We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay in University of Minnesota district” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Commons Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Commons Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Commons Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   615 Washington Ave SE, Minneapolis, MN 55414 (Formerly University Hotel Minneapolis)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Up to 20% savings
Ranked #2 of 49 hotels in Minneapolis
GreenLeadersBronze level
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
“Good place to stay in University of Minnesota district”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Nice hotel, friendly staff. Well appointed, clean rooms. Good bar & restaurant on site as well as other choice's nearby. Parking is a little pricing and a bit of a walk depending on what end of lot you are parked at. Parking is not covered. If lot is busy, overflow goes to covered lot across the street ( nicer ) that has enclosed walkway to hotel. Starbucks in lobby is hard to get a cup of coffee in morning , as it is very busy. The room has in room coffee, but only with powdered creamer. The Bar has great Happy Hour deals and food. Loved the different "sliders" and some great imported beers. Downtown is a short distance and only takes a few minutes if you have a car.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David K, Manager at The Commons Hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time out of your day to review us! I am glad you got to enjoy our signature restaurant, The Beacon Public House during your stay. We appreciate your business, and look forward to your next stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    174
    73
    25
    6
    5
See reviews for
67
40
11
123
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

This fantastic hotel is smack in the middle of the U of M campus and is a bit hard to find, but it's well worth it. It's only about 3 miles from downtown Minneapolis so you are just a cab ride away from the Target Center, Target Park the Walker, etc., but the price is a fraction of what you pay at one of the downtown chains, and the service and accomodations are clearly better.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David K, Manager at The Commons Hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
We are glad you found us! Thank you for this great review. I am delighted that you enjoyed our hotel. We hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

I was placed in this Hotel by the Housing Bureau for the recent HITEC conference in June 2013. What a pleasant surprise. My expectations were very low as I was happy to have a room with the city sold-out.

What a fantastic surprise! This hotel was beautifully renovated and the staff were conscientious. My room was well presented, the beds comfortable, and the Wifi was free. I would definitely return.

I will admit, that is it was a $12-15 cab to my conference daily but I enjoyed the location on the University of Minnesota campus. I am a runner and had lots of outdoor options each morning in a very safe neighbourhood. There was even a Jamba Juice across the street for post-run smoothies.

My only negative was the television. As noted in the previous review it did cut in and out. I did not use it after the first day as a result.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David K, Manager at The Commons Hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
The team is glad you really enjoyed your stay! We were happy to be able to host guest from HITEC, and are thankful you took the time to share your experience. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wheaton, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

The staff was fantastic, in particular Beth at the front desk- Beth made our reservations for us, was there for us at check in and after we checked out, we realized we had forgotten something in our room-- Beth recognized who we were immediately and Beth went up to the room, found the item (cell phone charger) and greeted us in the lobby with it! Beth is the best!!!!!

The hotel was clean, up to date, and very nicely decorated. We will be back for sure. First class.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David K, Manager at The Commons Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to recognize our associate, Beth! She is a great member of our team. I will make sure she gets the appropriate recognition! I am so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Clean modern rooms. Lobby has lots of comfortable seating: good for meeting with colleagues and hanging out before late flight. Great location for campus business trip, lovely walking trails across the Mississippi and free admission to Gehry designed campus art museum were unexpected bonuses! Downside: Staff at the front desk lacked knowledge of restaurant options beyond campus which was a little disappointing as I would have liked to explore more of the city.

Room Tip: Rooms away from elevator should be considered for light sleepers as the elevators bings loudly when...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David K, Manager at The Commons Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at The Commons Hotel! I am glad you got to enjoy our newly transformend property, and the unique University venues you mentioned in your review. Next time, make sure to take time to visit the Weisman Art Museum as well as the Bell Museum of Natrual history. Thank you for your suggestions. We will review them at our next front office meeting. We look forward to your return visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

The hotel is nice, it is great if you are visiting the Univ of Minneapolis, however, 4 miles from downtown is not so convenient as the $15-20 cab ride can attest.

The rooms are large, the hotel staff is friendly, and the Applebee's connected to the hotel is great!

The in-house restaurant is a bit overpriced, but the food is good. Go to Applebee's not sure why they even need the rest. with Applebee's next door.

The TV is my only complaint. It constantly "cuts" out. It is Really annoying. If it had not been for the TV the hotel would have gotten a 5! Hope management reads this.

The LG TV itself is great, but the service is -1.

The internet works great!

So enjoy the hotel near the Univ.

Room Tip: Not sure there is a good room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David K, Manager at The Commons Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience here on Trip Advisor. I am glad you found your stay to be nice. Thank you for the candid feedback regarding our restaurant, and television system. The management team takes these comments to heart, and are working on the best long term solution. I hope to see you again during your next visit to Minneapolis. Thank you for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plover, Wi
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

This hotel has come SO far. It has been many years and owner changes since I been here. What a great surprise. I believe this was a Radisson the last ime we were here-yuk! The updates are GREAT!! A couple of negatives- the TV reception is TERRIBLE-goes in and out, I am guessing a dish. At 3:00 am ther was a person walking up and down the hall snapping their fingers, I believe it was the person putting bills under the doors-:-/

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David K, Manager at The Commons Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thank you for your review! The team was so happy to see you recognize how far our property has come. We are working on fine tuning our brand new state of the art TV system; sorry for the poor reception. I hope that you will consider us again when travels return you to Minneapolis. Thank you for your business!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Commons Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Commons Hotel

Address: 615 Washington Ave SE, Minneapolis, MN 55414 (Formerly University Hotel Minneapolis)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
#3 Family Hotel in Minneapolis
#5 Romantic Hotel in Minneapolis
#5 Green Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Commons Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Commons Hotel is noted for being the only hotel located on the East Bank of the University of Minnesota, making it the perfect choice for accommodations when visiting the university. The Commons Hotel also offers 20,000 sq. feet of meeting flexible meeting space as well a Full-Service Restaurant and lounge, The Beacon Public House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your The Commons Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Minneapolis
Minneapolis Radisson
Radisson University Hotel Minneapolis

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Commons Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.