We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay at Residence Inn - Downtown MSP” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Minneapolis Downtown

Save Saved
You added Residence Inn Minneapolis Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Residence Inn Minneapolis Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   45 S 8th St, Minneapolis, MN 55402   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free Breakfast
Ranked #8 of 48 Hotels in Minneapolis
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good stay at Residence Inn - Downtown MSP”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

My wife & I stayed at this hotel. My wife especially enjoyed its location, adjacent to the Nicolet Mall in downtown - great access to restaurants & shopping. Hotel has large rooms with bed, bath, kitchen and sitting area. Very good complimentary breakfast everyday plus complimentary happy hour with food Monday through Thursday evenings. A good place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RITeam, Front Office Supervisor at Residence Inn Minneapolis Downtown, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Thank you for your response. I am very happy to hear you and your wife enjoyed your stay. We are lucky to be in a great location near many venues downtown, and I am happy to hear that you were able to enjoy our complimentary breakfast and evening social hours. We all hope you return again soon!

Thank you and best wishes,
Kelly Randall
Front Office Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    62
    10
    0
    3
See reviews for
38
36
11
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, AB
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

We stayed for two nights in July with 4 adults and 2 kids and found the two bedroom suite to be very comfortable for the six of us. Rooms and living area are of decent size. Even the hotel is a bit dated, everything is kept clean.

The location is great. We left our car at the hotel and walked all the way to the Mills museum by the river. There is also a farmers market like event going on in downtown starting around 8-9am with lots of fresh produce of fruits, veggies, bakery and even meat. The working locals all do their grocery shopping at lunch time and we grabbed some very nice cherries for only $2.50 per basket. Target and Nicolett Mall is just around the corner too. Self parking is easy and reasonable at $13 per day.

Breakfast quality is decent and we also took advantage of the free dinner on our arrival night. The hotel is very secure. You need room key to get in 24/7 and again to get up the elevator. They also have 4-5 sets of coin operated washer/dryer, which is a luxury as compared to other places we stayed at for our two week road trip. Most hotels only have 1-2 sets.

I am happy with our stay and would definitely consider staying there again the next time we are in Minneapolis.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RITeam, Front Office Supervisor at Residence Inn Minneapolis Downtown, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thank you for your review! I am happy to hear that you and your family had a great time in Minneapolis. It’s great that you were comfortable, and took advantage of our complimentary meals and our washers/dryers.
That is fantastic you were able to check out the Nicollet Mall Farmer’s Market next door, and to do some sight seeing. Sounds like a lot of fun!
We look forward to your next stay with us!

Thank you again and best wishes,
Kelly Randall
Front Office Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Caution...noise
Room was just fine, all you expect from one of the suite hotels. However this one has thin hallway doors and seems to be party central especially if the Twins are playing. The desk staff was very helpful and prompt at shutting down the hall parties, they have a one warning system so I believe it is an on going problem. However you sure cant beat this location. We loved being so near to all the restaurants and shops on Nicolette Mall. But if noisy neighbors is not your thing, beware. The concierge, Darrin is a great resource for dining recommendations, and a nice guy all around.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RITeam, Front Office Supervisor at Residence Inn Minneapolis Downtown, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. I am happy you enjoyed our location, we are lucky to be within walking distance to so many great venues. I will be sure to thank Darrin for giving you great service as well; he is a great part of our team.
I am sorry that your stay was interrupted by noise from the other guests. Unfortunately the specific weekend you stayed with us was somewhat of an anomaly - there was the 2nd largest Pridefest in the nation happening a few blocks away, a Twins game, and a Tom Petty concert. Please know we strive to keep our guests feeling as comfortable as possible, and if there is anything else we can do upon your next stay please let us know. We would love to have you back!

Thank you and best wishes,
Kelly Randall
Front Office Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel 10+ times in the last 5 years. Every single time the stay has been consistently above average. The word that comes to one's mind when reviewing this hotel is - convenience. It allows for flexibility across various dimensions, location being the primary one. The often over looked factor about a hotel is its security, I have always felt safe standing close to the doors of the Residence Inn, when a turn away you can encounter rowdy elements on the street.

Having stayed there multiple times, I can also vouch that the breakfast has remained a constant feature, that can be both a good and a bad thing. Menu choices are the same, month on month, year on year. Taste has also been good, consistently. The evening social is a little surprise package, can feed a hungry tummy at 5 pm.

There once was a disturbance in the next room at 2 am (party goers) and it was promptly attended to by the security guard. The rooms decor is a bit dull and unimaginative but very functional. I usually stock up the refrigerator for my week's (or two) stay from near by stores such as Target or Walgreens.

Food options are many during weekdays. On the weekend, the downtown crowd thins down, leaving one with few dining options.

The staff is always courteous, prompt and accessible. Great price point for business travelers, the rewards points are good too.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RITeam, Front Office Supervisor at Residence Inn Minneapolis Downtown, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Thank you for your response to your stay with us, I appreciate your feedback! We hope that you feel comfortable and safe while you are with us, and I am happy to hear that we were able to accomplish that.
I am glad that you were able to utilize our central location within many restaurants, stores, and other venues. We are lucky to be connected and near so many great local businesses.
Thank you for complimenting our Security guards and our response time. We want our guests to know that we are there to help.
If you ever need assistance to find open restaurants on the weekend, or would like us to grocery shop for you – please let us know. We would be more than happy to help you.
Thank you for being such a loyal guest, we definitely appreciate your business and that you choose us. We would enjoy having you back anytime!

Thank you and best wishes,
Kelly Randall
Front Office Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivrea, Italy
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

I had the possibility to stay here for work. the room is so big and well furnished. It's good to have kitchen and microwave present in the room, i spent a couple of lunch inside my room. The breakfast is simply perfect with a huge selection of both salty and sweet options. Nice to have the coffe and tea always available in front of the reception. defenetely it worth staying here.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RITeam, Front Office Supervisor at Residence Inn Minneapolis Downtown, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Thank you very much. I am happy that you enjoyed your stay with us during your business trip. I’m glad you enjoyed our breakfast selection, and that you were comfortable in your room. We do hope that you return again!

Thank you and best wishes,
Kelly Randall
Front Office Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bismarck, North Dakota
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Our 20-yr old son accompanied us, so we wanted a larger room and a separate bedroom. This was a good choice for us in downtown Minneapolis. Across the street from Macy's, good parking lot attached with reasonable rates, and an overall good experience at the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RITeam, Front Office Supervisor at Residence Inn Minneapolis Downtown, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
I appreciate your feedback. I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your trip to Downtown Minneapolis. We are truly lucky to be in such an ideal location, and I am happy to hear you took advantage of that. It sounds like you were comfortable in your room, which is great! It is definitely what we strive for at our hotel. Please come back again!

Thank you and best wishes,
Kelly Randall
Front Office Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Our stay at the Residence Inn was a great one. The staff went out of the way to make us comfortable, quickly bringing us extra linen that we needed, recommending late night deliveries for food after arriving late due to a flight delay. Hotel was quiet, breakfast was very good, and the location was perfect to Nicolet Mall and every place we wanted to go in Minneapolis.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RITeam, Front Office Supervisor at Residence Inn Minneapolis Downtown, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thank you for your feedback on your stay with us. I am proud to know that our staff made your experience a great one and that you were comfortable in your room. It is definitely what we aim to achieve! I am happy to hear that you enjoyed our location as well, we are lucky to be in the center of so many wonderful venues. I hope that you and your family return on your next trip to Minneapolis!

Thank you again and best wishes,
Kelly Randall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Minneapolis Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Minneapolis Downtown

Address: 45 S 8th St, Minneapolis, MN 55402
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Minneapolis
#13 Romantic Hotel in Minneapolis
#30 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Minneapolis Downtown 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Residence Inn Minneapolis Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Minneapolis Downtown Hotel Minneapolis
Minneapolis Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Minneapolis Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;