We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Diamond of Minneapolis Hotels!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Commons Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Commons Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Commons Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   615 Washington Ave SE, Minneapolis, MN 55414 (Formerly University Hotel Minneapolis)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
10% OFF & Free WiFi
Ranked #2 of 49 hotels in Minneapolis
GreenLeadersBronze level
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
“Diamond of Minneapolis Hotels!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

During a 3-day conference held at the commons Hotel, the location, staff and refreshments/food were outstanding. A few comments from conference attendees 'I am highly recommending The Commons to anyone traveling through Minneapolis.' and 'Hotel was the best feature, very accommodating hospitable staff, excellent rooms and venues, food service and restaurant was wonderful.' We are looking forward to working with the Commons Hotel for years to come!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David K, Manager at The Commons Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Wow. Thank you for your review, and for taking the time to recognize the wonderful team we have here. Guests like you make our job worthwhile. We look forward to your next visit with us. If there is anything we can do to make your next stay even more enjoyable, please let me know. See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    163
    66
    24
    6
    5
See reviews for
64
38
10
116
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Nebraska
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

I must have come in after the renovation, as I did not experience any of the construction that earlier reviewers mention. The front desk folks, regardless of time of day or who was on shift, were consistently awesome. Keep up the great work!
Good fitness room. Very welcoming entry /lounge area. Room was well appointed, nice bathroom sink, but think the "rainfall" shower advertised is perhaps a stretch. It is a rain head permanently affixed to a short pipe giving a limited rain effect, but not a big deal. Our air conditioning was not really effective, not sure if it was the unit or the fact that it was the first warm day Minneapolis has had in 2013. Overall a great stay and if you are visiting the University of Minnesota, you cannot beat the location on campus! I will be back!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David K, Manager at The Commons Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thank you for reviewing our hotel! I have passed on your comments to the front desk team, and they were honored to read them. Our air conditioning system has been turned on now, so on your next visit, you can escape the Minnesota heat! We hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta,ga
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

First let's start with the good. Beautiful place. This hotel was redone and the decor in the lobby and your room is "wow". What else is great is a full service Starbucks store that stays open until midnight. You will also like the fact that also have Appleby's attached too.

Hopefully you don't mind being around college kids. This hotel sits in the heart of Univ. of Minnesota. You will see lots of students around but the good news is that attracts other business right outside of the hotel such as Jamba Juice and Brueggars Bagels if you just cannot stand Starbucks.

Now where they could improve:
Beautiful flat screen tvs but they don't always work well. It seems there is a buffering issue where cetain programs appear they are being downloaded. Some will not come on at all. This happened a little bit while I was watching my favorite show Scandal. I am an addict to the show so imagine my frustration after a 3 week hiatus and now the screen is locking up!

Cleaning the room-I was scheduled to check out Friday. Came into my room Thursday night and it had not been touched. I never use the "Do not distrurb" sign. I was ticked! I called housekeeping and the front desk. Offers were made to clean the room but I was going to bed in a few hours so why bother. It's just dissappointing when you are traveling for business to walk into a room that does not have clean towels nor where your garbage was emptied. When I am home, I make my bed everyday. To walk into a room where the bed was in made was just disheartening. Oh well.

Good again-Well appointed workout room. Slept well. No issues with the beds at all. The hotel is also in an area where you can walk outside and feel safe.

Caution-Starbucks can get a little crowded at nite because of college study groups. Might be good just to get your stuff to go and enjoy in your room. During the morning rush, it's not too bad.

I will be visiting them again because the client wants our group to stay here since they have a preferred rate. Hope they at least clean my room during the entire stay next time.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David K, Manager at The Commons Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
I hope you give our property another shot at making it your home away from home in Minneapolis. We are addressing the television issues with our provider to make sure that doesn't happen again. By your next visit, you should see some exciting upgrades on the system, including the ability to order room service right through your TV! We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lebanon, NJ
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Dramatic public spaces and well designed rooms make this hotel worth trying when you are in Minneapolis. My favorite feature is their thick white towels, a real plus. The hotel restaurant is quite good. The staff is friendly. The beds are very comfortable and there are a mixture of foam and feather pillows on each bed. Great idea!
After a three-night visit, I felt a bit disappointed in some aspects of my stay. My room was being serviced by a housekeeper who seemed to leave before everything was done. I travel quite a bit and have never complained about sloppy housekeeping, but twice on this visit I had to speak to the front desk. Please note that the rooms are very clean. I just happened to have a careless housekeeper. A colleague who stayed on a different floor reported excellent housekeeping, however. Our TV service was not working well, but the front desk said it was a provider issue. My room was uncomfortably warm and turning down the thermostat didn't help.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David K, Manager at The Commons Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thanks for sharing your comments! We love our towels, too. They are much larger, and thicker then most hotel towels. Most of our in-room products can also be purchased on our website if you were looking to take some home. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fargo, North Dakota
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

This hotel is consistent with their wonderful customer service! This is our second stay in as many months, and we enjoyed it tons again. The style is so modern and warm and fun, I love to be around all the style! The bedrooms are roomy, new tv's, awesome lighting, super soft towels (a definite plus!) The water pressure on the rainshower head was a little light, but no big deal. The beds are nice and firm, but the pillows we're the best, fluffy i guess i like them firmer!

We asked the bellmen/valet loads of questions throughout our stay and they were always helpful! We took the shuttle to a museum on campus and the driver was funny & helpful as well. There is a Starbucks attached as well as a wonderful restaurant, the Beacon House. The food was delicious and I absolutely recommend it! I was also able to partake in a conference banquet and the staff did a tremendous job there too!

Top notch for the U of M!

Room Tip: We had a view of the new football stadium one visit, dwtn Minneapolis another. Both excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David K, Manager at The Commons Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Thank you for your second review!!! The team was excited to have you stay with us again. If there is anything we can do to make your next stay even better please let me know. We can't wait to see you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, MD
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

I have stayed at this location over the past few years, but this was the first as it has been renamed The Commons. Don't be fooled, this was a total renovation and not just a name change. The rooms are all redone with high end fixtures and furniture.

The hotels is right next to campus with a future light rail line running in front of it. The service at the hotel is exceptional.

The only complaint I had was the TV service was spotty. It looked like it was from a dish, so the screen would freeze for a few seconds every so often.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David K, Manager at The Commons Hotel, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience. I am glad you enjoyed our newly transformed hotel. We did just complete $18 million dollars in upgrades to this property, and are stoked you like it! No area was left untouched! When travels bring you back to Minneapolis, we hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

Anyone who had to stay in the area for the hospital or any reason will be pleased with the newly renovated Commons. Very comfortable accommodations and central location. Getting to hospital so easy and you don't even have to go outside. When light rail is completed, Will be even better.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David K, Manager at The Commons Hotel, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Thank you for your stay, Dekaff, and thank you for making us your first review on Trip Advisor. The team is honored you took the time to share your experience. We are excited for the light rail; there will be a stop steps from our front doors, and will add a convenient way to travel into downtown, and to the airport! You might start to see some trains rolling this summer while they do final testing, but the light rail service should start in 2014. We can't wait to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Commons Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Commons Hotel

Address: 615 Washington Ave SE, Minneapolis, MN 55414 (Formerly University Hotel Minneapolis)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
#4 Family Hotel in Minneapolis
#5 Green Hotel in Minneapolis
#5 Romantic Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Commons Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Commons Hotel is noted for being the only hotel located on the East Bank of the University of Minnesota, making it the perfect choice for accommodations when visiting the university. The Commons Hotel also offers 20,000 sq. feet of meeting flexible meeting space as well a Full-Service Restaurant and lounge, The Beacon Public House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your The Commons Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Minneapolis
Minneapolis Radisson
Radisson University Hotel Minneapolis

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Commons Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.