We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Service!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Minneapolis Downtown

Save Saved
You added Residence Inn Minneapolis Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Residence Inn Minneapolis Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   45 S 8th St, Minneapolis, MN 55402   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free Breakfast
Ranked #7 of 49 hotels in Minneapolis
Winnipeg
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Excellent Service!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Stayed at this hotel only one night in October, 2012. A little difficult to check in, get your luggage and park your vehicle, but otherwise a good location.

The best part was the service we received from the girls at the front desk. I believe one of the girls' names was Leah. We had just checked in and I went downstairs and asked if the building across the street was a Macy's. Leah (?) said yes, and immediately offered a coupon, which I took advantage of. Went back to my room and gave the coupon to my husband who left immediately for more shopping. At that point, I flushed the toilet which proceeded to overflow all over the floor. Leah came up with a plunger and attempted to fix the toilet, but within 10 mins, had us transferred to a one bedroom suite. Very impressed by the service received!!

Breakfast was not bad, but not out of the ordinary. One bedroom suite was nice, but we actually preferred the standard suite layout without the separate bedroom.

Room was very clean and all amenities provided for cooking and relaxing if you just want to hang out in the room for a night.

Would definitely recommend this hotel and stay there again if we go back to MN.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    65
    60
    9
    0
    3
See reviews for
34
36
11
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Colfax, Wisconsin
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Excellent Location, close to everything downtown. Nice room, full kitchen even though we did not use it. Everything was great. Two room suite. Only downside the view was of a parking lot and missing some common selections on cable. The parking lot was not connected directly to the hotel and was a little hard to locate.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Had a very good two day stay here last weekend. The hotel is clean, well run and very centrally located. The rooms are large and very well appointed. As suites they also have a kitchen and a dining area. There is free wifi throughout as well which is useful. The breakfast is standard Residence Inn. It will win no prizes but is plentiful and filling. Other nice touches are free tea and coffee all day at reception and plentiful fruit around. The staff are very friendly and know the downtown area very well. The hotel is linked to the Skyway system and you can access a huge amount of shops, restaurants etc without venturing out into what can be a cold environment. Overall a good place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chetek, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Love this location. Easy parking in the ramp off LaSalle Street. Very clean, well maintained hotel. Aimee is a great front desk manager and always greets us like old friends. Easy to get a cab if going out for dinner or valet parking is available. Easy to get to restaurants in the warehouse district or the Guthrie or Orchestra Hall.

Room Tip: 1008 or 1010 are our favorite rooms with easy access to the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

I booked this hotel as I was participating in the Twin Cities Marathon. The hotel was close to everything I needed and I'm very happy with my selection. Having a kitchen to store my food was important to me and the room was a nice size.

The hotel is tied into the interior walkways of Minneapolis which came in handy as they were having 20 degree colder than normal weather. Not nice for this Florida boy. But I can say that the heat in the hotel worked just fine.

I took the light rail from the airport which was very convenient. The public transportation was on time and very easy to use.

I would return if I visit the area again.

The only negative was that it was a downtown hotel meaning a long elevator ride and wait at times and the hallways were showing their age.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

We had some questions before we arrived, and Heather (at the front desk) did an amazing job of answering our questions and helping us. The room was big and clean, and was exactly what we needed. Would definitely go back again.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

From the beginning of my trip to Minneapolis I felt people truly wanted to help you relax. The room was large, clean and up-to-date. Each morning you get a true complementary breakfast. The cook was friendly and greeted you with a smile and a sing song "Good Morning". I had fresh eggs, oatmeal and plenty of hot coffee. I put out my "do not disturb sign" because the room had plenty of towels for one person. The only downside is that you will need to take a cab or learn to use the buses to get to shopping...but if you like to walk or try using the rent a bike it is your dream city!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Residence Inn Minneapolis Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Minneapolis Downtown

Address: 45 S 8th St, Minneapolis, MN 55402
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Minneapolis
#10 Romantic Hotel in Minneapolis
#24 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Minneapolis Downtown 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Marriott, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Residence Inn Minneapolis Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Minneapolis Downtown Hotel Minneapolis
Minneapolis Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Minneapolis Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.