We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Customer Service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Marquette

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Marquette to your Saves list
The Marquette
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   710 Marquette Ave, Minneapolis, MN 55402-2368 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Parking!
Ranked #6 of 47 Hotels in Minneapolis
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Mankato, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great Customer Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Theany at the front desk was very helpful and kind! Great customer service skills and knowledgeable. I have worked in the hotel industry for over 12 years and I know how hard it can be to take complaints at the front desk. They have a very hard job and she makes it look easy. The Marquette is very lucky to have such an outstanding individual on their staff.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

978 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    582
    265
    75
    35
    21
See reviews for
141
334
73
300
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

This is an excellent hotel. We had a good experience.The Lounge and Restaurant is well stocked.
The restaurant opens into the atrium and have a very open feel.The service in the restaurant is excellent. The only sad part was i left something in the room and hoped to have it shipped to me. It was not valuable....just important to me. The hotel staff could not find it or locate it after i left.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We stayed 1 night in an executive king room. It was an overnight get-a-way for my husband and me. The joke is that he expects we'll have to switch rooms 3 times before I'll be satisfied, but as soon as we entered the room I loved it. But to back up, we had booked this room with a non-refundable rate with no extras. Although not a big deal, we did also get a $5 discount on parking in the garage which brought the cost to $15. With in/out privileges until 6pm the next day, we didn't think that was half bad. Check in was very quick and we got the run down on the executive lounge perks. From 5-7pm there were free appetizers in the lounge on the 19th floor for only those staying on the executive floors. The staff person was very gracious. You may purchase drinks in the lounge, too. The next morning included a continental breakfast which was perfect and included things like oatmeal, cereal, toast, fruit, hard boiled eggs, beverages, and more. Again, gracious helpful staff.
Our room was nicely set up with a bar area that included a mini-bar fridge with items for purchase. We were still able to fit in our own items, too. It was actually nice to see they supplied not only regular glasses but two wine glasses as well and bottle opener. The room was large with a nice view of the Foshay and other downtown buildings. The bathroom was also very nice with the toilet separated from the main area. Really, the room was perfect for a couples weekend.
The hotel is conveniently located to several great bars and restaurants. We were able to spend some time people watching at the W bar (really you need to go there if, like us, you don't get out like this too often).
The room was very quiet. We would have thought we were alone on our floor if we hadn't heard some people in a room near the elevators as we were passing.
Overall, I'd look forward to staying again and would recommend it to others.

Room Tip: I'd recommend a room on the executive floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, ID
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We stayed one night for a winter rate of 70.00. For this price, it was very nice. A large room with windows on two sides of the skyline, nice furniture, nice bed. Some have complained about the decor, but we like the odd halls and the retro modern look. There was a bit of street noise from the 11th floor Staff was pleasant and accommadating.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Really enjoyed the large rooms with a nice, large comfy chair and an executive desk to work at. The fitness center was small but upgraded and well kept - I found everything that I needed to work-out there. Great location - close to a ton of good restraunts and attached to the mall and sky walk.

Staff was eager to help you figure out where to eat or get you a taxi. Very helpful staff.

I really enjoyed my stay for business here.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

After a week spent in the hospital I got a great deal to stay and relax at The Marquette Hilton. Perfect location in downtown with direct access to the SkyWay Mall system helped to avoid the brutal cold. Easy access to food and other stores. Best thing about downtown Minneapolis!

Room comes stocked with a full mini-bar with everything you could need, yes even condoms. Snacks and drinks have no price list on them so use at your own risk.

The room itself while very clean and adequately large, has a very awkward layout. The TV is to the left of the bed so you have to lay sideways to view it.

My Two Main Complaints: #1 The computer desk is located right next to the window which was very drafty and cold at all times. Had to wear a jacket to work on my laptop. Also in this day and age to charge $16.95 PER DAY for WiFi is just ridiculous in a city where you can easily get 4G.

#2 The in-room heater made strange noises quite often that in addition to the loud noises coming from street level was disruptive to sleep. Be sure to ask for a high floor facing the courtyard.

The Two Compliments: #1 The bed was FANTASTICALLY comfortable. I believe it was one of those Tempur-Pedic types and I stayed in it much of my stay.

#2 The shower was very relaxing with both a hand held and "rain-type" shower head. Pressure was great and hot water was abundant.

Even though the front desk staff, especially Molly, tried to help solve the situation I still felt due to the ability to get away from the room and street noise, I am checking out of the hotel and checking into the Hilton Minneapolis down the street. If you can swing a suite on the top floors then I would recommend this hotel in that situation. Otherwise I would try one of the other 4-Star hotels in town.

Room Tip: To avoid street noise, get a room as high up as possible!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

I travel often for work and have decided to try out several different hotels. I am a diamond member for the hilton chain and a gold member of starwood, for those that do not know; majority of the hotels in Minneapolis are Hilton or Starwood. I typically stay at the Westin or Hilton hotel when in Minneapolis but I decided to switch it up to the Marquette. It has a beautiful lobby and great food in the dining area, however it seems that it falls short after that. I had a gentlemen check me in who seemed to be bitter with me after I asked if I could switch rooms because the one I was in seemed a little outdated. I was not able to switch which was completely fine, I just wished I would of been treated with a little more respect. Besides that moment everything was okay. Nothing super out of the ordinary, but by no means something to complain about either. I appreciated the internet charges being taken care of and the person who checked me out was all to kind. Overall a decent play to stay when visiting Minneapolis, but not the best in my opinion.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marquette2, Director of Sales at The Marquette, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Brad P.
Thank you for taking the time to review. We’re very sorry you experienced an undesirable stay and level of customer service with us. The problems you mentioned with the front desk have been addressed. We appreciate you alerting us to this issue and we hope you will give us a second chance if you return to the area.
Sincerely,
Lisa Heller
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Marquette? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marquette

Address: 710 Marquette Ave, Minneapolis, MN 55402-2368
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Minneapolis
#5 Romantic Hotel in Minneapolis
#6 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
#14 Family Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Marquette 4*
Number of rooms: 281
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxurious, contemporary-style hotel offers generous-sized rooms and some with computers and whirlpools. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your The Marquette reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Marquette Hotel Minneapolis
Marquette Hotel Minneapolis
Hilton Hotels Minneapolis

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Marquette, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.