We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A warm and gracious Hotel, at Minnetonka, Minneapolis.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Minneapolis West Hotel

Save Saved
You added Sheraton Minneapolis West Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sheraton Minneapolis West Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   12201 Ridgedale Drive, Minneapolis, MN 55305   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #33 of 48 hotels in Minneapolis
Hyderabad, India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A warm and gracious Hotel, at Minnetonka, Minneapolis.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

The Sheraton Minneapolis West Hotel, is located in the charming city of Minnetonka and is warm, from the reception to the service, the staff is gracious, warm and helpful. Thanks to the team at the Hotel, really wonderful people !
The hotel is close to the downtown Minneapolis and close to the Fortune 500 office located in the area. Also, close to the Hotel is the Ridgedale Mall and other shopping centers !

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    62
    57
    33
    6
    5
See reviews for
47
31
16
60
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2011

I have been attending an annual conference at this hotel for the past 6 years. The service is outstanding, the rooms are spacious and very comfortable, and the food is delicious. The staff just can't seem to do enough for you to make your stay more pleasant. The bedding has all been upgraded and the beds are very comfortable. I would highly suugeest this hotel to anyone traveling to Minneapolis.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2011

Nice location, fair size room with comfortable beds. Needs updating found mould on bathroom ceiling but fortunately the ear splitting noise of the air extractor drove me out of there pretty quickly. A large fridge was carted in for a $10 charge ( Why not put a small one in every room and add a couple of bucks to the room charge.)
Settled down with my lap top to find they charge $9.95 a day for the internet, ( It's free at McDonald's) Still I guess they hope that by the time the customers get home they won't bother with Tripadvisor, THEY LUCKED OUT WITH ME.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011 via mobile

They go extra step to make sure you are satisfy

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011

I arrived late in the evening after travel and work all day to find that I had been placed into the "Parlor Suite". Sounds good? NO! It does not even have a bed. Hotels should not be allowed to sell rooms that do not have a bed without first telling you. The "Parlor Suite" was the connector between two other rooms (I could clearly hear everything going on in those rooms including the unbuckling of a belt) and contained a pull-out sofa and they brought in a roll-away bed. Either of those could have been OK if they were in decent condition but the roll-away should be discarded - it had springs sticking through and the sofa bed was impossible with a bar across the back.

Only after complaining to corporate headquarters the next morning was I given a lovely executive suite the second night of my stay. Including a fruit, cheese and wine platter from the manager with a nice note. How much nicer would the first night have been if the management been proactive and apologized ahead of time? A lot! To me it felt like if I had not complained, nothing would have been done. Which is odd because even the front desk personnel recognized the room was below acceptable.

If management is reading this review - 1) Never put anyone in that room again - find them a room at another hotel and shuttle them over. 2) Always be proactive in your apology, don't hide behind your front desk staff and make them feel like crap for only being able to offer you drink and breakfast coupons. 3) Lay down on every single rollaway bed in your hotel and throw away the ones you would not sleep on yourself. And if you say you would sleep on the one you gave me, you should not be managing a hotel.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2011

We travelled to Minneapolis from Canada in mid July to attend the Schwann Soccer Tournament in which our grandson's team was participating.
It was steaming hot and raining the first day of the tournment, and games were cancelled because of lightening. We arrived at the Sheraton well ahead of our check in time, and to our great relief we were allowed to check in early, for which we were extremely grateful.
The hotel lobby is outstanding...spacious and nicely furnished. The trip up to our room
in the glass walled elevator provided an excellent view.
Our room was a nice size for two people with a spacious bathroom...spotless and nicely appointed. King size bed was firm and comfortable.The large HD TV was very welcome for watching the British Open. No disturbances during the night despite a number of weddings being held in the hotel. The view of the air conditioner was not excellent but
not a big deal.
We had quite an enjoyable meal late in the evening, and the staff was amazing....not a peep about the fact that we arrived just 1/2 hour before the restaurant closed. I also had the buffet breakfast one morning...wonderful fresh fruit, usual do-it-yourself woeful waffle.
Couldn't really eat enough to warrant the $15.95 price tag, but beat going out in the heat
to find somewhere else to eat.
The location was very convenient...just 25-30 minutes to downtown, perhaps slightly less to the soccer tournament in north Minneapolis. There is a shuttle to the Mall, which is within easy walking distance. Mall is very new and provided more than enough shopping experience for anyone but the most hardened shopaholic.
This is a lovely area of town, and there are some outstanding places to go for a walk if you are so inclined.
As for the soccer tournament, the people responsible for hosting and organizing the event are simply amazing. It is a fabulour experience for players and spectators alike,
and I cannot praise the event highly enough to do it justice.
Winter 001

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2011

We love reviews when the manager responds to criticism here, as was the case in researching the Sheraton Minneapolis West. Great attention to customer complaints makes for a better hotel.
The room was lovely. Very quiet, with extremely comfy beds and good temperature control.
Except for a few glitches, we'd have given this Sheraton a five-star review.
Those glitches: not a very friendly desk clerk at check-in. And when we left, the desk clerk then, who really wasn't doing anything, didn't bother to even look at us let alone thank us.
No big deal. No deal breaker for us.
A breakfast buffet came with our room---or otherwise we wouldn't have done it. Our experience is that they are usually overpriced and food not so great, picked over, and not so fresh. Definitely the case here. Moreover, there was a hash brown casserole in which
the potatoes were not even close to being cooked through. Kind of gross looking and tasting too.
Again, no big deal. We knew better. And will the next time. There was also country music playing but I won’t go there.
And free internet access would have been nice. A $10 fee? Really? Most lesser places have complimentary internet access.

All those minor complaints aside, we enjoyed our stay. And we'll be back. Among the best rooms in the business! A bad breakfast and surly desk clerks won't run us off.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Minneapolis West Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Minneapolis West Hotel

Address: 12201 Ridgedale Drive, Minneapolis, MN 55305
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Minneapolis West Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located just outside of downtown Minneapolis, the Sheraton Minneapolis West Hotel is a source of familiar comfort, and has 5700 square feet of meeting and event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Sheraton Minneapolis West Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Minnetonka
Minnetonka Sheraton
Sheraton Minneapolis

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Minneapolis West Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.