We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel, Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Plaza Hotel Minneapolis

Save Saved
You added Radisson Plaza Hotel Minneapolis to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Radisson Plaza Hotel Minneapolis
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   35 South 7th Street, Minneapolis, MN 55402   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Savings of 15%
Ranked #10 of 49 hotels in Minneapolis
GreenLeadersBronze level
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Good Hotel, Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

I've stayed in a number of higher end hotels in Minneapolis, others would include Graves 601, Foshay Tower, and Hyatt Regency.

The room at the Radisson was comfortable, with a nice bed, and decent sized TV. Compared to Graves and Foshay the room did lack personality; no unique features, no unusual furniture or decor, no mini bar, and the view from the 14th floor was essentially obscured by the Marriott hotel across the street. In each of the other hotels I had a far more impressive view.

Housekeeping forgot to replace robes in the room on one occasion but was otherwise decent. At the time I stayed the Internet was very unreliable, although unusually for hotels in this category the Internet was free. Frankly though, I'd rather have paid for it and had something more reliable. As it happened, I had to complain about it three times, and incur overages on my cell phone data plan.

But despite these niggles, the hotel really is excellent. The final gripe is kind of a double edged sword. In other hotels I've stayed in this part of the city valet parking can cost $30 a night easily. Plus tip. Valet is cheaper here, but there is a very convenient and much cheaper self park option. You literally drive right under the hotel and take an elevator to the lobby. So on the up side, you can save money. On the down side, it can be hard to find a valet if you actually want to use that service. So I guess if you are a fan of the self park, this isn't an issue. If you're a fan of valet, you might have to wait around a little, or go inside and find the concierge person.

All that said there is a massive upside to this hotel. The location is fabulous. So many things to see and do right within walking distance, and great public transport availability too. I can't even count the number of shopping and dining options within walking distance of this hotel. And despite a very central location I did not have any issues with traffic or noise during my stay.

The staff I interacted with were polite and courteous, professional and attentive. They even put free bottled water in the room each day and didn't pull the drink me for $5 scam of so many hotels.

Finally there's the restaurant and bar right off from the lobby. It's called Fire Place and it may be some of the best hotel food I've eaten all year! I really could not believe I was eating in a hotel, because this restaurant could surely stand alone. A decent selection of American food options, well prepared and not outrageously priced. Even a specials menu of seasonal items. Despite the vast array of other nearby eating options, I found myself staying in the hotel more often than not to eat here. And I believe that this restaurant is also responsible for room service. So if you're too lazy to take the elevator to the restaurant, you can have the same excellent food come to you.

So overall a few minor annoyances and a slightly boring view and room. But all this more than compensated by attentive service, an excellent restaurant, and no feeling of being ripped off. When you stay in a nice hotel, pay a decent price for the room, it's a bit of a slap in the face to spend close to $50 a night for Internet and parking as is often the case with similar hotels in this area.

I would certainly recommend this hotel to any traveller who needs a convenient central location and good value.

Room Tip: My view was pretty mediocre facing the front of the hotel, I would think a better view might be avai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

390 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    176
    150
    45
    14
    5
See reviews for
54
100
34
132
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Easy, exceptionally comfortable, incredibly convenient, and extraordinarily business friendly. From check in to check out, it was extremely efficient. Excellent value as well, terrific staff. Great gym, good business center with high speed internet, printing and wifi. Comfortable room and well appointed bathrooms.

Room Tip: Get a room on the 15th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Grange, Illinois, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

I stayed at the Radisson on November 6, 2012, for business and was very impressed with both the accommodations as well as the service I received. The rooms were beautiful, spacious, and very comfortable. The access to Macy's on the 2nd floor as well as the restaurant on the first floor was great - the food was delicious! My company had an event the next day and the staff (especially John and Travis) could not have been more responsive. They took care of any and all requests, whether it was their area of expertise or not. I would definitely schedule another event here as well as stay for my next business funciton.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fargo
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012 via mobile

The Radisson Plaza in downtown Minneapolis is in a great location for food, shopping, and night life. The staff is excellent. James, who checked me in, was very professional and welcoming. I recommend this hotel to anyone looking to stay in this area. Thank you for making my experience great!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbury MN
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Sent my son and his new bride to this hotel for a romantic getaway. The staff gave them an amazing room with incredible views. They loved the restaurant food, enjoyed the hotel amenities, and said it was easy to find. This is an elegant place. Hotel is well situated for exploring Minneapolis skyway. After checking out, the newlyweds came to visit us directly, and couldn't stop talking about their wonderful stay. They showed us pictures of the hotel, and it looks wonderful. We're local, but we plan to visit this hotel just for fun.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MN
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Hubby and I booked a room at the Radisson for our anniversary - we are 'locals', so we don't usually hotel-it in Minneapolis, but the experience was so great that we will for sure do it again.
As we registered, we mentioned that it was our anniversary - and the desk clerk upgraded us to a suite on a private floor! What a treat!
We thoroughly enjoyed our spacious bathroom, uber-comfortable bed, and city view. This Radisson is located in the heart of Minneapolis, between Nicollet Mall and Hennepin on 7th. Within a mile radius you have the Theatre District, North Loop, the Mall area, excellent restaurants and nightlife and more.
Parking is underneath the hotel and very reasonably priced.
The hotel was clean, and the staff were amazing.
We WILL for sure go back to be 'visitors in our own city'!

Room Tip: City or courtyard views - all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

This Radisson was the best! Friendly staff, lovely condition, great location, overall wonderful experience. Previously stayed at the Radisson Hotel in Virginia and hated it.... Radisson MN however is the way to go! Highly recommend.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radisson-Rob-Smith, General Manager at Radisson Plaza Hotel Minneapolis, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear Valued Guest-

Thank you for your recent stay and for a great trip advisor report. We hope to serve you again when your travels bring you back to the Twin Cities.

Regards-
Rob
r.smith@radisson.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Radisson Plaza Hotel Minneapolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Plaza Hotel Minneapolis

Address: 35 South 7th Street, Minneapolis, MN 55402
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Minneapolis
#6 Green Hotel in Minneapolis
#10 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
#11 Family Hotel in Minneapolis
#15 Romantic Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Plaza Hotel Minneapolis 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxurious Accommodations at the Radisson Plaza Hotel Minneapolis.100% non-smoking facility.With a prime location in the heart of downtown, just steps away from the business district, local shopping, Target Field, Target Center and entertainment, the Radisson Plaza Hotel Minneapolis offers guests warm hospitality, an inviting atmosphere and stylish accommodations for travelers of all kinds. One of the top hotels in Minneapolis, the Radisson Plaza features wireless Internet, a Fitness Center and a Business Center. For added convenience, our hotel is connected to the city's climate-controlled skyway system. As Radisson's flagship property, our four star, downtown Minneapolis hotel pampers guests with luxurious amenities and top-notch services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Radisson Plaza Hotel Minneapolis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Minneapolis
Minneapolis Radisson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson Plaza Hotel Minneapolis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.