We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Cocktails!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Commons Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Commons Hotel to your Saves list
The Commons Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   615 Washington Ave SE, Minneapolis, MN 55414 (Formerly University Hotel Minneapolis)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Make Travel A Pleasure
Ranked #1 of 47 Hotels in Minneapolis
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
1 review
“Great Cocktails!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

I stayed at the hotel while attending an IEEE conference. The room was great, service was excellent, and the whole staff was very charming. At conferences, sometimes the best place to learn things is in the hotel bar -- I spent several evenings swapping tips and tricks with my fellow engineers. The bartender, Bethany, served up some impressive cocktails, and she always knew the perfect mix to recommend when I was unsure. I believe all the cocktails are custom made, and tasted great! Definitely check it out it you're looking for a fancy drink.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David K, Manager at The Commons Hotel, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to review our hotel, Michael! I am so happy that you enjoyed your stay, as well as the convention itself. Certainly, hotel restaurants and bars have a certain charm, and the Beacon is lucky in that we have very unique drinks and stellar staff members. I’m glad to hear that you were able to spend some time in the restaurant, and if you make it back here again, we will try to whip up something special for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

496 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    321
    118
    43
    9
    5
See reviews for
116
70
25
207
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Solon Springs, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

Note that the pool access you have is a lap pool only, is off the premises and you have to be 18 years or older to use it. Not a good hotel for little ones or adults who just want to relax and or play by the pool.

Room Tip: Our room was very clean and pretty roomy. Just note the pool specifics, and the beds are very hard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David K, Manager at The Commons Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Thank you for your comments and further clarification. The University Health, Wellness and Aquatic center is located directly behind our hotel. This world class facility offers great facilities to those serious workout buffs. I apologize it was not the family oriented design you were looking for. If travel returns you to the University for business, I hope that you will consider our hotel again. Thank you again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torhout, Belgium
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

Extremely nice and cosy hotel. Room was a great experience versus other major US chains. Very clean, staff is friendly and very helpful. Check out the bar! They serve great foot and beer and the cocktail list is fabulous.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David K, Manager at The Commons Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Thank you so much for your comments. I am glad you enjoyed your time at the hotel, as well as our signature gastropub, The Beacon Public House. We do have some talented mixologists, and some very creative cocktails. We change things up seasonally, so I hope you will come back to enjoy cocktails on the patio when we open it up soon. Thanks for your business!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

Great location and atmosphere. Rooms & decor were very nice. Staff very friendly. The lactic is central to a lot of eateries & places to shop. Great to be next to the University of Minnesota sports venues. Hope to stay here again! Cold outside but warm inside.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David K, Manager at The Commons Hotel, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed our hotel, including its new décor, great location, and many amenities. Since Minnesota isn’t exactly known for being warm during the winters, I’m glad that you felt comfortable and at home inside. Thanks for taking the time to mention us, and we hope to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

The Commons is the old Radisson Hotel on the U of M campus. Really, you could not ask for any more convenient location for your campus visit when checking out schools. Stadium Village is nearby, with a mix of shops and restaurants, and the parking lot behind the hotel makes coming and going elsewhere in the Twin Cities convenient. The fire gives the lobby a warm, welcoming feel, and the rooms are nicely updated, and quiet. We had dinner at the Beacon one evening and found it to be a step above your usual "hotel restaurant." Great service and the food was excellent. We had no problems using the wireless internet access, and the front desk was very helpful in replenishing coffee packets when we were short one. We are making one more round of college visits next month, and returning to the Commons for a night as my son makes his final admissions decision.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David K, Manager at The Commons Hotel, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Thanks so much for staying with us and dropping by your compliments on the hotel. It sounds like you were able to enjoy most of our amenities, as well as the convenient location to the surrounding area, which I am very glad for. We definitely put a lot of work into renovating the hotel, so I am happy that you enjoyed the new décor! We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit, and hopefully we’ll be seeing each other more often if your son decides to stay at the U of M!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northfield, Minnesota
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

This hotel is gorgeous. We had TV issues late at night and someone came right up to help us. We also arrived on PI day, my birthday, and they had a variety of delectable mini pies to enjoy! Amazing! I loved the décor and really enjoyed our view of the trendy downtown area. The only downfall was the parking wasn't validated, and pretty expensive in my eyes, otherwise all in all I really enjoyed this hotel and it's vibe. I will go again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David K, Manager at The Commons Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and that you were able to enjoy our mini pies on Pi day! We were very excited about that, as well. We recently underwent major renovations, so all of our décor is brand new, and I am glad that you liked the changes. I do apologize if you weren't informed about the parking fee prior to arrival. The University is pedestrian driven, and parking, much like downtown, is at a premium. Thank you so much for staying with us and taking the time to leave such wonderful compliments, and we hope to welcome you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

We have stayed twice recently. A very relaxed atmosphere on the University of Minnesota campus. Light rail is just outside but the hotel has free shuttle w/i 5 miles. Good restaurant and bar. Many small restaurants nearby. Staff very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David K, Manager at The Commons Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Ruthie, thank you for taking the time to leave your comments and kind words. If you’re able to stay again, just so you are aware, the light rail will be fully functioning all the way from the airport, going through downtown Minneapolis, and arriving at our hotel starting June 14. I am so happy that you got the opportunity to stop in to the Beacon restaurant and that you enjoyed your meal, and I will make sure to pass your compliments on about our staff. Thanks again, and we hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Commons Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Commons Hotel

Address: 615 Washington Ave SE, Minneapolis, MN 55414 (Formerly University Hotel Minneapolis)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Minneapolis
#2 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
#4 Green Hotel in Minneapolis
#6 Romantic Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Commons Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 304
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Commons Hotel is noted for being the only hotel located on the East Bank of the University of Minnesota, making it the perfect choice for accommodations when visiting the university. The Commons Hotel also offers 20,000 sq. feet of meeting flexible meeting space as well a Full-Service Restaurant and lounge, The Beacon Public House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, T4B, Expedia, BookIt.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your The Commons Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Minneapolis
Minneapolis Radisson
Radisson University Hotel Minneapolis

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Commons Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.