We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My stay was rather lovely.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Blu Minneapolis

Save Saved
You added Radisson Blu Minneapolis to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Radisson Blu Minneapolis
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   35 South 7th Street, Minneapolis, MN 55402   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Savings of 15%
Ranked #8 of 49 hotels in Minneapolis
GreenLeadersBronze level
Norwood, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“My stay was rather lovely.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2011

I enjoyed the heated parking. Also nice, was the private club floor. My suite was pretty decent. This hotel is modern. bed was great! The bar that is attached is great to pop in for a few drinks. I did not eat at the restaurant, but it looked kind of fancy :) The location of this hotel is good. There are so many fun places to go within walking distance. The staff was good. here come the slight problems. This is a smoke free hotel. People congregate in front of it to smoke. At bar closing time on weekends the place seems to get busy with people that have been boozing it up. The lobby and entrance way were like a party zone. Really drunk people. Not just a few, but many. Still there were so many great things, and if you are not up late this might not be a problem. The walls are rather thin. C'mon Radisson. You almost got me to stray away from my usual Crowne Plaza preference. Well, okay Radisson has made me like them. I will be back.

Room Tip: You might be able to upgrade to an executive suite for a few bucks online.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

391 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    176
    151
    45
    14
    5
See reviews for
54
100
34
132
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
iowa
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

For those that have not been to dowtown Minneapolis very much, this is one of the best locations you can have, three of the main theatres are right around the corner. Nicollet mall area is on the other side. Macy's is connected to the hotel and you can get to all other shopping with 2 blocks. The best restraunts Murray's, Fogo De Chao, Capital Grille are all within 1 block. Parking is expensive on weekdays 19 dollars, but 6 dollars on weekends and it is underground and heated. The hotel lobby is very nice and the Firelake restraunt has good reviews. The room we had was mediocre, we stayed here for 3 nights. We booked it on priceline for 56 dollars, we noticed it on hotwire for 66. They moved us to club level but had a big beam in front of the window. Did not care since we were never in the room. The staff was friendly and room was cleaned well each day. This hotel is not as nice as the Hyatt, Hilton, or Crowne Plaza as far as rooms, but it is close. The location more than makes up for the difference. I will pick this hotel over the rest because of location. If you are up for a night out, all of the main bars are 2 blocks towards the Target Center and I highly recommed the shout house.

Room Tip: Odd number rooms have a better view. Club level 14-17th floor, does not offer anything on weekends.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011

This is an excellent hotel in the heart of Minneapolis. The lobby and check-in staff are outstanding. Parking was fantastic. We drove into a heated ramp under the hotel right next to the elevators leading to the lobby. Charge for 24 hour Friday-Saturday was only $6The hotel is so close to everyplace we wanted to go that we never had to move the car during our stay. It is within 3-4 blocks of Target Field, Target Center, the theatre district, light rail, etc. Fire Lake restaurant, on site was wonderful! Food was superb, service was excellent and prices were reasonable. The only reason I didn't give 5 *s is because the bed was so hard that I could hardly move in the morning. This could be avoided by asking for a sleep-number bed.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

I stayed here for one night. This is a three star hotel. The restaurant was good for an on site hotel restaurant. The rooms were dated but the bed was comfortable. The shower was ridiculously bad. Very low flow. Overall the room was pretty clean but not immaculate. Think airport Marriott. The location downtown was great. The service was great.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2011

I spent 4 nights at this hotel on business and was disappointed. Nothing major but a bunch of little things that were frustrating.

Like many of the downtown Minneapolis hotels, this hotel has easy access to the Minneapolis Skyway. For those of you unfamiliar with Minneapolis, most of the downtown blocks are connected by second floor passages that allow you to move from one building to another, crossing streets, without going outside....considering the Winter weather in Minnesota this is a wonderful thing.

As to the hotel, the first negative I noticed was that the carpet in my room was RIPPED...not under a chair or in a corner, a the foot of the bed where you walk all the time. In addition, my room's towels and bathmat were not fully replaced on my last night in the hotel. The "sleep number" function on one of the brds didn't work. The TV reception was also not all that good.

These may not sound like dealbreakers but, when you spend 3-4 nights a week in hotels in Minneapolis, why would you want a room that was less than perfect?...I know I won't take that chance again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Kingstown Rhode Island
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

The hotel restaurant and the food served at banquet events was the best tasting and finest quality I have ever experienced in my travels. The ingredients were from Minnesota and were fresh. From Breakfast to late night repaste the choices were unnique and were served well.

Was there for a conference and the floor staff was the best! Too bad the management of the rooms for registrants and inaccurate AV accounts left us not thinking about returning.

Room Tip: Being in the middle of a city you would want an upper floor to see the skyline
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willmar, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2011

First time at this hotel since I was a kid. Mom and Dad used to take us to stay here while they did their Christmas shopping next door at Daytons. Well, Daytons is now Macy's and the Raddisson in now the Radisson Plaza.

First impression when I walked in was class. The lobby was neat and clean, restaurant and bar next door open and humming. Front desk staff professional and friendly. As a Government worker, I travel a lot. Very nice to have access to the 'business' lounge on the 15th floor (I am also a Carlson Club member). A nice cup of coffee awaited me at 10:00 PM as I made my way to my room. The hallway was neat and clean and offered privacy columns between room doors. Very nice.

The room was more than expected. Sleep number king size bed. Desk with 4 outlets for accessories (nice). Free internet. Clock radio with sleep timer. Oversized bathroom (good shower, toiletries, bathroom scale, and coffee maker w/ceramic cups). Large 42 inch flat screen TV.

In the morning, the USA Today was at my door (a local paper choice would be nice) along with my bill, just as expected. Breakfast for Carlson Club members in the same business lounge just down the hall.

The only negative I can find is there was no Comedy Central on the TV channel choices so I missed John Stewart. :-(

Overall, feel confident in this hotel for your business or Christmas shopping needs!!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Radisson Blu Minneapolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Minneapolis

Address: 35 South 7th Street, Minneapolis, MN 55402
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Minneapolis
#6 Green Hotel in Minneapolis
#9 Family Hotel in Minneapolis
#10 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
#15 Romantic Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Minneapolis 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new iconic Radisson Blu Minneapolis has been dramatically redesigned to interact with the buzz in the beating heart of downtown Minneapolis. The hotel offers world-class, upper-upscale hospitality, exceptional service with our unique Yes I Can! Philosophy, and a location sensation: where history and heritage meet contemporary innovation and culture. Enjoy so much, so close-the Radisson Blu is conveniently situated just moments away from the vibrant theater and business districts and within two blocks of Target Field, Target Center, premium shopping and entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Radisson Blu Minneapolis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Minneapolis
Minneapolis Radisson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson Blu Minneapolis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.