We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Univ of Minnesota” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Commons Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Commons Hotel to your Saves list
The Commons Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   615 Washington Ave SE, Minneapolis, MN 55414 (Formerly University Hotel Minneapolis)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Make Travel A Pleasure
Ranked #1 of 47 Hotels in Minneapolis
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Univ of Minnesota”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

Really great place! Decor is so cozy. Didn't mind that it was super cold outside. Good in hotel restaurant was superb for breakfast. Hotel staff very helpful especially Brock & Megan! Can't wait to visit again.

Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

496 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    321
    118
    43
    9
    5
See reviews for
116
70
25
207
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This hotel is very conveniently located at the U. of Minnesota campus. Rooms are comfortable and spacious, and the industrial-chic type design of the lobbies is original and charmful. The best thing about the hotel though is its service, attentive and helpful to the point of providing me with an extra charger for my laptop (which I had forgotten home accross the atlantic ocean) at 5 AM in the morning, at no extra charge. I even got to keep it with me for free when I left the hotel! The restaurant also has very good food, of a higher standard than most neighbouring joints.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We stay here frequently when doing work at UM. The location can't be beat - as close to campus as you can get, near a handful of decent restaurants, and not too far off the freeway. Rooms are spacious, clean, comfortable, and for the most part quiet (one colleague complained of next-door neighbors who were up late partying). Service is friendly, helpful and efficient - although there was quite a line a check-in with only one person staffing the desk (his colleague had gone on break). Having a Starbucks right off the lobby is great. Only complaint is that parking can get a little tight in the lot out back, but there is a ramp right across the street that's connected by a skywalk.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delafield, Wisconsin
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We recently traveled to Minneapolis for a volleyball tournament with my daughter's team. Our group was assigned The Commons Hotel on the University of Minnesota - Twin Cities campus which was right on the new rail line that took us just five blocks from the convention center. The front desk staff was great and more than helpful in accommodating our group with directions and suggestions. The lobby was beautiful (although the hall carpets on each of the floors could use replacing), the rooms were a good size and you couldn't beat the location other than being right downtown near the convention center for this trip's purpose. But being able to ride the new metro system was a blast for the girls.

If you've got a kid attending the University or if you plan on attending a Gopher game at the University's stadium, you can't beat the location, however, you can beat the price. Other than the lobby and the location, there really isn't much that stands out about the hotel that warrants such a steep price. And despite the staff being very gracious and helpful I did have to speak to housekeeping and the front desk about the comforter on my daughter's bed after I found some stains (I only hope that they were coffee or cola) on it that were not from us. They did discount our room, and did replace the comforter right away, however, it should never have been an issue, especially at this rate. I also realize that parking is premium on college campuses, but a flat rate for your stay should be the norm, not the exception.. $15 a night adds up quickly.

Green Features: They seem to try to be a green hotel, however, with the issue we had with our comforter, I have to question just how green they want to be.
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Very good property right in the heart of the U of M campus. The Commons also boasts a very good restaurant with a nice selection of locally sourced food and a solid selection of microbrews. It is also on the green light rail line, which makes downtown very convenient.

Room Tip: Front rooms farthest from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel is well situated near the university. The room was disappointing. The coffee machine is squeezed in under a small bedside table; it barely fits on the table along with the phone. The bathroom had just one bath towel in a room with two beds and no cup, glass or mug of any kind. The receptionist promised personally to cancel my wake up call but did not do so. Careless mistakes that make a difference..

Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I recently stayed here for two nights in connection with a meeting at the University of Minnesota. The hotel is on the edge of the campus and is very convenient. There are quite a few restaurants and student hangouts nearby. The Japanese restaurant across the street is quite good. This hotel used to be a Radisson, and was getting a bit rundown over the last few years. It has been recently renamed and completely renovated with new management. The rooms have been tastefully redecorated and the bathrooms modernized. It is now a very pleasant and comfortable place to stay. My standard room was very quiet with no outside or inside noise. The staff is very professional, helpful and efficient.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Commons Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Commons Hotel

Address: 615 Washington Ave SE, Minneapolis, MN 55414 (Formerly University Hotel Minneapolis)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Minneapolis
#2 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
#4 Green Hotel in Minneapolis
#6 Romantic Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Commons Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 304
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Commons Hotel is noted for being the only hotel located on the East Bank of the University of Minnesota, making it the perfect choice for accommodations when visiting the university. The Commons Hotel also offers 20,000 sq. feet of meeting flexible meeting space as well a Full-Service Restaurant and lounge, The Beacon Public House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, T4B, Expedia, BookIt.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your The Commons Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Minneapolis
Minneapolis Radisson
Radisson University Hotel Minneapolis

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Commons Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.