We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel in the heart of the city!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Marquette

Save Saved
You added The Marquette to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
The Marquette
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   710 Marquette Ave, Minneapolis, MN 55402-2368 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary Breakfast!
Ranked #3 of 49 hotels in Minneapolis
La Crosse, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel in the heart of the city!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We were greeted by staff that was fast, friendly and knowledgeable. Our room on the 18th floor was clean and accommodating, with a small refrigerator, wet bar and in room safe. Although we were in the heart of Minneapolis, we did not hear a sound outside our window. We stood there and took in the views of the bustling city below. The bathroom had marble floors, dual sinks and when you enter the glass doors you are welcome with a rainfall water shower. Breakfast in the executive lounge, was nice with a variety of foods and beverages. It was not sit down service, but it was a step up from the typical continental breakfast at other hotels. The climate controlled hotel was attached via center court to the IDS Center and parking which meant you did not have to venture outside if you did not want. Like any larger city, you have to pay for parking, but the cost was less than we have paid in most other large cities or on any of the Islands.

Room Tip: We had friends that stayed in a room not on the Executive suite and that room was very similar to o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

713 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    439
    186
    46
    25
    17
See reviews for
97
241
68
208
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

I was surprised when I arrived to find that my suite reeked of cigarette smoke. I was moved to another room within an hour, but it smelled so bad that there is no way that the staff couldn't have known.
Other than that incident, all was good with this hotel. It's in a great location. The staff is friendly and helpful, and the new room was nice.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, CA
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Great location; great king bed rate with free parking. Our biggest problem was the hard (too firm!) bed. We are used to Westin's heavenly bed and this Hilton bed does not come close. Also they only provide 2 bath towels. We will pick a Westin property next time.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, Il
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

From the friendly and helpful front desk to the great Executive Lounge our stay was five star all the way. Great downtown location close to many restaurants with outdoor seating.
We were able to get a great Friday night rate by going directly to the hotel website which was easy to navigate.

Room Tip: Our room 1965 had a nice downtown view and was right across from the IDS Center
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brooklyn, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This Hilton was clean with easily to access outlets. Their wireless internet service was strong with little delays. This Hilton has big rooms and comfortable beds with access to the heart of downtown Minneapolis.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Minnesota, United States
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

This hotel is clean. It has good service. But it should. It's expensive. Those things should be fine. The hotel advertised two levels of rooms. The higher level - the executive rooms - where I stayed - had a list that said, "In addition to the standard deluxe amenities, Executive Level guests are rewarded with:" and then it gives a list. One thing on the list is clearly "High Speed Internet Access." But once you get to the hotel, you find out that it is not free - you have to pay for it. If it is on a list that says it is included in with the level of room I pay for, I believe it should be included. There is not internet available to the executive level guests that isn't also available to in the standard rooms. One reason I got the executive level room was because it included internet. I was told when I complained about it that the internet was free in the executive lounge on the 19th floor. It is a very small, uncomfortable, overcrowded room. Their expectation was that I would pay for the internet in the room or go to the lounge.

Other than that, it was an average experience. Parking was $22 a night. The lounge has a very small selection of snacks in the evening. It had a nice breakfast. The location is good in downtown Minneapolis. The bed was very firm - not comfortable for me even with the pillow top. The chairs were stiff and uncomfortable. The bathroom has poor exhaust - no fan of course. I won't stay there any more. Most 2 1/2 star hotels and motels are better.

Room Tip: Don't bother with the executive rooms. The room isn't any better and the lounge isn't t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenwood, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Check in was very efficient - staff was friendly & helpful. The rooms were clean & fresh. If I were to express a concern, it would be that the Skyway hours were not consistent - we had functions at two different hotels - the signs said 'close at 6:00 pm, on one end, but, at another end (Hilton) it was 1:30 a.m. Would not want to walk sidewalk unaccompanied, late, at night coming back from a function, for security reasons alone. Just common sense.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Marquette? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marquette

Also Known As:
The Marquette Hotel
The Marquette Hotel Minneapolis
Marquette Hotel Minneapolis
Hilton Hotels Minneapolis
Address: 710 Marquette Ave, Minneapolis, MN 55402-2368
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Minneapolis
#3 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
#8 Romantic Hotel in Minneapolis
#11 Family Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Marquette 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxurious, contemporary-style hotel offers generous-sized rooms and some with computers and whirlpools. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your The Marquette reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Marquette, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.