We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big rooms, good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Minneapolis Downtown

Save Saved
You added Residence Inn Minneapolis Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Residence Inn Minneapolis Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   45 S 8th St, Minneapolis, MN 55402   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free Breakfast
Ranked #11 of 49 hotels in Minneapolis
Kansas City, Missouri
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Big rooms, good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

This is one of the best places to stay in downtown Minneapolis. Extra-spacious rooms, a block off the Nicollet Mall, in midst of shopping, night spots, office towers. Breakfast area nice, but two days straight we had no fresh fruit, Said they ran out. Front desk staff friendly. Some advice: don't pay hotel for daily parking ($19), pay the public daily rate ($13) - unless you plan to go in and out a lot. Park free on street after 10 p.m., but must leave by 8 a.m. There is a great YMCA with huge lap pool a 5-minute walk from hotel. Hotel may have free passes. Weekend room rates much lower than weekdays - usually.

Room Tip: Not many good views, mostly looking at other buildings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    60
    59
    9
    0
    3
See reviews for
32
33
11
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

We stayed at this hotel this over the weekend. We came from Chicago for a couples weekend and to see the Bears play. This hotel is close to everything, the rooms are great, and the staff is outstanding! Free breakfast is very good- not the usual "plastic eggs". Everything tasted fresh. The hotel is close to a lot of nice restaurants, and walking distance to the light rail and Nicollet Mall. We were stranded in Minneapolis an extra night because of a snowstorm. The staff let us check back in easily, gave us a beautiful room, and helped us make travel decisions. On site parking is very convenient, and very cheap! All around...a great place to stay when visiting downtown Minneapolis!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

We stayed here because of its proximity to the Capital Grille and the Hollidazzale parade on Nicollet Mall (11/24). We have a 12 y/o daughter and a 9 y/o son and our room is perfect for the 4 of us. The reason I booked this room was because we wanted to be able to walk to the restaurant and then walk to the parade after dinner, again it was perfect for what we wanted, everything was within walking distance.

Even though we had a specific agenda for the evening we will stay here again for any reason.

The front desk staff is very courteous, very helpful and check in was fast.

The room was very clean but the pull out sofa bed mattress could be replaced, it was a litte worn.

Overall were very please and will definitely stay again.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 1218 and was very please
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, MN
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Rooms are on 10-14th floors, so it is quiet. The L shaped room has King size bed, frig, microwave, sink, dishwasher, couch desk, real wine GLASSES and dishes. Got in late and found they had free hor d' oevuers chicken patties, salad, fried chicken legs, plus a first class breakfast included. Very friendly staff, and they helped me cancel a second night when we had to change plans. Great location. Highest recommendation

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Stayed at this hotel only one night in October, 2012. A little difficult to check in, get your luggage and park your vehicle, but otherwise a good location.

The best part was the service we received from the girls at the front desk. I believe one of the girls' names was Leah. We had just checked in and I went downstairs and asked if the building across the street was a Macy's. Leah (?) said yes, and immediately offered a coupon, which I took advantage of. Went back to my room and gave the coupon to my husband who left immediately for more shopping. At that point, I flushed the toilet which proceeded to overflow all over the floor. Leah came up with a plunger and attempted to fix the toilet, but within 10 mins, had us transferred to a one bedroom suite. Very impressed by the service received!!

Breakfast was not bad, but not out of the ordinary. One bedroom suite was nice, but we actually preferred the standard suite layout without the separate bedroom.

Room was very clean and all amenities provided for cooking and relaxing if you just want to hang out in the room for a night.

Would definitely recommend this hotel and stay there again if we go back to MN.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colfax, Wisconsin
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Excellent Location, close to everything downtown. Nice room, full kitchen even though we did not use it. Everything was great. Two room suite. Only downside the view was of a parking lot and missing some common selections on cable. The parking lot was not connected directly to the hotel and was a little hard to locate.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Had a very good two day stay here last weekend. The hotel is clean, well run and very centrally located. The rooms are large and very well appointed. As suites they also have a kitchen and a dining area. There is free wifi throughout as well which is useful. The breakfast is standard Residence Inn. It will win no prizes but is plentiful and filling. Other nice touches are free tea and coffee all day at reception and plentiful fruit around. The staff are very friendly and know the downtown area very well. The hotel is linked to the Skyway system and you can access a huge amount of shops, restaurants etc without venturing out into what can be a cold environment. Overall a good place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Residence Inn Minneapolis Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Minneapolis Downtown

Address: 45 S 8th St, Minneapolis, MN 55402
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Minneapolis
#14 Romantic Hotel in Minneapolis
#22 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Minneapolis Downtown 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Marriott, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Residence Inn Minneapolis Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Minneapolis Downtown Hotel Minneapolis
Minneapolis Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Minneapolis Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.