We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great employees and location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Commons Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Commons Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Commons Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   615 Washington Ave SE, Minneapolis, MN 55414 (Formerly University Hotel Minneapolis)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Up to 20% savings
Ranked #2 of 49 hotels in Minneapolis
GreenLeadersBronze level
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great employees and location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

This is the second time we have stayed here. Both times employees seem to actually recognize you as guests. Very friendly and help with all requests. Upgrade for $20.00 is worth it. Bigger room. Great valet service takes you to and from your location promptly and accurately. We only make it to the area a few times per year and enjoy the friendly staff here. Front desk answered our questions and great to deal with. If I owned this hotel I would increase the pay to employees for making this hotel number 1 in the Twin Cities.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David K, Manager at The Commons Hotel, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you for staying with us again, Davin88, and thank you for your review. Comments such as yours help energize our wonderful service team. I agree with you; they deserve a whole lot more money for the great job they do... I'll work on that. In the mean time, thank you for your business. I hope to be able to personally welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    174
    73
    25
    6
    5
See reviews for
67
40
11
123
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

I have stayed here a couple times now. So I feel like I can give a pretty fair review of this hotel. Normally you expect to find the best hotels downtown. Doing a little digging and hopping to the other side of the river and you will find The Commons Hotel. This is a first rate operation. Rooms are modern and clean. Very comfortable beds. The staff is attentive and friendly. Room service was quick and even sent me bloody mary drinks for breakfast. Plenty of attractions within walking distance and a courtesy shuttle will take you to ones a bit further away. I know that no hotel is perfect. But at least this one tries to be. And in today's world, that is nice to see again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David K, Manager at The Commons Hotel, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
TheBradRandy, thank you for your review. We are humbled by your wonderful comments. Thank you for taking the time to recognize the team on a job well done. I hope that when travels send you to Minneapolis again, The Commons Hotel will be your hotel of choice. The team would love to welcome you back. Thank you for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

I stayed at the Commons for a work related trip and was really impressed with the decor, the service, and the overall atmosphere of the hotel. As hotels go, it was pretty awesome- nice, comfy bed, sharp television, nice shampoo and conditioner! I didn't visit the bar/restaurant, so can't comment on that, but the front desk staff was very nice and helpful, and the hotel just felt warm and inviting and had a touch of local flair to it, with the big black and white pictures displayed in the rooms relating to city history. I didn't have to pay for my stay, so I'm sure that didn't hurt, but it was overall a great place. Awesome location as well, right in the middle of campus, and with a bike share at the edge of the block.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David K, Manager at The Commons Hotel, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you for your review, MsAlmostBrown! I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your experience with us. I hope that when travels return you from Raleigh to Minneapolis, you choose our hotel again. On your next visit, I hope you get to enjoy our gastropub, The Beacon Public House. Thank you for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Libertyville, IL
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

In the middle of a weekend stay here at the Commons. Enjoying our stay immensely. Modern decor in lobby and rooms, good comfortable beds and bathroom amenities are good quality. Beacon is rather over priced but cocktail choice is interesting. Only glitch was really overworked housekeeping staff. We left room at 11 and at 4 room not made up yet. For the 79.00 Amazon Local voucher it was a great bargain (included 15 buck daily parking) if we would have paid full price at about 250.00 we would have been disappointed with service. We really like it and will be back but never at what they are asking for... Look for a groupon like deal.

Stayed October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David K, Manager at The Commons Hotel, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Thank you for staying with us. I am glad you took advantage of some of the promotions we had available. We typically always have a promotion running that you can access by calling our reservations department direct. I'm sorry we didn't service your room in a timely manner. Our housekeeping department services our 304 guestrooms from 9am to 5pm on the weekends. We appreciate your comments, and look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Second time at this hotel.

We are visiting our son at UM and doing the twin cities marathon on Sunday.

We tried 5 hotels before in Minneapolis, but it is a done deal now.

It will be Commons.

Rooms are nice, lobby is nice, everything is pefect, localisation good.

On top of that we were welcome this time by Brock that gave us a 5 minutes crash course of the area. Very nice person. His comments were highly appreciated.

We will back again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David K, Manager at The Commons Hotel, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
We are thrilled to be your hotel of choice in Minneapolis! If there is anything we can do to make your return stay even better, please let us know. We can't wait to see you again. Thank you for sharing your experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, NM, USA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

The hotel has recently been renovated, and is noticeably improved. The rooms are clean and comfortable, and the staff are very helpful. The hotel has a decent fitness room, and it appears that guests have access to UMN fitness facility which is nearby. There is a good selection of restaurants within walking distance, and a mini-market directly across the road. The hotel has a complimentary shuttle for trips within a 5 mile radius, which can be very convenient, and there is a light rail station under construction directly in front of the hotel.

Room Tip: My first room on the 8th floor was quite noisy at night, presumably from an A/C unit directly overhe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David K, Manager at The Commons Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thank you for your comments! We do indeed offer access to the newly expanded Health & Wellness center located directly behind the hotel. Hopefully on your next visit, you can take advantage of this extraordinary facility. When travels return you to Minneapolis, we hope to be your first choice hotel. We can't wait to welcome you back. Thank you for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ND
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Our stay was during U of M homecoming so the hotel was extremely busy. But the staff was very accommodating, and were more than willing to answer questions and help out despite the hectic atmosphere. The valet and shuttle drivers were fantastic! Our room was comfortable, but a little dirty behind the chair and tables. Bathroom sink took some work to get the drain to stay open, and the shower drain was very slow. But honestly, your staff seemed top notch, as busy as they were, I would have understood a crack in attitude, but I did not encounter any such instances.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David K, Manager at The Commons Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Football weekends are always an exciting time on campus. I'm delighted to hear that even though you weren't here to cheer on the Gophers, our staff took care of you well. I have passed on your comments to our engineering and housekeeping department to take a look at. Thank you for your business. We hope to see you back real soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Commons Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Commons Hotel

Address: 615 Washington Ave SE, Minneapolis, MN 55414 (Formerly University Hotel Minneapolis)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Minneapolis
#3 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
#5 Green Hotel in Minneapolis
#5 Romantic Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Commons Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Commons Hotel is noted for being the only hotel located on the East Bank of the University of Minnesota, making it the perfect choice for accommodations when visiting the university. The Commons Hotel also offers 20,000 sq. feet of meeting flexible meeting space as well a Full-Service Restaurant and lounge, The Beacon Public House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your The Commons Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Minneapolis
Minneapolis Radisson
Radisson University Hotel Minneapolis

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Commons Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.