We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, except for the elevators” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott Minneapolis City Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Marriott Minneapolis City Center to your Saves list
Marriott Minneapolis City Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   30 S 7th St, Minneapolis, MN 55402 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Up To 25,000 Points
Ranked #23 of 48 Hotels in Minneapolis
U.S.
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, except for the elevators”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

I stayed in a two-level room in a corner, which was very unique. It was on the top floor 31/32, so the view was excellent. The concierge lounge was easily above average, though closed on weekends. A strength is the staff, who are generally very polished and friendly (especially the doorman). There are plenty of restaurants nearby, although a large percentage are closed on the weekends.

The hotel is on the skyway, which is very convenient in the winter months (if you don't get lost, as I did..numerous times). On the street level is usually a large crowd of people, apparently waiting for the bus to the poorer part of town. The racial mix was odd in that there was little 'mix' in the mix. The person walking with me was scared, though I wasn't and I had no problems, other than zigzagging through a crowd. Anyway, you can just take the skyway if you like.

At present, they appear to be working on the elevators, which caused waits of between 1-10 minutes. They have a sign saying that you should budget in several extra minutes to get downstairs. Warning or not, it's a bit of a (temporary) nuisance. Also, whenever the heating came on, there was a noticeable pop/hiss that startled me a few times. So there were a few blemishes, but overall it was still a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

487 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    198
    75
    27
    14
See reviews for
47
93
45
227
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

I stayed at the Marriott City Center for two nights in early November. This was my third time staying at this hotel in the past three years. The hotel itself is very nice. The rooms are comfortable. The staff is great. I had two issues I would point out. First, you need to sign a statement recognizing that this hotel is not for partying... Being a person who enjoys a very quiet hotel this unnerved me a bit and made me wonder if they have a problem with people using the hotel as a partying location. That being said, I have never heard noise from other rooms while staying at this hotel. I did see many groups of young people in the lobby and elevators, but never heard anyone once in my room. My second issue would be the parking. You have to park half a block away and then can walk through an indoor shopping center to get the hotel. Then you take an elevator to the lobby and switch to another set of elevators to get to the rooms. This isn't a huge deal for us because we are young, in good health, and not in a hurry. But it did make me wonder if this would be an issue for some others. I do expect that this is probably a common theme for all the hotels downtown. Overall, I really like this hotel and would definitely return/recommend it. I would stay here again, but only if I wanted to be downtown (due to the hassle/amount of time to get from your car to your room).

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

It is conveniently located in the busy shopping district, the staff was very friendly and helpful, and the bed was great.The breakfast buffet was overpriced but good and the service excellent; luckily there were plenty of other places to eat close to the hotel. I did not have an issue with the elevators but the pillows were too soft and drove me nuts. Otherwise, I would recommend this hotel and would certainty revisits!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, Michigan
Top Contributor
178 reviews 178 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

I spent 4 days here for a conference. The rooms are very nice. Clean. Beds were comfortable. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The restaurant was very good. The breakfast buffet had a lot of choice include fresh made egg dishes.
The elevator situation is not great, but most high rise hotels when crowded with a conference or two have wait times for elevators. They are currently modernizing the elevator cabs. My wait was never more than two minutes.

Room Tip: Get a room away from the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Upon first look, this hotel looks like it's been updated to modern standards. However, whoever did the update cut a lot of corners. The room on the 12th floor was modern and spacious but the ventilation was outdated and probably hasn't been dusted in 10 years. Additionally, I found a box of half eaten popcorn behind the curtain on the window sill. That along with the chunks of mold in the shower and the noticeable leak in the bathroom ceiling caused me to rate this hotel poor. I think with some TLC, maybe some new housekeepers, this could be a decent property. Until then, stay clear.

Room Tip: Go to a high floor. Why as a Platinum Elite member, I was stuck on the 12th floor is beside me.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I waited, no joke, 5 minutes for the elevator. The lady who was at the elevator when I showed up said that she had already been there for 10 minutes. There was a sign on the floor that said the elevators were undergoing refurbishment, but that would have been nice to know before booking and 15 minutes for an elevator is entirely unacceptable.

I had a corner suite. It was actually kind of cool. The building is shaped like a triangle which results in a unique room layout. However, it is the typical business travelers' hotel and is fine for what it is.

Room Tip: The corner suite was spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iron Mountain, Michigan
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Spent time here during a weekend conference. Clean room, comfortable (except the bed was pure mush), and a very convenient location. Anyone who has every navigated downtown Minneapolis or St.Paul, MN. is familiar with the elevated walkway connections between many of the buildings. Marriott City Center is no exception. Well connected to restaurants, coffee shops and shopping without ever going outside. I will say this however, the maps are not the easiest to understand. Maps really need to be updated or corrected as we frequently needed to "experiment" on which way to go. (the hotel has nothing to do with this though) And, as another review stated, a bit strange to enter the building and take the elevator to the hotel lobby. At the same time it was nice to separate the shuttle crowd from the hotel lobby.
As another reviewer already commented, we too were there on the weekend of the Madonna concert (did not attend) but certainly "heard" the hall noise from the many teenyboppers. And it did cross my mind that this hotel is willing to overlook guest infractions for the sake of revenue. It would be nice, in my opinion, if guest reservations would separate the party crown from business guests by at least a couple floors.
The clerks were friendly and the concierge was very helpful and knowledgeable.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott Minneapolis City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Minneapolis City Center

Address: 30 S 7th St, Minneapolis, MN 55402
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Minneapolis
#16 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott Minneapolis City Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 583
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Minneapolis Marriott City Center - in the center of it all! Experience style and service at the Minneapolis Marriott City Center, just 1.5 blocks from Target Center in the heart of downtown Minneapolis. Connected to Macy's via skywalk access, one block from Gavidae Commons, half-block from the Nicollet Mall, and adjacent to City Center Shops, ideal for your next night on the town. Whether you’re looking for a romantic weekend getaway, a place to grab a quick bite to each before the game, or a happening bar offering game day specials, an outdoor terrace and 12 flat screen TVs, we have everything you need to celebrate, no matter the occasion. Make yourself at home in over 500 guest rooms, many with stunning views of the city skyline and enjoy one of our weekend packages complete with breakfast, Internet or late check-out. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Marriott Minneapolis City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Minneapolis City Hotel Minneapolis
Minneapolis Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott Minneapolis City Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.