We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service in a comfortable and stylish hotel.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Commons Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Commons Hotel to your Saves list
The Commons Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   615 Washington Ave SE, Minneapolis, MN 55414 (Formerly University Hotel Minneapolis)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20% on rooms
Ranked #2 of 48 Hotels in Minneapolis
GreenLeadersBronze level
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Excellent service in a comfortable and stylish hotel.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I felt welcome as soon as I arrived. All the staff was very professional and helpful. I especially received excellent service from Mohammad at the front desk. He was genuine, friendly and paid attention to details. The valet staff was also exceptional and had great recommendations and service. The hotel rooms were cozy and clean. I definitely recommend this hotel! Extra bonus - so easy to use the public transit system from the airport to the hotel. Another bonus, you can use the U of M rec center nearby for free! Thanks for a great stay!

Room Tip: Some suites are kinda small, so a regular room with a king or queen beds would be just as good.
See more room tips
Green Features: Hotels can always improve on green amenities, but the Commons was decent as far as environmentally-friendly practices.
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    255
    99
    37
    8
    5
See reviews for
92
57
17
179
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

Our stay was for medical appointments, but we had nightly adventures to local theatre. A shuttle service w/in 5 miles is offered. It was extreamly timely and effeciant. Kudos to the driving staff of joe, travis, Jason and Tony ...great job!!

  • Stayed December 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanover, New Hampshire
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This was my first time staying at The Commons, and I had a great experience. It definitely lives up to its great TripAdvisor ranking (currently #2 in Minneapolis). The hotel is right on the University of Minnesota campus, just steps away from a number of good restaurants (I enjoyed both Bun Mi Sandwiches and Abdul's Afandy) and adjacent to the East Bank Green Line (light rail) station, making it a breeze to get to either downtown Minneapolis or St. Paul. By light rail, The Commons is only 30-40 minutes from MSP Airport, so no need to take a taxi. They also offer a free shuttle service that will take you anywhere within five miles; just make sure to reserve a trip in advance. There is also a nice Starbucks next door open from 5:30/6am until midnight every day. The hotel itself is beautiful. I requested a room on an upper floor away from the elevators, and this made for a very quiet stay. The complimentary WiFi worked well. Very friendly staff - allowed me to check out of my room at 5pm for free, and it was no problem to store my bags at the front desk for several hours after I had checked out. If you aren't sure about booking this place due to the price, I'd recommend checking out Hotwire or Priceline - this hotel participates in the Priceline Name Your Own Price program, and it is possible to get very good deals here.

Room Tip: Ask for an upper level room away from the elevators and laundry area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Independence, Missouri
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This is our third time staying at The Commons. We had 30 rooms for our Synchronized Figure Skating teams competing in the Maple Woods Synchro competition. The Commons was wonderful in arranging our block and helping the skating families make their reservations. Check in was a breeze!! After 10 hours on a team bus the last thing we want to do is wait in line forever to check in. The staff at The Commons checked everyone in so fast and not one hiccup. The rooms are beautiful and very comfortable and with the Starbucks located at the hotel, that is a huge bonus!!!!!

It is wonderful to be able to stay so close to the Mariucci Arena! We will be back for a 4th year with The Commons next season. The team highly recommends The Commons!!

Room Tip: I have not had a bad room yet after three years of visiting The Commons.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Top Contributor
238 reviews 238 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I've stayed here twice; first time there was lots of construction going on and that soured me on the place to some extent. This time around the early morning construction noise is gone and we are left with a very pleasant, warm, and cozy hotel with a "varsity" feeling to it (i.e. decorated with old school photos of college sports, events, etc). There is a pleasant fire going in the lobby, plush furniture, and the overall vibe of comfortable and venerable institution of higher learning. I had minimal interactions with the staff but they seemed professional, polite, and competent.

The rooms are similarly comfortable but there were a few odd and only very slightly annoying issues. The TV was not connected to the cable and would not turn on. The rain shower fixture is mounted quite low; I'm about 6 feet so not particularly tall but the shower head was still only about 2 inches over the top of my head. And the shower tray had widely spaced tines that did not easily hold up the complimentary shower supplies.

Obviously these are ridiculously minor issues and don't detract from the overall quality of my stay here. I left the Commons with a much more favorable impression this time around and would happily stay here again.

Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Great experience here! It is only a couple blocks from the Barn (home of Gopher basketball). The room was modern with high end amenities. Parking was conveniently located just outside the entrance for only $15. I reserved my room on Priceline and got a great deal. There are a plethora of restaurant choices just around the corner, including a Starbucks. The staff is great! I highly recommend this hotel!

Stayed December 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitefish Bay, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Our last visit was truly our last visit--my son just graduated from the U. I've stayed at The Commons every time I visited him during his college years. I've had nothing but extreme professionalism, courtesy, cleanliness and great service. It has made my trips even more enjoyable.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Commons Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Commons Hotel

Address: 615 Washington Ave SE, Minneapolis, MN 55414 (Formerly University Hotel Minneapolis)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Minneapolis
#3 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
#5 Green Hotel in Minneapolis
#6 Romantic Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Commons Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 304
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Commons Hotel is noted for being the only hotel located on the East Bank of the University of Minnesota, making it the perfect choice for accommodations when visiting the university. The Commons Hotel also offers 20,000 sq. feet of meeting flexible meeting space as well a Full-Service Restaurant and lounge, The Beacon Public House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your The Commons Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Minneapolis
Minneapolis Radisson
Radisson University Hotel Minneapolis

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Commons Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.