We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great downtown location with friendly staff and clean rooms.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott Minneapolis City Center

Save Saved
You added Marriott Minneapolis City Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Marriott Minneapolis City Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   30 S 7th St, Minneapolis, MN 55402 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay for Breakfast
Ranked #25 of 48 hotels in Minneapolis
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great downtown location with friendly staff and clean rooms.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We loved this hotel! Location is great. Very close to Target Field and Target Center. The staff was amazing! The rooms were large, comfortable and clean. Prices were very fair for the level of service.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

461 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    165
    185
    72
    26
    13
See reviews for
46
85
44
216
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Schreiber, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Came to the city for a concert, booked the hotel over the phone with credit card, when we arrived hotel staff were not helpful or polite, asked for hotel to be paid in full before even checking into our room. When we arrived in our room there were crackers on the window and our phone wouldn't dial local calls. Hotel staff were 50 % nice and 50 % complete ignorance.Restaurant has awesome breakfast buffet and amazing supper, restaurant staff very friendly, defiantly made up for the lack of compassion in other areas of hotel staff. Very close to concert and other city centers and not bad price but not worth the headache. Will not be staying here again, but may come back for the buffet.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Great location, easy parking, lots to do in the area, very nice staff, excellent concierge lounge, very comfortable room overlooking the ballpark. What more can I say? I had a thoroughly enjoyable stay! Well done, Marriott.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

This is a great Marriott at a great location with great staff.
The hotel is as you expect from any Marriott. What made this a bit different than other Marriott's is the great attitude and demeanor of the staff.
With respect to location, the Nicolette mall is right downstairs with a wide selection of restaurant's and bars.
Overall couldn't have asked for anything better. Good Job.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bountiful
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

I stayed here 2 nights as part of a long road trip with a large tour group. Our room assigned ended up being a handicapped accessible room, which means it was extra spacious! I loved it! (I am seriously considering requesting a handicapped accessible room from now on). The hotel has 31 floors. We were on floor 11 which was considered a "lower" floor. People staying above floor 25 had to scan their cards for access.

PROS:
1. This hotel is located in the heart of downtown with easy access to everything.
2. Only a 2 block walk to the Target Center arena (which we did)
3. Only a 3 block walk to see a Twins baseball game at Target Field (which we did).
4. Next to the Thursday market street and attached to all of the many malls and sky-ways.
5. A short 1 mile jog to the riverfront and to enjoy all the bridges and trails (which I did)
6. Beautifully appointed rooms, comfortable, clean, quiet, 100% classy
7. Fabulous dining and catering services (best catered food ever, and they have delicious steel cut oats for breakfast)
8. Beautiful views
9. Excellent staff that were always very helpful and attentive (when found)

CONS:
1. Not located in a safe neighborhood, and especially not safe at night.
This probably holds true to anywhere in downtown Minneapolis. It is simply not a safe city - especially at night. Period. You MUST be careful. We witnessed two major arrests and a brawl just walking 2 blocks to the Target Store and back again after 10:00 PM. I felt very unsafe and it was very unnerving! One man in our group was physically accosted by a street beggar after walking 2 blocks from the hotel by himself. Our tour leaders urged us NEVER to go out alone especially at night.
2. The city bus stop is located near the entrance to this hotel. This is a CON as it means the sidewalk is always filled with people, mainly low-lifes and smokers that you have to continually walk through in order to go anywhere. We witnessed one man standing with his pants down fully exposing himself in broad daylight. Truly disgusting!
3. Awkward access.
After entering the revolving doors from the street, you must take an elevator to the 4th floor in order to reach the Front Desk and Lobby area, and then you must take a different set of elevators to reach the rooms. I've decided this is designed as a security effort.
4. Empty After Hours
I was up late one night working in the lobby on my laptop (to take advantage of the free Wi-Fi). I had completely lost track of time. At about 2:30 am I was interrupted and approached by a young lady and her gentleman friend (who had obviously had way too much to drink). They had come in off of the street and wanted to get a room for the night. I motioned them toward the Front Desk, but then realized there WAS NO ONE at the front desk, and in fact, the front desk was completely shut down. During the day, it shines a "Front Desk" projection on the wall, but now it was turned off, and the area was closed up. There was no one around. At all. Anywhere. It was very eerie. The girl complained and said 'Hey, I thought all hotels were always 24 hour!" I had to agree with her. Aren't they?!? It was simply creepy to realize I had been sitting there in a completely empty, closed-up lobby. Eventually, she was able to locate a person down the hall. I don't know what was discussed, but the girl and the guy left without getting a room. Once again, I was sitting there all alone and I suddenly felt unsafe and went back to my room.

I don't know what this hotel charges since it was part of my tour package. I imagine that it must be a bit pricey because it is a very nice hotel. If you have to stay in downtown Minneapolis, I can't think of a nicer place and I would highly recommend it. Just be careful. It's a jungle out there.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, Minnesota
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

I had to attend a 4 day training conference in Mpls this week which is only 25 miles from my home. But because of the grueling schedule it was advised that I stay at the hotel instead of commute. As I travel fairly extensively for business, I was definitely NOT looking forward being away from my own bed. But I must say that while the conference was extremely grueling, the hotel and its staff were some of the best I have ever experience. The room was clean and comfortable and every single employee that I encountered were pleasant, engaging and truly provided comfort and relief from the stress and strain of the conference. I have been to many Marriotts around the country and this one stands out from all of them. It's a shame I can't take them with me when I have travel away from home. Great job!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

I I spend 5 days a week, apx 50 weeks a year at Marriott properties all over the country and there is not a single one better than this one. From the very large and comfortable rooms to the amazing staff and Management team, this property has it all! Anthony Stewart-Moore the General Manager has done a great job in the two years since he arrived. The concierge lounge is better than the Ritz !! You will love the way your treated!! I always look forward to returning. You will love everyone from George at the front door to all the housekeeping staff. Great Internet too!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott Minneapolis City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Minneapolis City Center

Address: 30 S 7th St, Minneapolis, MN 55402
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
#20 Romantic Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott Minneapolis City Center 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Minneapolis Marriott City Center - in the center of it all! Experience style and service at the Minneapolis Marriott City Center, just 1.5 blocks from Target Center in the heart of downtown Minneapolis. Connected to Macy's via skywalk access, one block from Gavidae Commons, half-block from the Nicollet Mall, and adjacent to City Center Shops, ideal for your next night on the town. Whether you’re looking for a romantic weekend getaway, a place to grab a quick bite to each before the game, or a happening bar offering game day specials, an outdoor terrace and 12 flat screen TVs, we have everything you need to celebrate, no matter the occasion. Make yourself at home in over 500 guest rooms, many with stunning views of the city skyline and enjoy one of our weekend packages complete with breakfast, Internet or late check-out. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Travelocity, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, getaroom.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Marriott Minneapolis City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Minneapolis City Hotel Minneapolis
Minneapolis Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott Minneapolis City Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.