We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Room But Inconsistent” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Marquette

Save Saved
You added The Marquette to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Marquette
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   710 Marquette Ave, Minneapolis, MN 55402-2368 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast & WiFi!
Ranked #5 of 48 hotels in Minneapolis
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great Room But Inconsistent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

We have stayed here several times this winter. The rooms are nice, but the greeting at the front desk is very inconsistent. Often we have checked with the front desk, trying to book a room and get quotes of $150 and up. When we use a third party system (Hotwire, Priceline) we get prices of $79 and $89. When we call back to the front desk and ask if they will match or come close to that price they will not. That doesn't make sense to me because they would be making more money than paying the third party a commission.

So, we book through the third party. When you check in, you feel punished for having booked the reservation that way. Statements like, "We can't give you a king, even though you requested it, because you booked through a third party." "When you book through a third party, your Hilton honors do not allow you to have free internet." What is the point of being a Hilton honors member. I am not asking for points for the stay, just complimentary internet. Then they want to charge for each device. How ridiculous.

The room is very nice, but the customer service needs to be improved. There are way too many other options in downtown Minneapolis to choose from.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

795 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    482
    206
    58
    29
    20
See reviews for
111
267
70
241
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Memphis, Tennessee
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

This is my third stay at The Marquette. Each stay has been enjoyable and nice. The Hotel is located in the IDS Tower on Nicollet Mall, in downtown Minneapolis. When you step out of the hotel lobby to the IDS Center, you will find restaurants, Shops like Banana Republic, The Gap etc.

Thus if you like to shop, this is the hotel for you, Saks Fifth Avenue, Macy's and Neiman Marcus can be reached via the Sky-ways. From the airport, you can reach the hotel by the light rail for $2.50 each way.

My dislikes, no free WiFi, no free water bottle and breakfast.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Buyer beware! If you are a household like ours and have several electronic devices that have access to the internet, this hotel charges you per device, per connection. They made an attempt to charge us $139.50 for 3 days of internet usage. Also, we had several articles of trash and debris under the beds that had not been cleaned out for a long enough time that the pop bottle we found (along with a candy bar, wrappers and tissue paper) had mold formng in it. While I am not one bit against diversity in the work place, the hotel staff did not speak clear, unbroken english and this made for a very difficult check-in and exit from the hotel.

Room Tip: Beware of the internet charges this hotel attempts to levy!
See more room tips
Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marquette2, Director of Sales at The Marquette, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear Larry R.,

Thank you for your feedback of your recent stay with us at our hotel. I understand that you were not satisfied with the cleanliness of your guest room and am deeply disappointed by that. I sincerely apologize for this and assure you that this area is of great importance to us as we ensure the comfort and satisfaction for our guests. Thank you again; I appreciate your honest feedback.

Lisa Heller
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, MN
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We had a wonderful stay on the 19th floor with the benefits of access to the Executive lounge. A corner room provided great views. Spacious room with great work space and large bathroom. The heated parking garage with in and out privileges was well worth the $15. The executive lounge and a marvelous breakfast. The only downside is having to pay $13.95 for internet access- ridiculous in this day and age. Super nice folks at check in.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osseo, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

For a few bucks more, we booked a room on the executive level on the 18th floor. Along with a room with a great view this room gave us access to the lounge on the 19th floor which offered appetizers & drinks (reduced cost), desserts in pm, and breakfast in am. Breakfast included oatmeal with LOTS of yummy toppings, pastries, fresh fruit, hard boiled eggs, juices & coffee. Yum!

The room had two windows although the second small window was covered by velcroed curtains which interfered with the view. The doors were thick and the room was very quiet..no room to room or room to hallway noise. The rain shower was wonderful and the shower gel smelled luscious! A few bummers were that the room fridge did not really cool and the housekeeping staff walked in our room at 9 am (guess we should have bolted the door...our bad:0 ).

Location was perfect to the theater district and the front desk staff was very helpful. Desk personnel made restaurant reservations for us & offered us a free appetizer.

Room Tip: Executive level rooms are worth the small upcharge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perry, Iowa
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I had an excellent stay at the Marquette in downtown Minneapolis. At check in, I requested a corner king room and the desk person tried very hard to find one for me but there was none available.
This was fine and I was assigned to a very large, clean room on the 9th floor. The king sized bed was very comfortable as was the chair that I used for reading and watching TV.

This hotel is very well located in downtown Minneapolis and is connected to the skywalk system. I would definately stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

I still can't believe what we paid to stay at this place - it was so reasonable given the location, service, and accomodations. Check-in was excellent. The front desk person was very friendly, polite, and helpful. We were surprised to find that we had a large corner room with windows all along the two walls - loved it. The only downside was the windows were a bit dirty, but the view was still good. The king-sized bed was very comfortable. The room had a large flat-screen TV that you could adjust to watch from the desk, couch or bed. The room had a little hallway with a bench and a mini-bar, complete with drinks and snacks. I didn't eat/drink anything but the prices looked reasonable. The shower was great and the bath products were quality. You really can't beat the location; it's close to a lot of great restaurants and bars. Parking was included in our reservation, which I recommend if you need to bring your car, especially if you plan on coming and going. Otherwise it's pretty spendy to park in the ramp, which is climate-controlled and very secure. We will definitely be staying here again.

Room Tip: Get a corner room - the view is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Marquette? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marquette

Address: 710 Marquette Ave, Minneapolis, MN 55402-2368
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Minneapolis
#4 Romantic Hotel in Minneapolis
#4 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
#8 Family Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Marquette 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxurious, contemporary-style hotel offers generous-sized rooms and some with computers and whirlpools. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Hilton Hotels, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, Venere and Priceline so you can book your The Marquette reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Marquette Hotel Minneapolis
Marquette Hotel Minneapolis
Hilton Hotels Minneapolis

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Marquette, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.