Hilton Minneapolis Hotel Minneapolis
Doubletree Hotel Minneapolis
Doubletree Minneapolis

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Minneapolis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.