We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel improvements are pretty good!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Commons Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Commons Hotel to your Saves list
The Commons Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   615 Washington Ave SE, Minneapolis, MN 55414 (Formerly University Hotel Minneapolis)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20% on rooms
Ranked #2 of 48 Hotels in Minneapolis
GreenLeadersBronze level
Essex
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Hotel improvements are pretty good!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

I last stayed at this hotel 4 years ago when it was a Radisson. It was good enough then but thought it overpriced considering the facilities there are limited, for example, there is no pool. In its latest incarnation, this hotel has improved its look 100%. The entrance is extremely welcoming as are the staff, the catering is limited and we ended up eating next door at Appleby's on our first evening. Do try the cheese and bacon biscuits in the bar; For anyone from the UK, they are really cheese and bacon scones, and they are very nice as are the staff in there!

Beds: comfortable and on the firm side, bathroom: excellent with a walk in shower, we did not try room service on this trip but the wi fi is free, which makes a nice change, although for some reason you only get 15 minutes in the business centre.

I did not use room service. Coming from the UK I object to paying for delivery of a meal, with an additional 21% tip on top, some of which goes to 'administration'. I have never understood why Americans are so generous with their tips, I pay for good service not just any service!

One gripe in an otherwise unblemished stay: one of the towels was badly stained! It had clearly been laundered, but there was a dirty black mark on it as though someone had used it to mop the floor and there is no way the housekeeper could have missed it when she hung it in the shower. Not wanting to get her in trouble, I left it on the ironing board with a note, but returned yesterday evening to find it still there. That is just not on and I reported it to the front desk on checking out this morning.

Finally this hotel is some way from the airport, although they send you details about how to pick up the shuttle downtown if you ask. We never used it because my cousin picked me up at the airport. From next year there will be a train stop right outside the door, which will be perfect!

Once you are there you are within a few seconds walk of the university campus and there is a free shuttle bus to anywhere within 5 miles, which includes the Amtrak station. There are plenty of shops nearby and a Starbucks right next door if you are jet lagged and need an early morning coffee.

Finally, the cost of a room is more than it should be. I made the same comment 4 years ago and nothing has changed. There is no pool, although there is a gym, and there is a great conference facility there. All in all, it is a cool place to stay and I can recommend it despite my 'towel crisis' this week as everything else was spotless, the staff we met were very helpful, especially the guy who came to show us how to use the TV. He then went on and helped us with a few other things and he deserves 5 stars for his kindness!

Room Tip: Don't book 767 as it backs onto the ice machine and you hear it all night! Other than that, our...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David K, Manager at The Commons Hotel, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Thank you for reviewing our hotel again, showcasing the improvements we have made since your last visit! It means the world to the team that you chose our hotel to be your home away from home in the US. We appreciate your feedback, so we can continue on our quest to be the best hotel in Minneapolis. Our rates are dictated by market conditions, and can vary drastically by time of year. If you call us direct, our reservations agents can help find value-added features and other promotions that suit your needs. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    257
    101
    37
    8
    5
See reviews for
93
57
17
181
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Great hotel for us while going through student and parent orientation, conveniently located on the edge of the UMN campus. The staff is always friendly and helpful. At the Beacon restaurant, Natalie was our server - she was prompt, attentive and a joy to have wait on us for dinner.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David K, Manager at The Commons Hotel, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Thank you for dining with us! I am so glad you enjoyed your experience. Natalie is a great team member! I will make sure she receives the recognition she deserves for a job well done. Thank you for your business!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new market
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at The Commons. The decor was inviting and unique! Rooms tidy and comfortable. Nice pillows, too! But what took our stay to the next level was the exceptional service we received from each and every member of staff we encountered. I was warmly greeted by front desk agent Elizabeth whose knowledge of the area proved quite helpful! I would gladly stay here again, and hope to return soon!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David K, Manager at The Commons Hotel, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience here on Trip Advisor. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. Elizabeth is a great asset to our team; I'm glad you were delighted by her personalized attention. I will make sure she receives the appropriate recognition. Thank you again for your business!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

We stayed 5 nights then thinking after that it was too long for such a hotel. For 1-2 nights the hotel would be fine. Rooms and lobby area are nicely decorated, very stylish. But the hotel cis overpriced, too expensive for a quality it provides. It seems clear there is insufficient staff for so large number of rooms, always a line to the reception, you are never sure the shuttle will come on time etc. When we arrived we found that tub water comes in drops, the sink does not evacuate the water, airconditioner produces hardly-affordable noise, one of the light bulbs
in "chandelier" is broken. It took for maintenance crew 2 hours(!) to fix all that and ... there was no free room at the hotel to move. No-one tried to help us, apologized for inconvenience.

Room Tip: There is quite strong noise and even vibration coming from huge air-conditioners in upper floors roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David K, Manager at The Commons Hotel, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Thank you for your candid review. I am truly sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. "Average" is not a word we hear very often when used to describe our property, and the experience we offer. You comments will drive the team to provide even better service and quality when your travels return you to Minneapolis. We hope to be able to welcome you back soon, so we can show you how we usually present our property. Thank you for your comments, and for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edina, Minnesota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

For the past 21 years, Heidi Pemberton has been an outstanding representative of Food and Beverage Service at the Commons Hotel.

Our Medical Research Foundation, IBARS, could not function without her attention to detail.

Bravo, Heidi for a job "Well Done."

Other outstanding performers include: Kim Grant, and Sara Kruger.

W. A. Sullivan, 3rd

Executive Vice President

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David K, Manager at The Commons Hotel, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Thank you for being such a loyal guest of ours. We a truly honored to have you return again, and again. I'm glad you enjoyed your event this year, as much as years previous. We can't wait for your next event! We appreciate your review, and your continued business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

Hotel, restaurant, concierges staff were awesome. Like to thank especially Dan our waiter, Adam, Elizabeth and Thomas at the front desk, and Zac who shuttled us around. These individuals went above and beyond to make our stay flawless.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David K, Manager at The Commons Hotel, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to recognize some of the best staff members in Minneapolis! We love being able to recognize our staff with comments such as yours. Thank you for staying with us. We look forward to being able to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

It's terrific.... completely refurbished. Service is great. Restaurant is great....
I'm just afraid that it will become too popular!
Only negative is that my room was located next to the elevator...aack.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David K, Manager at The Commons Hotel, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank you for being brave and posting your review! I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We will get you away from the elevator next time. We look forward to seeing you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Commons Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Commons Hotel

Address: 615 Washington Ave SE, Minneapolis, MN 55414 (Formerly University Hotel Minneapolis)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Minneapolis
#2 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
#5 Green Hotel in Minneapolis
#7 Romantic Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Commons Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 304
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Commons Hotel is noted for being the only hotel located on the East Bank of the University of Minnesota, making it the perfect choice for accommodations when visiting the university. The Commons Hotel also offers 20,000 sq. feet of meeting flexible meeting space as well a Full-Service Restaurant and lounge, The Beacon Public House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your The Commons Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Minneapolis
Minneapolis Radisson
Radisson University Hotel Minneapolis

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Commons Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.