We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Blu Minneapolis

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Radisson Blu Minneapolis to your Saves list
Radisson Blu Minneapolis
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   35 South 7th Street, Minneapolis, MN 55402   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Savings of 15%
Ranked #8 of 48 Hotels in Minneapolis
GreenLeadersBronze level
Sandpoint, Idaho
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

I don't give many 4 stars to hotels, but this one earns it. The rooms are clean, well appointed, beds comfortable, great workout room, nice lobby, good bar, my only complaint is my room did not have an outside window, I had to look down at a banquet room. With the weather changing outside I was curious as to what my day would be like....I also had room service and my Minnesota Salad was perfect, had it with duck on it and that was good also. They took my order ande delivered the tasty food quickly. I would return to this hotel and ask for a room with an outside window. This hotel also has a perfect location close to restaurants, clubs, and sports venues.

Room Tip: Try and get a room with an outside view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    261
    173
    55
    18
    11
See reviews for
75
128
40
184
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bloemfontein, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Great hotel, excellent quality
Had trouble with the Wi-fi
Stayed one night, tried to book another and the price went up with $100 so we moved to another.
Otherwise it was nice.
I thought there were going to be more luxurious, but everything was good.
Would recommend it to anybody, but just do your planning and price hunting right.

Room Tip: Look for the right price
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Crosse, Wisconsin
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

This is a very beautiful hotel on the inside. Dark and unwelcoming like all of downtown Minneapolis on the outside. Having traveled quite a bit recently, I may be a bit spoiled by personalized and friendly registration, doorman, valets. So my bar may have been sit a bit higher when I arrived, since I'd been well pampered in the last 12 months.

I was checked in quickly, but without a warm greeting/smile. Simultaneous to that action, a man collapsed in the lobby. One clerk asked another if she should call 911 and the response was 'they will take care of it' (both to me and the other clerk). The poor man, out cold, lifeless was urged "that he must get up". I was promptly checked in, but it was clear the five people standing around the man were not equipped to deal with this. The "you must get up" finally proceeded to "would you like us to call an ambulance". Again, the man was unconscious and hadn't move. Fortunately, by the time I reached my room, an ambulance and fire had arrived. But a disconcerting start.

My questions about reaching the Metrodome were answered perfunctorily, but unenthusiastically (front desk, not concierge, which was unmanned). The room was beautiful, hallways delightful, elevators large and fast. The workout facility was great, but in an isolated location on the top floor. But, did I mention the ambulance that arrived when I got there? Apparently 7th Street is ambulance alley. So screaming ambulances were what I listened to both nights into the wee hours.

The "street life" also was quite loud. (I was on the 8th floor.) Not limited to raucous crowds or street groups, but valets waiting to park cars. (The underground parking, was indeed a Godsend, and very very reasonably priced. Better than any city I've stayed in at $6/night.)

Close to Nicollet Mall, which is completely shut down after dark, except for a Target, and some restaurants. I've always found downtown Minneapolis, while clean, dark and creepy. This weekend no exception.

When I asked the doorman about a debit machine (atm) he answered, but, again, seeming to assume some secret knowledge that I didn't quite understand at first. There is an opening behind the registration area which has restrooms, a public access computer, and the atm. Only, from the doorway it was difficult, for me at least, to know that there was a hallway behind the desk. Generally I found the doorman, part of the front desk people and the parking attendant a bit too urban snotty for my pleasure. I've certainly been treated more kindly, enthusiastically, and attentively from London to Chicago, Toronto, Vancouver, Costa Rica, and even Orlando.

The final thing I would add is if you open your curtains you get to stare squarely at the Marriot across the street. Bottom line, ask for a room not fronting the street. (Not sure if that would help as I heard others complaining on their way out about the ambulance situation, probably to polite to mention the sound of the yells etc. from the street. Urban life. The price for the quality was exceptional, just don't expect lots of charm from the staff. (With the exception of the two women working the front desk- one on check in, one on check out.) The housekeeping staff was efficient as well.

Room Tip: Try not to stay on the 7th Street side if at all possible. Make use of the taxis which are just arou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radisson-Rob-Smith, General Manager at Radisson Blu Minneapolis, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Valued Guest-

Thank you for your recent stay as well as your TA post. While I regretted reading of some of the challenges you experienced we learn more from frank honest criticism than we do from praise.

I am happy to report that the gentleman you witnessed collapse in the lobby has been released and is doing fine. I will read your comments with our security team to discuss ways we may have reacted differently.

We pride ourselves on our "yes I can" attitudes and I am sorry you experienced anything less. I do assure you that your experience was an anomaly.

We do hope to see you back when you find your travels bring you to the Twin Cities.

Regards-
Rob
Rob Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay here. The room was huge, modern, clean and comfortable. The bed and pillows were beeeeeautiful to sleep on. We stayed here as part of a 4 week holiday so we've stayed in lots of different hotels on this trip - the Radisson Plaza Minneapolis was probably the most relaxing and comfortable hotel room from the whole vacation. Very close to the Target Center and other city attractions. 5 stars!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summitville
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

On a recent visit to Minneapolis we were pleased with our stay at the downtown Radisson Plaza hotel. At many downtown hotels it has been my experience that they are often very impersonal and lack a customer friendly atmosphere. Our experience with this hotel and its staff was outstanding and was the high point of a trip with a rocky start. This hotel is a gem and the staff adds to the wonderful quality of this destination.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rice Lake, WI
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We have stayed here when attending music concerts. The private parking ramp is much appreciated in such a busy area in town. Check-ins are quick and professional, the staff are always courteous, and the rooms have always been clean and quiet with comfortable beds. When you combine how pampered you feel while staying here, along with the wonderful proximity to the Target Center, restaurants and bars, it is the one hotel we will always come back to.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

If you are looking for a fun downtown Minneapolis hotel, stay here! It is a great location, easy to walk to Target Center, First Ave, Nicollet Mall, bars, restaurants. The rooms are really nice and comfortable. Also, easy to park and cost to park is pretty reasonable. Don't forget to stop at the Candyland store right next store.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Radisson Blu Minneapolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Minneapolis

Address: 35 South 7th Street, Minneapolis, MN 55402
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
#4 Luxury Hotel in Minneapolis
#6 Green Hotel in Minneapolis
#8 Romantic Hotel in Minneapolis
#12 Family Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Minneapolis 4*
Number of rooms: 360
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new iconic Radisson Blu Minneapolis has been dramatically redesigned to interact with the buzz in the beating heart of downtown Minneapolis. The hotel offers world-class, upper-upscale hospitality, exceptional service with our unique Yes I Can! Philosophy, 29,000 square feet of flexible event and meeting space and a location sensation: where history and heritage meet contemporary innovation and culture. Enjoy so much, so close-the Radisson Blu is conveniently situated just moments away from the vibrant theater and business districts and within two blocks of Target Field, Target Center, premium shopping and entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Radisson Blu Minneapolis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Minneapolis
Minneapolis Radisson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson Blu Minneapolis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.