We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent downtown experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Marquette

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Marquette to your Saves list
The Marquette
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   710 Marquette Ave, Minneapolis, MN 55402-2368 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Parking!
Ranked #6 of 47 Hotels in Minneapolis
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Duluth, MN
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Excellent downtown experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2009

We took a "regional vacation" to Minneapolis and stayed at the Marquette for two nights. The room was very well appointed. The bed was large and very comfortable and the room was quiet enought to get a sound nights sleep. The bathroom was upscale and clean. There was a large (38" I think) flat screen tv with an ample selection of in-room movies. The entire wall of the room was filled with large windows that looked out upon downtown Minneapolis. The view was georgous, espically at night. The best part of the hotel is its location in the heart of downtown. All we had to do was take an elevator down to reach the skyway system that connects many of the downtown buildings. We found the Marquette's rates to be fair and the staff to be friendly. I definitely recommend this hotel to singles and couples. I would not recommend it to families with young children however, since there is no pool and the area is not conducive to allowing kids to roam on their own. There is valet and self parking available (for about $20/day).

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

977 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    581
    265
    75
    35
    21
See reviews for
141
334
73
300
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
lakeville,mn
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2009

Beautiful hotel with all the amenities. Location/room/service all above average. My only complaint....we upgraded to the executive floor for what I considered to be a very reasonable price for the continental breakfast/cocktails etc. I did not realize you are charged for cocktails...what is the point of paying for an upgrade if you are charged the same price as in the lounge? Breakfast was very average...breakfast rolls/pastry were pre packaged quality. Otherwise a very nice hotel.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2009

Staff was very friendly, we had a spacious and very confortable room with upscale bed quality that makes you feel being in a cocoon. The hotel is in a perfect location for shopping and night life.
Great value for all types of travelers. Can't wait to be back!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Top Contributor
200 reviews 200 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2009

I recently booked a stay here through the Hilton website. Got a prepaid rate, including taxes of $244 for an executive room. The room was large, had a flat screen HD TV. Staff was helpful and friendly. For the money ,it was an excellent value and a pleasant experience.

  • Liked — Value for price
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2009

Our entire family stayed at the Marquette Hotel one night as a special treat. In all there were 9 of us, 4 grandkids ranging in age from 5-14 years old, 3 adult children & 2 grandparents. We had a fantastic stay, we walked out the door to watch the Holidazzle Parade, on the Nicollett Mall which was great fun. Then back to the hotel for room service for the kids and a fantastic meal at Basil's in the Marquette for the adults.

The staff was incredibly accommodating and helpful, the rooms were clean and location couldn’t be better. The Marquette is connected to the Skyway in Minneapolis, making it easy to get around downtown without out a coat on even the coldest of winter days and there is free parking at the hotel.

We’ve stayed in nice hotels all over the world and this is one of our favorites! I highly recommend the Marquette.

  • Liked — Great location, friendly staff.
  • Disliked — That we didn't stay longer!
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
166 hotel reviews
Reviews in 111 cities Reviews in 111 cities
555 helpful votes 555 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2009

I can see why the reviews are positive. This is an excellent value hotel, given its convenient location, the size of the rooms, and the amenities. The free internet access at the business center was especially welcome. I printed my boarding pass for free.

I booked an executive class room which entitled me to the executive lounge, but this was closed during the week between Christmas and New Year. To make up, the hotel gave me a breakfast voucher for Basil, the hotel restaurant.

The hotel felt empty and a bit dead, but that was because of the time of year. I can only assume that it feels much livelier at other times. Overall, this is a good bet if you want to stay downtown. But if you want more of a sophisticated ambiance, I'd stay at the Graves 601, located a few blocks away.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherwood Nd
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2008

We stayed at the Marquette December 26 - 28. We really enjoyed our stay. The rooms were very spacious and the HD TV was great. We went down for a Vikings game. The light rail is only 2 blocks away. They also have a Melting Pot a couple of blocks away. Loved it! The only thing I would complain about is in the fitness center, the ellipticals weren't working. That was disappointing. Other than that, the hotel was great!

  • Liked — The location and price
  • Disliked — the fitness center
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Marquette? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marquette

Address: 710 Marquette Ave, Minneapolis, MN 55402-2368
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Minneapolis
#5 Romantic Hotel in Minneapolis
#6 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
#13 Family Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Marquette 4*
Number of rooms: 281
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxurious, contemporary-style hotel offers generous-sized rooms and some with computers and whirlpools. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your The Marquette reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Marquette Hotel Minneapolis
Marquette Hotel Minneapolis
Hilton Hotels Minneapolis

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Marquette, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.