We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Marquette

Save Saved
You added The Marquette to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Marquette
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   710 Marquette Ave, Minneapolis, MN 55402-2368 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary Breakfast!
Ranked #3 of 49 hotels in Minneapolis
A TripAdvisor Member
“Loved this Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

We loved this hotel. Definitely try it. The lobby was average (the lounge was closed for remodelling), but everything else was great. The staff couldn't have been nicer or more helpful. The room was spacious, clean and inviting. The other shops in the IDS complex offered a lot. We loved it!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

768 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    474
    197
    52
    28
    17
See reviews for
108
259
69
228
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boca Raton Fl
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

The hotel is located in the ids building right in the middle of downtown minneapolis and most important for the most part you never have to go out side because of the sky way system.
I arrived late at night and the front desk was very friendly and suggested a place I could walk to for a late meal.
The room was very large and modern, I was thankful for the strong hot shower to take some of the winter cold away.
The hotel is historic in a way as the restaurant was featured on the marry Tyler Moore show.
If you are traveling for business this is a top location.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

We stayed at the Marquette because of the proximity to the Metrodome. We arrived right at 3 and the bell hop was very helpful with explaining the parking and checking in process. The underground parking is a pretty decent deal - $17 from Saturday at 3 until Sunday at 6pm. This worked out perfect for us to be able to walk to and from the game without having to move our vehicle anywhere. The room itself was nice - great view from out 14th floor, comfortable beds, nice size TV, desk, and corner chair. However, there were a few "issues" about it that I would like to point out. The sink in the bathroom was clogged - it would eventually go down, but there is definitely some sort of problem with it. The "mini bar" that we were made aware of was an empty refrigerator that was not cold. I am not sure if it wasn't plugged in or if it just wasn't working, but I don't think you can consider that a mini bar. Also, we noticed that one of our bed's comforters had some sort of stain on the edge of it. It looked like it may have been an old set in blood stain. Possibly something that could have been overlooked after being cleaned, but needless to say, I slept with just the sheets on. I do agree with the constant sirens going off- but that will come with any downtown area of a city, so that doesn't bother me.

The part that really bothered me was the front desk. We got a great deal through Priceline on this room back in May. Our agreed price was $104, but the bill that was slid under our door was $194. We went down to the front desk to get it worked out, but the front desk person had no idea how to help. He changed the story a few times saying "We can't see how much your room is, only Priceline can," or "You'll pay whatever you agreed to, we just gave you that receipt to show the parking fee," and finally, "Have you checked your credit card receipt? No prices are changed until the minute that they charge you." ... So of course, I was confused and getting a little irritated. We asked for the manager. Instead the front desk man took our confirmation page from Priceline to the manager. Fortunately, when the man came back, he gave us a new bill for the $104 amount. But no face-to-face contact with the manager them-self and what is worse - not ONE apology or "sorry for the inconvenience" from the front desk man.

I would consider coming back to this hotel if there weren't any other available in the Downtown area. The location really is great.

Room Tip: Higher floors for the sirens and the view! :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

I visited downtown Minneapolis for a work event in the beginning of November and stayed at the Marquette Hotel for three days. My stay there was great, the staff greeted me with smiles, were always cheery and helpful. Even the cleaning ladies would greet me in the hallways and ask if there was anything I needed. The room was spacious and clean, the bathroom was also spacious and fresh looking.
One evening a couple of coworkers joined me for a drink at the lobby bar and we had a great time meeting other visitors. Some of my coworkers stayed at the Hilton a couple of days before I arrived, and mentioned how the Marquette was much better looking than the Hilton. All in all I would definitely stay at the Marquette again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bismarck
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

This hotel is pretty much the perfect place to stay when we come to town for a Vikings game. The Dome is within walking distance. We got a winter getaway package with a great rate and free parking, which is in an easy underground ramp with a card you can swipe as many times as you want coming and going. We also got free breakfast in their restaurant. It was nothing special but certainly a nice perk, along with free wi-fi and access to the top floor lounge w/free food and drinks in the evening. Friendly staff, great room, nice location. And they even accept pets! We will be back.

Room Tip: Book a room on an upper floor, which comes with access to the exec lounge (free food, drinks and wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richfield, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

We just stayed at The Marquette for a Timberwolves game on a Friday night. We arrived around 6 and were immediately checked in. The front desk was great, welcomed me as a Honors member and gave me inside directions to the Target Center, a great piece on information as it was 5 degrees outside. We were on the 17th floor in a 1 bedroom suite, the décor was updated and modern, the views were truly beautiful overlooking the Foshay Tower. Our room had a large living room and a separate bedroom. Ideal for anyone looking for some additional room to work or entertain in. We had access to the 19th floor executive lounge for both an evening reception as well as a light breakfast. This was a nice touch, however the "breakfast in bed" menu looked delicious and we will definitely ordering off of it next time.

The only other big piece of information that I can share about the hotel is that the service is prompt, courteous and professional, however it was the immaculate attention to cleanliness that impressed both my wife and I. We travel a lot and we both noticed how clean both the room and the entire hotel is. The Marquette is a great example of what a downtown hotel should be. We will definitely be back and want to thank the team there for such a great stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

I stayed at the Marquette on a business trip this week and had a wonderful stay. I have status with Hilton so I was on the executive floor...not sure if I had an average room but it was spacious, clean and I wanted to bring the shower home with me!!

Pluses...location - surrounded by shopping in the Nicollet mall area...2 blocks to the train...plenty of restaurants and attached to the skyway. Room service was excellent and quick.

Minuses...one thing I always comment on is hot water...the shower was awesome and in the evening more hot water than you could ask for...in the am around 6.30? Not so much...tepid one morning and warmish another...grrrr. The only other minus was the slow elevators...being on the top floor it was kind of irksome...but it would not stop me from staying there again.

Beautiful hotel and great service!!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Marquette? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marquette

Address: 710 Marquette Ave, Minneapolis, MN 55402-2368
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Minneapolis
#2 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
#3 Romantic Hotel in Minneapolis
#7 Family Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Marquette 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxurious, contemporary-style hotel offers generous-sized rooms and some with computers and whirlpools. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Travelocity, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hilton Hotels and Venere so you can book your The Marquette reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Marquette Hotel Minneapolis
Marquette Hotel Minneapolis
Hilton Hotels Minneapolis

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Marquette, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.