We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Minneapolis - Park Place

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Minneapolis - Park Place to your Saves list
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Minneapolis - Park Place
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1500 Park Place Blvd, Minneapolis, MN 55416   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Weekend Rates from $99!
Ranked #31 of 48 Hotels in Minneapolis
BEMIDJI
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

I was here for week long work and training session. The rooms we used for the work part were modular rooms and were able to be adjusted to our needs quite well. The rooms were very nice and modern. Beds comfortable wish I would have had more time to spend in it haha. Nice area bars and restaurants.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    173
    87
    27
    19
See reviews for
101
78
39
194
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Iowa
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

My wife and I stayed here on a Friday night. It’s a very nice place with a cool atrium and neat lobby and there is nearby shopping and eating. We had no issues finding the property. Staff was very friendly and courteous.

Our stay would have been better but we ended up with a handicap accessible room and that was a mistake on our part. The front desk staff was going to put us in a two double bed room but I requested a king bed. All they had available was the handicap room so they asked if we would accept that. We did. Our bad.

The Good:
Lots of nearby shopping and dining options. Easy to get to. Some rooms have a view of the downtown skyline. Plenty of elevators. Ample parking (and free). HDTV in the room. Fabulous bed! Good shower pressure. Wolfgang Puck coffee and tea in the room. Crabtree & Evelyn bath products in the bathroom. The pool temp was perfect. Well-quipped fitness room, including medicine balls, dumbbells, HDTVs. Big fluffy plush soft bath towels in the rooms (Other hotels take note – this is the way all hotel towels should be!) and the pool towels were good too. Didn’t notice any noise outside our room (and our window was inside the atrium, overlooking the pool). Plenty of TV channels. We received free warm cookies at check-in. 100% smoke-free hotel. Ice and vending on every floor. Everything was very clean.

The Bad:
It’s not close to the Mall of America or the airport. The pool is way too small as is the fitness room. It is too bad they didn’t make these items bigger during initial construction because they definitely have the extra room inside the atrium.

The Bad associated with our room (Please note these issues are a result of us accepting the handicap room):
No counter space in the bathroom (and I mean absolutely none). The room itself was smaller than normal because the bathroom was so spacious. No view of outside. One tiny glass shelf in the bathroom, but away from the sink. Towel racks were away from the sink and shower. Only one nightstand. A lot of wasted space in the entry and the bathroom.

I realize the issues we had with this Doubletree were our fault for accepting the handicap room. Had we not paid a Priceline rate I’m thinking they may have been more willing to upgrade us instead. Sometimes that’s the way it goes. We will chalk it up as a lesson learned. The comfort of the bed and the awesome bath towels almost made up for everything. All issues aside, we would stay here again as it was quiet, clean, and comfortable…and that’s really what we look for in a hotel stay.

- Mr. Kooz

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

Nice rooms, great location, friendly helpful staff, good exercise room, nice indoor pool

Room Tip: Higher floor windows facing west
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011 via mobile

Clean room. Very comfortable bed. Have stayed before and will again. Able to use the concierge lounge with free drinks and breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

My girlfriends and I wanted a night out in Minneapolis and wanted to stay nearby. We found the Double Tree on Orbitz, and it was by far the cheapest room, so we took it. For the price (somewhere around $80 for the night) and so close to downtown, we were expecting something pretty run-down and dirty. We walked in to a beautiful lobby and found a very nice, clean room. The front desk even set us up with a free shuttle downtown! We were so pleasantly surprised. So much so that we just booked another room for this weekend; and at about the same price!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2011

I stay at this hotel about 12 times a year and it has the best beds anywhere. Several times I have awakened thinking I was in my own bed at home. Excellent breakfast buffet. Staff is always there to help out if needed.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2011

My wife and I plus 3 kids aged 9, 14 & 16 stayed here in two connecting rooms during an 18 hour overnight layover through MSP airport. The rooms were comfy, if anonymous, ad the free breakfast was nice. The hotel was further from the airport than I thought (my fault), but is nearby a few nice restaurants/bars and a movie theater across the street in the Park Place development or whatever it is. The hotel did NOT have a free shuttle to the airport (costing me an extra $100 round trip for taxis) so I wished I had stayed a) somewhere downtown to get a feel for Minneapolis or b) somewhere much closer to the airport. This is probably a decent place to stay on business in the area, but wouldn't really recommend it for any other reason.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MinneapolisParkplace, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Minneapolis - Park Place, responded to this review, July 18, 2011
First let me give you my thanks for taking the time to fill out this survey. We do appreciate the feedback, it is one of the ways we use to evaluate ourselves and continue to improve. I can tell form you comments that while you did enjoy our hotel and the surrounding West End with all its restaurants and shops you were a little put off by the distance and cost of transportation. May I suggest on your next visit that you take the train in from the airport to Downtown Minneapolis. From there it is only a 15 dollar cab ride tour property or during the week Monday through Friday we can schedule pick-up and drop off at no charge for you and the family! I hope thi shelps and you have a great day.

Sandy Buonanni
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Minneapolis - Park Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Minneapolis - Park Place

Address: 1500 Park Place Blvd, Minneapolis, MN 55416
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Minneapolis
#29 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Minneapolis - Park Place 3.5*
Number of rooms: 297
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Minneapolis - Park Place is located less than four miles west of downtown Minneapolis (near St. Louis Park) to offer you the convenient access to downtown attractions with great guest amenities you won’t find at most downtown hotels like complimentary parking, indoor heated pool and complimentary in-room wireless. The Shops at West End across from the hotel also offers great dining, shopping and entertainment outlets. A variety of function space and banquet rooms are also available for your wedding, corporate meetings, or other special events. Whatever your purpose, let us make your visit to the Minneapolis area a memorable experience! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travelocity, Agoda, Hilton Hotels, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Minneapolis - Park Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Hotel Minneapolis
Doubletree Minneapolis
Minneapolis Doubletree

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Minneapolis - Park Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.