We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for downtown hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Minneapolis Marriott City Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Minneapolis Marriott City Center to your Saves list
Minneapolis Marriott City Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   30 S 7th St, Minneapolis, MN 55402 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Holiday Gift for You
Ranked #23 of 48 Hotels in Minneapolis
Twin Cities, MN
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Good value for downtown hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

My friends and I stayed here this past Saturday night. The hotel is a great choice if you are looking for an "inexpensive" place with a great downtown location.

The rooms and beds are really nice. Like I said, location to many bars, restaurants, Target Field and Target Center. Plus with the connecting skyway, it makes for easy winter walking :)

The staff and concierage are great and friendly. The hotel even let us check in early. The negatives would be that there is no swimming pool and no free breakfast and the hotel setup seems like a bit of a maze and can be confusing at times. But all in all, if I just needed a place to stay downtown, tough to beat the price of the hotel compared to others in the area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

507 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    209
    75
    27
    14
See reviews for
48
100
46
235
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eau Claire, Wisconsin, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

My husband and I stayed here on February 23, 2013, what a delightful hotel! The colors are bright and cheery, the bed was very comfortable, as was the room. Staff were helpful and accomodating. We were on the 26th floor and the view of downtown Mpls was amazing. We enjoyed the breakfast buffet, there was an excellent selection of food (wait to eat until after 10:30 am if you want a bloody Mary though!). Overall, we were very pleased with our weekend get-away. I would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Choose a higher floor to enjoy the view of downtown Mpls.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Recently we stayed at this property and the service and staff are excellent. The location is dynamite- right in the center of things. We had a corporate event. The food was perfect. Our steaks were prepared perfectly to order, so tender we could cut them with a butter knife and impeccably seasoned. We stayed in a Bi-level suite, fabulous view over MPLS. I would have gave 5 stars, but the property has no pool, no hotub and no whirlpools in the rooms.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Has everything you expect from a "downtown" Marriott hotel - clean modern rooms, big lobby with a nice bar/restaurant area, and friendly staff. Gets thumbs up for having a lot of plugs for my gadgets/computers. Only minor complaint is the water pressure; a nice strong shower can be so hard to find in a "high rise" hotel. All in all, good value for the money and nice place to stay in Minneapolis.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owatonna, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

I was here with some student council friends for a convention. I am a hard critic of places. My friends compare me to Robert Irvine or Anthony Malchourri. This is a very nice hotel with nice upgrades. It felt very clean and safe. As for complaints I have a couple. The hotel was very loud however I understand that it is downtown so that's OK. The beds seemed old but were still comfortable. As for my room inspection I inspected two. #1202 and #1220. #1220 looked FANTASTIC. #1202 needed a little deeper clean but still looked good. 1202 needs a bathroom vent cleaning, a little more under the bed and the sink had a crack. Still a very nice hotel that I would recommend to anyone in MSP.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Moody
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

I spent 3 nights here from January22-25. Location was convenient and connected to the skyway system so I did not have to walk outside to get to my destination (very handy given it was a bitterly cold week there) but the food was not great and room service was VERY EXPENSIVE. My breakfast fruit plate and coffee downstairs at their restaurant was 25.00 and two of my room service dinners came to over $50, for a cup of soup and salmon and veggies. And several mistakes were made on the order each night. Food was bland and flavourless. My room,411, had an overwhelming odour of fried food during the evenings but went away by 10 or 11pm. Also, wifi was over 16.00 per night- normally included at most Marriotts I have stayed at, so add that to their exorbitant prices. As a former road warrior who put over 250,000 miles each year, globally, and a longtime Marriott patron (my honeymoon was completely on points at the wonderful Marriott in Kauai) , this was a disappointment, to say the least. I will look elsewhere in March for my next visit to Minneapolis. On the plus side, the people in Minneapolis in general are simply wonderful. Maybe it is because they have to huddle together for warmth, but it brought me back to my childhood in Edmonton. It is a terrific city.

Room Tip: Avoid 411 for the smell at night. Perhaps a higher room would not be as bad.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here on a couples weekend. Stayed in a wonderful executive floor corner suite. What a great view of the city. Comfortable clean bed, nice television, front desk friendly and helpful. My only criticism is the parking situation. It is the most complicated parking and then getting to the front desk process. They have valet, but the price difference justifies parking yourself. All considered it is a nice Marriott with nice rooms.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Minneapolis Marriott City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Minneapolis Marriott City Center

Address: 30 S 7th St, Minneapolis, MN 55402
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Minneapolis
#16 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Minneapolis Marriott City Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 583
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Minneapolis Marriott City Center - in the center of it all! Experience style and service at the Minneapolis Marriott City Center, just 1.5 blocks from Target Center in the heart of downtown Minneapolis. Connected to Macy's via skywalk access, one block from Gavidae Commons, half-block from the Nicollet Mall, and adjacent to City Center Shops, ideal for your next night on the town. Whether you're looking for a romantic weekend getaway, a place to grab a quick bite to eat before the game, or a happening bar offering game day specials, an outdoor terrace and 12 flat screen TVs, we have everything you need to celebrate, no matter the occasion. Make yourself at home in over 500 guest rooms, many with stunning views of the city skyline and enjoy one of our weekend packages complete with breakfast, Internet or late check-out. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Minneapolis Marriott City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Minneapolis City Hotel Minneapolis
Minneapolis Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Minneapolis Marriott City Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.