We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Minneapolis Marriott City Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Minneapolis Marriott City Center to your Saves list
Minneapolis Marriott City Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   30 S 7th St, Minneapolis, MN 55402 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Romantic Weekend Getaway
Ranked #25 of 47 Hotels in Minneapolis
Twinsburg, Ohio
Top Contributor
221 reviews 221 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

I spend about 8-10 nights a year in Minneapolis hotels. Minneapolis is a great hotel town and the Marriott Minneapolis City Center Hotel is up there with the best of them.

I was dropped off by taxi to what appeared to be an unusual entrance for a Marriott --- just a foyer with a flashy set of elevators. It is not so easy to see that the hotel registration is on the 5th Floor but once getting there there is a large open room that houses the registration and dining areas. The rooms were a touch above the standard Marriott grade --- and the bedding was luxurious (I have found the high-quality linens are not always used. The room and bathroom were larger than average. The water pressure in the shower was strong with a fancy large head. The Concierge Lounge was perfectly run and a perfect spot for a morning meeting with colleagues. The selection of food seemed more extensive; in addition to the usual breads, danish, eggs and meat there was smoked salmon with all the fixings and a special healthy egg-white veggie dish. The staff let us continue our meeting for several hours after the breakfast finished, which was much appreciated. Overall excellent experience at this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

551 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    197
    225
    83
    30
    16
See reviews for
53
111
46
256
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pasadena, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Hotel was very confortable. Just what you expect from a Marriott in the city. Nothing flashy, but overall very comfortable. Staff was friendly, room was clean. Breakfast was pretty good, with a fairly decent buffet selection. Parking is kind of a hassle, but that is not uncommon for a downtown hotel

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Onalaska, Wisconsin, United States
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We made a reservation here for a double room a few months ago. About 4 days before our reservation I received an email saying that they didn't have a double available anymore. We called specifically to get 2 beds, which we reserved over the phone. To the Marriott's credit they did say it wasn't guaranteed but THIS disclaimer was only presented on the confirmation email we received after booking the room. They were gracious enough to offer us a queen bed with a roll away bed for an extra $15 a night. Now with the premium price that we payed for the room you would think they would at least comp the roll away bed. I'm sure the room was very nice but we instead canceled our visit and booked a room at another hotel in the area for 1/2 the price. Overall very unhappy with their customer service. If you know that you don't have the room let the customer know more than 4 days ahead of time, and mention the disclaimer over the phone.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I have stayed several times over the years and I am always impressed with the staff. The rooms are clean, quiet standard Marriott fare. I have come back to the hotel at 2PM and at 2AM, every time there is a staff member to greet me at the door and wish me a good day or good night.

Room Tip: see if you can get "up graded" to a corner room. Great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed at this hotel overnight and found it to be very pleasant. It's close to everything downtown. They don't have free wifi in your room. You could pay for it. However, you can get free wifi in the lobby and bar area.

The room was very clean; the linen was fresh.

We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Ansgar, Iowa
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This hotel is a great place to stay whether you are doing activities downtown or headed to the Mall of America. It is only 3 blocks to the nearest light rail station. $1.75 gets you to the Mall of America. It has access to most downtown places by skyway if the weather requires. But walking the downtown streets in Minneapolis in nice weather is the way to go. Room rates are average and the rooms are nice. The valet and conceriege were very helpful. We had a great stay for a girls weekend with adjoining rooms.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saint paul
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I've stayed at this hotel multiple times when commuting to minneapolis. I'd always stayed during the week. My husband and I decided to stay over for a weekend night and wow, what a different hotel. I should have known to be more wary when asked to sign a no party waiver at check in. Room was great. High floor, corner unit, great view. Came back to room around midnight. At 340 am, the party started in the room next to ours. The walls are so thin that we could literally hear every word to the music and every swear word the occupants used..We called security - who did come up immediately, but while looking out the peephole, I noticed two people passed out in the hallway. Literally, passed out in the hallway. It seems to be a great biz hotel - always meets needs, but I'll never stay on a weekend again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Minneapolis Marriott City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Minneapolis Marriott City Center

Address: 30 S 7th St, Minneapolis, MN 55402
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
#18 Romantic Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Minneapolis Marriott City Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 583
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Minneapolis Marriott City Center - in the center of it all! Experience style and service at the Minneapolis Marriott City Center, just 1.5 blocks from Target Center in the heart of downtown Minneapolis. Connected to Macy's via skywalk access, one block from Gavidae Commons, half-block from the Nicollet Mall, and adjacent to City Center Shops, ideal for your next night on the town. Whether you're looking for a romantic weekend getaway, a place to grab a quick bite to eat before the game, or a happening bar offering game day specials, an outdoor terrace and 12 flat screen TVs, we have everything you need to celebrate, no matter the occasion. Make yourself at home in over 500 guest rooms, many with stunning views of the city skyline and enjoy one of our weekend packages complete with breakfast, Internet or late check-out. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo, BookIt.com and Marriott so you can book your Minneapolis Marriott City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Minneapolis City Hotel Minneapolis
Minneapolis Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Minneapolis Marriott City Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.