We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service; excellent location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Minneapolis Marriott City Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Minneapolis Marriott City Center to your Saves list
Minneapolis Marriott City Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   30 S 7th St, Minneapolis, MN 55402 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Holiday Gift for You
Ranked #23 of 48 Hotels in Minneapolis
Cypress, Texas
Top Contributor
186 reviews 186 reviews
128 hotel reviews
Reviews in 127 cities Reviews in 127 cities
220 helpful votes 220 helpful votes
“Excellent service; excellent location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

I stayed at the Marriott Minneapolis City Center for two nights in late August. I am a Marriott Rewards Elite member and was staying on rewards points. The hotel was very crowded due both to an American Legion convention in town and the Minnesota Twins hosting the Detroit Tigers.

Despite the crowded / busy nature of the weekend stay, I was very impressed both with my room and especially with the service I received while at the hotel.

Service - EVERYONE I spoke was very friendly, polite, and helpful and most of them were even enthusiastic. The staff here really seem to care. This comment by the way applies to everyone I dealt with - housekeeping, restaurant, desk, lobby store, bellcaps - everyone.

Room - I was given room 2423 - a triangular "corner" room facing both north over Target Center and Target Field, and facing south over the central business district and Nicollet Mall. The room is extremely spacious. The room also reflects modern needs, with plenty of plugs, and hook ups. I had a bit of trouble on the first afternoon getting an internet connection, but beyond that I had no problems with both wired (laptop) and wireless (ipod touch) connections. The only negative observations about the room were that the counter in the bathroom is a bit small and that there is some street noise from the Hennepin Ave / Warehouse entertainment district at night. However, closing the blinds and turning on the fan to "high" limited the noise such that I was not kept awake. The room also featured an RGB monitor cable to hook your PC up to the TV, although with typical hotel internet speeds, streaming something over the internet may be frustrating (I did not try). Another plus - an ice machine within 20 feet of the room! A vanishing nicety in modern full service hotels.

Restaurant - despite being very busy both mornings at breakfast, the staff was polite and very helpful and efficient.

Location - ideal. The hotel is connected to the skyway system (I did not use it in August, but I imagine it comes in handy in February). The hotel is a block from Nicollet Mall, with plenty of shopping and dining options. The hotel is one and a half blocks from Target Center and two and a half blocks from Target Field. The hotel is near the Hennepin / Warehouse entertainment district. The hotel is also near plenty of public transportation options - I took the Hiawatha Light Rail from MSP to the hotel and it is an easy two block walk from either the Nicollet or Hennepin stops. I also used the 6E bus from a stop a block from the hotel to go out to Lake Harriet for a morning walk. There are plenty of other bus options nearby as well.

In summary, the location was ideal and the service was tops!

Room Tip: Try for a triangular shaped corner room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    202
    75
    27
    14
See reviews for
47
97
45
230
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

This Marriott was a beautiful hotel. It's located wonderfully next to Seven (a popular sushi & steakhouse with a fun rooftop bar), blocks from the light rail, walking distance to Target and many, many shops and restaurants and the downtown businesses and government offices. The Mississippi River is about 6 blocks away and once there, you can walk a few more blocks to the historic mill ruins and see the waterfall on the Mississippi. The light rail stop to the Mall of America is about 3 short blocks away.

The hotel is also connected the city's famous skywalks so if you're there in the winter or a bad summer, you never have to step outside. The staff are courteous and professional. There is a full restaurant and a separate full lounge/bar in the lobby. One night after our meetings, we asked the bar staff where was a good place to go (they were closing) and the staff told us what clubs to see and what to avoid and even offered to show us around). I was very taken aback by the midwest hospitality. Every hotel employee displayed it. I would stay here again if I needed to go back to Minneapolis.

The ballrooms provided wonderful meeting space for our conference and they are on a separate floor to provide privacy. There was 2 other conferences going on at the same time and we only ran into the other conference attendees in the lobby so we didn't have to worry about non-attendees wondering into our meetings, eating the food, etc.

The hotel is a great business hotel and a beautiful place to take a vacation in the area.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mapleton, IA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights while in town for a wedding. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The rooms were new looking, beds very comfy and the view AMAZING! Very clean and homey cant wait to come back just to stay again!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011 via mobile

We stayed here while in town for some Twins games and we couldn't have chosen a better hotel for the location and the price. Appearance of a 5 star hotel lobby, rooms were clean, easily air conditioned, and beds were comfortable. Short walk to the rail system to take us to the Mall of America, park, or Vikings stadium. Safe and clean, and a 5 minute straight walk to Target Field.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Falls, SD
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

Booked a double room for the night of the American Idols Live concert. Upon arrival about 5pm I was told that we had been upgraded to a jr. executive suite with panoramic views. Oh-- and that this room had just one king bed and a couch. Hmmm... but the thing is we were two women spending $450/night each expecting our own bed. My friend was more gracious than I so we accepted the "upgrade" and proceeded to the "Suite". Well, the view was fine but the bathroom was so small it was uncomfortable. No full length mirror in the entire suite, no refrigerator. King size bed was comfortable and my friend did not complain about sleeping on the couch but for $450 it really was a joke. Luckily we both had a pretty good sense of humor.

Room Tip: Don't assume that what you booked is going to be what you get
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okoboji, Iowa
Top Contributor
230 reviews 230 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

We have stayed here many times on Minneapolis trips. It is right downtown a half block off of the mall and a couple blocks from Target Field. We usually get a room with a view and the view is terrific of the Minneapolis skyline. Many good restaurants are nearby and the hotel itself has a nice bar and lounge. Service is excellent as you would expect in a downtown Marriott.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room which gives you a great view in two directions.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011

Over a lengthy tournament weekend, our team was assigned to stay at this hotel. While there are many nice hotels in walking distance of the Convention Center, this one is a little extra hike and is much more suited for business travelers. There is no free Wi-Fi, no free breakfast, no in-room frigs or microwaves, no in-house laundry, no pool. Parking is expensive, and not exactly convenient. You have to take three elevators to go from parking to the hotel room floors. The staff was impatient with the questions families had; not exactly rude, but a little put out by the number of families with kids. The rooms are fine, clean, just adequate.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Minneapolis Marriott City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Minneapolis Marriott City Center

Address: 30 S 7th St, Minneapolis, MN 55402
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Minneapolis
#18 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Minneapolis Marriott City Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 583
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Minneapolis Marriott City Center - in the center of it all! Experience style and service at the Minneapolis Marriott City Center, just 1.5 blocks from Target Center in the heart of downtown Minneapolis. Connected to Macy's via skywalk access, one block from Gavidae Commons, half-block from the Nicollet Mall, and adjacent to City Center Shops, ideal for your next night on the town. Whether you're looking for a romantic weekend getaway, a place to grab a quick bite to eat before the game, or a happening bar offering game day specials, an outdoor terrace and 12 flat screen TVs, we have everything you need to celebrate, no matter the occasion. Make yourself at home in over 500 guest rooms, many with stunning views of the city skyline and enjoy one of our weekend packages complete with breakfast, Internet or late check-out. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Marriott, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Minneapolis Marriott City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Minneapolis City Hotel Minneapolis
Minneapolis Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Minneapolis Marriott City Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.