We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home made everything” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Carol's Restaurant

Carol's Restaurant
11888 Aberdeen St NE, Minneapolis, MN 55449
(763) 757-9700
Improve this listing
Ranked #142 of 1,578 restaurants in Minneapolis
Price range: $21 - $30
Restaurant details
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Home made everything”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

My sister and I eat at Carol's about once every month or so. We love the food. You especially want to take advantage of the chicken and turkey dishes year round. Where else do you find whole birds roasted and then carved for sandwiches, entrees, etc.? The Nova Scotia rolls are so good. I love all the home made salad dressings. My favorite is the walleye, but I love the turkey dinner. Delicious desserts, too.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

79% Recommend
    10
    13
    4
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Illinois
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“no complaints”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

My wife and I were in town visiting relatives and were looking for a place with homemade meals that wasn't a chain. This was the perfect place. My relatives come here often and I can see why. Everything from the food to the service was excellent. We had pot roast, turkey,chicken and walleye and it was great. No deli meat served here. Wish we had saved room for dessert.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Land O Lakes, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“This is not a fancy restaurant, but the food is excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Their food is great. I have had their turkey dinner and the Thai cashew chicken. Both were very good. Their desserts are terrific!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navarre, Florida
Top Contributor
188 reviews 188 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“Homestyle cooking; fresh and delicious”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Carol's makes everything from scratch including all their salad dressings. Menu items include meatloaf, pot roast, stroganoff, turkey, beer battered fish and sandwiches. Everything is fresh and delicious although sometimes presentations could be improved. I had the hot turkey dinner which included two slices of turkey, mashed potatoes and gravy, corn and a very minute dollop of sweet potato the size of a quarter. It was just like Thanksgiving but portions could have been a bit more generous. As another example, the house salad contained one cherry tomato and one slice of cucumber. Still the prices were good and the walnut rye dinner rolls, served warm, are fabulous.
Service was a bit erratic on a Friday night; very slow and not attentive. For example, we didn't have enough cutlery on the table for our party which was not remedied as quickly as it should have been. Desserts looked scrumptious (although we didn't try any) especially the carrot cake. Still, if you like home cooking this is the place. There is also an adorable gift shop attached to the restaurant which has a nice selection of gifts and knick knacks and sells that house made salad dressing.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Homemade food-including bread and mashed potatoes!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Hard to find a truly home-cooked meal nowadays but Carol's has done this consistently for many years now. The restaurant has a relaxed ambiance with comfy seats and pretty decorating . Saturday nights there is a singer to accompany your dinner out. The food is what brings us back. The oatmeal for breakfast, the hot turkey sandwich, and fish dinners are excellent. The food is fresh and tasty without too many calories. There is also a cute little store attached if you need to pick up a small gift or just browse. Very enjoyable place for couples, families and group gatherings. We have a birthday group that meets there once a year also!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carol's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Carol's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carol's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.