We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location, location......” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Commons Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Commons Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Commons Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   615 Washington Ave SE, Minneapolis, MN 55414 (Formerly University Hotel Minneapolis)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
10% OFF & Free WiFi
Ranked #2 of 49 hotels in Minneapolis
GreenLeadersBronze level
Rockford, IL
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Location, location, location......”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

This hotel is on the campus of the University of Minnesota. If you have business on campus, you want to check this out as you can park and walk (unless it is winter and then, bundle up). Parking is limited, hard to find, construction is a problem right now. Also, I ran out of hot water in my shower, after, 3-4 minutes. Very frustrating, also, wi-fi did not work right, eventually got it fixed. I would not stay here unless I have campus business.

Room Tip: Ask for a room near elevator, the halls are very long and winding and elevator is not centrally loca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David K, Manager at The Commons Hotel, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Thank you for your recent stay. We do have a unique the location. Not only are we steps from campus, we are steps from restaurants, nightlife, and the river. I hope you had a chance to use our Valet parking; many guests find it a convenient way to not have to navigate the area. Starting next year, we will be steps from the new Light Rail station which will link us directly to Downtown, Mall of America, Target Field, and the Airport. All of the road construction around us has been completed. The construction you see is a pedestrian greenway which will be completed this year. It is sure to add some more vibrancy to our already unique location. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    163
    66
    24
    6
    5
See reviews for
64
38
10
116
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

I used to renovate high end hotels for a living so when I tell you this is one of the coolest hotels I have stayed in I am not making that up. The finishes are very cool. I loved the shower and the bathroom especially. The Lobby was very well designed as well. What impressed me the most though was the service that I received at The Commons. I had a Living Social deal and I of course forgot the coupon. I don't know if you have ever done this before at other locations but it is usually not a pleasant experience. The lady that I dealt with at the front desk was extremely helpful. She went ahead and gave me the voucher for dinner and made a note in my account so everything flowed smoothly the next morning after I had the coupon from my office. The Beacon was very good as well and the staff was conversational and hospitable to the extreme. I would absolutely stay here again if I am anywhere close. Fitness center was equipped with very nice equipment as well.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David K, Manager at The Commons Hotel, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
What a privilege to read your review! Thank you for recognizing the hard work of our associates. They, too were excited to read your review. We look forward to your next visit to Minneapolis. Please contact me directly if there is anything I can do to make your next stay more special. Again, thank you for staying with us, and for sharing your comments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Stayed 3 nights on the 4th floor in a room with 2 double beds. The room is pretty spacious, I loved the curved desk with 2 arm chairs and heaps of bright overhead lighting, it was just perfect for evening work. Usually I find hotels too dark and dingy but the lighting here was great, the whole place was very business friendly with pretty good free wireless, I only had a few drop outs on skype but it wasn't too bad. The room had large cupboards for good storage and they provided heaps of hangers which I greatly appreciated. The bathroom had HEAPS of bench space which was just awesome and the bath amenities were great too. The hot water pressure was good and it was instant, didn't have to wait. The bed was comfortable but the pillows were a little soft for me. I loved that I could open the window for fresh air but the heater was pretty quiet at night if I needed to use it. The only downside is that I was kept awake on both nights by a dude snoring next door, yes it was that loud. Funny enough I never heard any neighboring TVs so maybe the walls aren't thin and this guy just had serious breathing issues.It wouldn't stop me from coming here again. I would definitely recommend the Beacon for dinner, the meal was splendid and the prices were very decent for the higher end quality of the meal, just wish they would turn down the music, it was a bit loud. I had a lovely stay and would recommend it.

Room Tip: I faced the main entrance and there was no noise but I wonder when the new light rail is completed o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David K, Manager at The Commons Hotel, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Thank you for sharing your positive experience regarding our hotel, and our restuarant, The Beacon Public House. If business brings you back to Minneapolis, please contact myslef, or my staff directly so we may provide firmer pillows for you. Thank you for staying with us! My staff is excited for your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elk River, Minnesota, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

My husband and I were guests here for a night after winning a one night stay at a silent auction.

My first impression was that the hotel is gorgeous! Love the decor and modern, yet cozy, feel to the place.

Our room was very nice. Loved the bathroom and the shower. Our cable did not work when we got there, so it took a while for someone to fix it. The gentleman that fixed it was very nice and professional.

We visited the Beacon and were impressed w/ the decor and feel as well. We had the jalapeno popper appetizer and a couple beers and everything was great.

The only complaint I have is that the bed was way too firm for my liking. I am used to a very soft bed, so this was quite a change for me. I'm sure others will enjoy it though.

Overall a great experience.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David K, Manager at The Commons Hotel, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Thank you for staying with us. I'm glad you found our transformation to have created a warm, and cozy place! The staff works hard to create that ambience, and were delighted to read your comments. Thank you again for your business! We look forward to welcoming you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ames, Iowa, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Everything was very nice and clean, and the location was really great for the conference I attended at UMN. It was great having the Starbucks and Applebee's attached. When we had a slight problem with the bathroom lights going on and off, it was remedied quickly.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David K, Manager at The Commons Hotel, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Thank you for choosing The Commons Hotel on your recent visit to Minneapolis. A bigger thank you for sharing your experience here on TripAdvisor! The team appreciates your comments, and we look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coon Rapids, Minnesota, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

This is a beautiful hotel in the heart of the campus! Loved the room and the Beacon restaurant was fabulous! The staff was super accommodating and friendly from the front desk to the restaurant! We will definately go back and enjoyt he laid back yet upscale atmosphere!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David K, Manager at The Commons Hotel, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Thank you for sharing your comments on TripAdvisor! We think you are "Super Cool" for staying with us! We look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Otsego, Minnesota
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

The positives are the decor update, front desk staff and Beacon restaurant. (Loved the Happy Hour) A great improvement over the run down Radisson it was two years ago. What hasn't changed is the excellent location if you are there for U of M activities or medical. The Starbucks and Applebees are attached as well as the parking Ramp off Washington Ave. so great when the weather is not cooperating. We had a King with a pull out couch and when my daughter decided to stay late that night the staff got us the bedding in just a few minutes. They really were very helpful.
What we had issues with have been mentioned in previous reviews with the heat regulation being a real issue. When I went to open the window as turning off the thermostat didn't help the window slammed down on my hand. I did let front desk know the next morning as we checked out but only to caution them of the safety hazard. They were aware of the heat issue and let me know they would notify management. All in all this place is in a prime location and I would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Outside noise was minimal facing the entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David K, Manager at The Commons Hotel, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Thank you for staying with us again! I'm glad you found our transformation to be a positive change, and I'm glad you enjoyed our new restaurant, The Beacon Public House! The team was happy to have you back, and was delighted to read your comments. Thank you for taking the time to share them! The team hopes to welcome you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Commons Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Commons Hotel

Address: 615 Washington Ave SE, Minneapolis, MN 55414 (Formerly University Hotel Minneapolis)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
#4 Family Hotel in Minneapolis
#5 Green Hotel in Minneapolis
#5 Romantic Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Commons Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Commons Hotel is noted for being the only hotel located on the East Bank of the University of Minnesota, making it the perfect choice for accommodations when visiting the university. The Commons Hotel also offers 20,000 sq. feet of meeting flexible meeting space as well a Full-Service Restaurant and lounge, The Beacon Public House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your The Commons Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Minneapolis
Minneapolis Radisson
Radisson University Hotel Minneapolis

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Commons Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.