We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Party and Accommodation Review” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Minneapolis - Park Place

Save Saved
You added Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Minneapolis - Park Place to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Minneapolis - Park Place
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1500 Park Place Blvd, Minneapolis, MN 55416   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Weekend Rates from $119!
Ranked #24 of 48 Hotels in Minneapolis
Golden Valley, Minnesota
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Party and Accommodation Review”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We hosted our son's 15th birthday party by booking two adjoining party rooms, made arrangements for food, a big screen TV and speakers for music. Plus, the pool and jacuzzi were nearby for easy access. In addition we booked two adjoining hotel rooms so some of the kids could spend the night. We also tried out the bar/restaurant and found excellent service there as well.

The hotel was very busy on this Saturday in March but the front desk staff quickly checked us in and answered all of our questions. The warm chocolate chip cookies that you get upon arrival are always a welcome touch. The Banquet Manager was friendly and professional, asking questions along the way and promptly responded to our needs. Our hotel rooms were clean, comfortable and updated.

We did have a few concerns:
1) There's no WiFi at the property which is really inconvenient. We travel quite a bit and it is our expectation of any major hotel chain that it will be equipped with WiFi.
2) I felt that the quality of the food was not equal to the cost. There was plenty of food but it was average at best.
3) It took numerous calls to multiple numbers to track down the correct contacts to book this party. One person handles the food, while another books the rooms and yet another handles AV/audio equipment. Again, all were super friendly and easy to work with but it took quite a bit of coordination on my part to get everything booked. Rather, just one person should handle everything on their end.

Would we book another party? Maybe but I hope they address some of these concerns first. I would definitely spend the night there as it is conveniently located near The West End shops/restaurants and the hotels are a fantastic value.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    160
    80
    22
    18
See reviews for
94
76
39
175
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rapids, Minnesota
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

Nice rooms, clean, convenient location. I enjoyed the convenience of the local restaurants and quick access to major freeways to get me where I need to go. Super nice front desk staff with great attitudes. Many good things which made my three days there very nice. Only drawback was the elevators which ran a bit slow, so I really had to double the extra time I had already given myself to ensure I wasn't late for meetings. They have four elevators but I only ever road in two, perhaps the other two were down. Oh well. A movie theatre and good food is within walking distance (although hotel has food which I didn't tried).

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Had a one night stay in Mid March 2013 and will definitely stay again.

First thing that stood out was the greeting. It was warm, sincere and uplifting after a long day of travel. They acknowledged my Hilton status and took time to point out various amenities and features of the hotel. As the HHonors lounge was closed they offered a complimentary drink in the bar. Nice touch!

My room was well appointed, clean and well maintained. I was also able to pick up wireless internet as I was one floor below the lounge. This was a big plus.

The bed was extra comfy and this may seem like a small thing but the pillows were F-A-N-T-A-S-T-I-C-! I have a shoulder that is still rehabbing from surgery and the pillows really helped set me up for good night's sleep.

In the morning I did visit the lounge and that was the only part of my stay that fell a bit short. The lounge was just kind of OK and the food area was not well maintained with debris around the hot serving area. It was decorated in a way that was below the standard of the rest of the hotel. It's not a big thing but my expectation was that the Hhonors lounge would be a step above.

Check out was painless and the bill was 100% accurate.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Love this hotel for many reasons:
1- great location, close to the city and the business burbs
2- great restaurants within walking distance (Crave by far my favourite)
3- Great service, everyone who works here is fantastic - not often you get remembered by name at a chain hotel!

If you have a need to go to Minnie on business or pleasure, this is the place to stay (unless you have to absolutely stay downtown) It is a 10 minute drive to the ball park/downtown and a 20 minute drive to the Mall of America

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

room was clean and comfortable, nice beds! good water pressure in shower,nice size bathroom. free tethered internet. rooms were quiet, floors were sound proof. Would have been nice to have a fridge and micro but not a deal breaker. Flat screen tv could have been larger, but was fine. There were plenty of outlets too. Didn't use restaurant or pool. Plenty of restaurants and shopping very close by. Movie theatre one block away.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan W, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Minneapolis - Park Place, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
My staff and I at the Doubletree thank you for your comments. We truly feel the value we offer our guests along with great service, clean accommodations and an ideal location make the Doubletree a great choice for the Twin Cities area. Thank you again for the feedback and we look forward to having you visit us on your next trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for 3-4 days, while renovating my apartment. Maria I believe her name is checked me in. New on the job & in training, She's wonderful & helped answer all my Q's total sweetheart. I didn't appreciate the night staff. Not as friendly rather rude. & We all know Customer service is # 1!

Love the offer of a free warm cookie upon check in.
Rooms are very clean. Beds are comfortable. Workout room/pool, Housekeeping A plus! Location is perfect. Close to uptown, downtown & several restaurants within walking distance. (Rainbow foods across the street) Cons- No wifi in rooms,*only in public areas* would be nice to have mini fridge, laundry, Charge for coffee in lobby? Overall- pretty good hotel. Would recommend.
However, Could use improvement. Better management.

-M

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan W, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Minneapolis - Park Place, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thank you for your review of your recent experience at our hotel. We’re very sorry that you encountered an unacceptable level of service from our PM staff. We do our best to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding stay. We’ve addressed these issues with our staff and hope that next time you’re in the area, you’ll visit us again and experience a higher level of customer service. We are always looking at ways to improve our offerings and amenities. Thank you again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dakota Dunes, South Dakota
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

The staff here at the Doubletree are always professional and caring. The rooms are immaculate, the food offerings at their restaurant are wonderful, the pool/spa/fitness rooms are great, and overall this is a wonderful place for you to stay. I have always stayed on the private VIP floors because I like the quietness. The only thing I didn't care for is the lack of wi-fi in the rooms. I would think that a larger hotel like this one would offer free wifi in the rooms.

Room Tip: Choose the upgrade to the VIP private floors if you can! Worth the extra $$
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Minneapolis - Park Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Minneapolis - Park Place

Address: 1500 Park Place Blvd, Minneapolis, MN 55416
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Minneapolis
#20 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
#21 Romantic Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Minneapolis - Park Place 3.5*
Number of rooms: 297
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Minneapolis - Park Place is located less than four miles west of downtown Minneapolis (near St. Louis Park) to offer you the convenient access to downtown attractions with great guest amenities you won’t find at most downtown hotels like complimentary parking, indoor heated pool and complimentary in-room wireless. The Shops at West End across from the hotel also offers great dining, shopping and entertainment outlets. A variety of function space and banquet rooms are also available for your wedding, corporate meetings, or other special events. Whatever your purpose, let us make your visit to the Minneapolis area a memorable experience! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Tingo, Reservation Counter, Hilton Hotels, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Minneapolis - Park Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Hotel Minneapolis
Doubletree Minneapolis
Minneapolis Doubletree

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Minneapolis - Park Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.