We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really enjoyed this hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Commons Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The Commons Hotel to your Saves list
The Commons Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   615 Washington Ave SE, Minneapolis, MN 55414 (Formerly University Hotel Minneapolis)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20% on rooms
Ranked #2 of 48 Hotels in Minneapolis
GreenLeadersBronze level
Halifax
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Really enjoyed this hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

I was placed in this Hotel by the Housing Bureau for the recent HITEC conference in June 2013. What a pleasant surprise. My expectations were very low as I was happy to have a room with the city sold-out.

What a fantastic surprise! This hotel was beautifully renovated and the staff were conscientious. My room was well presented, the beds comfortable, and the Wifi was free. I would definitely return.

I will admit, that is it was a $12-15 cab to my conference daily but I enjoyed the location on the University of Minnesota campus. I am a runner and had lots of outdoor options each morning in a very safe neighbourhood. There was even a Jamba Juice across the street for post-run smoothies.

My only negative was the television. As noted in the previous review it did cut in and out. I did not use it after the first day as a result.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David K, Manager at The Commons Hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
The team is glad you really enjoyed your stay! We were happy to be able to host guest from HITEC, and are thankful you took the time to share your experience. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    246
    97
    37
    8
    5
See reviews for
89
57
15
174
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Wheaton, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

The staff was fantastic, in particular Beth at the front desk- Beth made our reservations for us, was there for us at check in and after we checked out, we realized we had forgotten something in our room-- Beth recognized who we were immediately and Beth went up to the room, found the item (cell phone charger) and greeted us in the lobby with it! Beth is the best!!!!!

The hotel was clean, up to date, and very nicely decorated. We will be back for sure. First class.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David K, Manager at The Commons Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to recognize our associate, Beth! She is a great member of our team. I will make sure she gets the appropriate recognition! I am so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Clean modern rooms. Lobby has lots of comfortable seating: good for meeting with colleagues and hanging out before late flight. Great location for campus business trip, lovely walking trails across the Mississippi and free admission to Gehry designed campus art museum were unexpected bonuses! Downside: Staff at the front desk lacked knowledge of restaurant options beyond campus which was a little disappointing as I would have liked to explore more of the city.

Room Tip: Rooms away from elevator should be considered for light sleepers as the elevators bings loudly when...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David K, Manager at The Commons Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at The Commons Hotel! I am glad you got to enjoy our newly transformend property, and the unique University venues you mentioned in your review. Next time, make sure to take time to visit the Weisman Art Museum as well as the Bell Museum of Natrual history. Thank you for your suggestions. We will review them at our next front office meeting. We look forward to your return visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

The hotel is nice, it is great if you are visiting the Univ of Minneapolis, however, 4 miles from downtown is not so convenient as the $15-20 cab ride can attest.

The rooms are large, the hotel staff is friendly, and the Applebee's connected to the hotel is great!

The in-house restaurant is a bit overpriced, but the food is good. Go to Applebee's not sure why they even need the rest. with Applebee's next door.

The TV is my only complaint. It constantly "cuts" out. It is Really annoying. If it had not been for the TV the hotel would have gotten a 5! Hope management reads this.

The LG TV itself is great, but the service is -1.

The internet works great!

So enjoy the hotel near the Univ.

Room Tip: Not sure there is a good room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David K, Manager at The Commons Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience here on Trip Advisor. I am glad you found your stay to be nice. Thank you for the candid feedback regarding our restaurant, and television system. The management team takes these comments to heart, and are working on the best long term solution. I hope to see you again during your next visit to Minneapolis. Thank you for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plover, Wi
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

This hotel has come SO far. It has been many years and owner changes since I been here. What a great surprise. I believe this was a Radisson the last ime we were here-yuk! The updates are GREAT!! A couple of negatives- the TV reception is TERRIBLE-goes in and out, I am guessing a dish. At 3:00 am ther was a person walking up and down the hall snapping their fingers, I believe it was the person putting bills under the doors-:-/

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David K, Manager at The Commons Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thank you for your review! The team was so happy to see you recognize how far our property has come. We are working on fine tuning our brand new state of the art TV system; sorry for the poor reception. I hope that you will consider us again when travels return you to Minneapolis. Thank you for your business!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

This was my second stay at The Commons Hotel and it was even better than the first. The renovations of the hotel are complete and it is stunning! Every detail is a delight! The landscaping is so lovely and welcoming. The lobby decor is really cool! The room decor is beautiful and comprable to any 4+ star hotel in Chicago or NYC. The staff could not be friendlier or more helpful. I dined twice at the Beacon restaurant and found the food to be excellent and interesting. And craft cocktails on a college campus? Yes, please! The restaurant staff was very friendly as well (a special shout out to Bethany, who made my solo lunch so very pleasant). My son will be attending the U this fall and I am really excited to have such a great place to call home when I come to visit him over the next four years. Keep up the excellent work!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David K, Manager at The Commons Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thank you for your second stay, and your second review! I am glad you were able to see first hand the work that went into the creation of The Commons Hotel. We can't wait to welcome you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

The hotel is extremely convenient to the University of Minnesota. There is a Starbucks close by.

That said, I would expect true luxury, given the price ($300/night)...and the rooms seem fairly average. A bit small, but nicely furnished. The lobby area is very nicely decorated.

Construction nearby and the university parking situation makes it ideal to valet the car for $25.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David K, Manager at The Commons Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thank you for staying with us, EmilieCPA! I am glad you enjoyed your time in Minneapolis. The team appreciates the time you took to write this review. When travels return you to Minneapolis, I hope that you will consider us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Commons Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Commons Hotel

Address: 615 Washington Ave SE, Minneapolis, MN 55414 (Formerly University Hotel Minneapolis)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Minneapolis
#3 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
#5 Green Hotel in Minneapolis
#6 Romantic Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Commons Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 304
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Commons Hotel is noted for being the only hotel located on the East Bank of the University of Minnesota, making it the perfect choice for accommodations when visiting the university. The Commons Hotel also offers 20,000 sq. feet of meeting flexible meeting space as well a Full-Service Restaurant and lounge, The Beacon Public House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Venere, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Commons Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Minneapolis
Minneapolis Radisson
Radisson University Hotel Minneapolis

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Commons Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.