We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Notch Service, Fantastic Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Minneapolis

Save Saved
You added Hyatt Regency Minneapolis to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Minneapolis
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1300 Nicollet Mall, Minneapolis, MN 55403   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Stay More, Save More
Ranked #10 of 49 hotels in Minneapolis
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
“Top Notch Service, Fantastic Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

I travel to Minneapolis weekly for work. This hotel never fails to disappoint. I can confidently say, the service at this hotel is the best I have ever seen anywhere. From check-in, to the Market, to the room keeping, to the Regency Club, to the management...everyone is extremely professional, courteous, and understanding. The gym is massive, and I mean massive...full basketball court, tons of equipment, free weights, pools, and space to stretch.

There is a beautiful new lobby, new restaurant, and newly renovated rooms. The hotel is centrally located. You really can't beat it.

I have stayed at numerous hotels in Minneapolis, and will never stay anywhere else. Thank you again.

Room Tip: Every room is newly renovated. I have never stayed in a "bad" room. Super fast elevators...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark B, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Minneapolis, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Wow! We're blushing! Thank you for the fantastic review and for the loyalty to the property! I am thrilled the team is making this a home away from home for you. Please do let me know if I can ever be assistance to you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

453 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    192
    187
    47
    21
    6
See reviews for
45
88
14
221
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

I had a great experience in this hotel. You should definitely try the breakfast buffet ! The staff is more than welcome to help guests and they are very friendly! Also the hotel has a full-equipped gym and if you don't want to skip your workouts during your vacation, you will be happy in this place. I highly recommend this hotel !

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark B, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Minneapolis, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review all the way from Germany! The gym is pretty special and glad to know you found the team so accommodating. I am certainly proud of the associates here! Come back and see us again when you return to Minnesota!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

The renovated Hyatt is beautiful and well appointed. Love the lobby area with comfy seating and amazing gas contemporary fireplace. Bar/restuarant was excellent and a great place to have apps. and drinks before going out. The room....very well done, however, the bathroom did not have a magnified mirror. Lighting was excellent in the bathroom. The luggage stand was broken, however, it still held my small carryon. Security was very tight which was nice for New Year's Eve. You couldn't go to the bank of elevators without an ID and room key. Great idea. It's only a $5 taxi ride to the Living Room at the W. Plenty of cabs out front. Overall service was fabulous. Would stay again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark B, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Minneapolis, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
So glad you were able to join us for New Year's Eve and had a great experience! Thrilled that you understood and appreciated the additional security. Our number one priority is to keep our guests safe and secure. Thrilled you loved the lobby and bar and come see us for your next 'staycation'!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oconomowoc, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

Some friends and I stayed in November for a weekend getaway in the city. The hotel was in a very convenient location. Plenty of sites to see and places to go within walking distance. Great value for the price, all staff was very helpful and friendly. Myself and one of my friends are hotel managers and we were both very impressed with the accommodations. Rooms are clean and had a great view. The only thing we didn't enjoy was the pool. It was not very tranquil (for such an upscale property), and there was no hot tub. We would certainly return in the future.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark B, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Minneapolis, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Thank you for the review! Love the positive feedback, especially from a fellow industry professional! Glad you found the room to your liking and the staff friendly and helpful. As you know, the pool area is inside and we are currently looking at ways to make it a better experience. Appreciate the feedback and I welcome any suggestions at mark.becker@hyatt.com. Come back and see us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

My wife and I stayed here for New Years Eve. Finally got a room from priceline for $85 plus fees, total was $105.
When we arrived there was a pretty long line to check in, understandable though for being New Years Eve. The staff was really helpful & friendly. We got a king size bed on the 20th floor & had a nice view. There was extra security because of New Years Eve & we need to register friends before they were able to come up to our room. Total of 4 people allowed in the room.
Overall our stay was really nice. Location is right at the end of Nicolette Ave with connected skyway to downtown Minneapolis. I was surprised though that we had to pay $17 per day to park in the connected ramp, pay for internet (free in the lobby not the room), no breakfast was included & no hot tub. Many amenities that are included in 3 star hotels.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark B, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Minneapolis, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Thank you for taking the timr to review! So glad you had a great experience. Appreciate your understanding the need for additional security measures on New Year's Eve. We certainly wanted to make sure the evening was safe and enjoyable for all. Understand the comment regarding parking. We do not own the ramp and the overnight fee is pretty common anong the hotels downtown. We do hope you plan on a return visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

I stayed at the Hyatt Regency MSP on a weekly basis for about 7 months. The staff and property were top notch from day 1. The staff always went out of their way to make me feel very comfortable.

The location is excellent for sight seeing, shopping, and dining. The rooms are nicely furnished. The gym is amazing. The Regency Club was being remolded when I left, but it was nice and now has extended hours. The restaurant is nice and has a decent selection, but may be pricey for some guests.

I can't say enough about the staff. They solicited feedback from me and my workmates, and made changes. Nina (sales) always did a great job of keeping contact and making sure I was comfortable. Seth (front-desk) always made sure I had whatever room accommodations that I needed. The real gem of the staff though is Kirk, the head concierge. Kirk always made sure that I was in the know about restaurants, running trails, parks, events, etc. He has even gone out of his way to help me with stays at other Hyatt properties.

I thoroughly enjoyed my time at the Hyatt Regency MSP and highly recommend it to anyone planning on staying in Minneapolis.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark B, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Minneapolis, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Thank you for the great review John! We look forward to seeing you back many, many times! Kirk is a trmendous asset to the property and does such a great job in our Regency Club. You must come back for some leisure time! Let me know when you do so that we can show you some fun things to do when you aren't working! See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

This hotel was awesome. We had a group reservation of 6 rooms. Let me just say the hotel was extremely accommodating and was able to get our groups rooms all onto 1 floor.
***My only complaint was that the hotel didn't give my friend a key or contact any of the names on the reservation forcing my friend to check into his own hotel room when he was forced to retire early for the night on the 28th. This ended up costing him quite a bit of money***

Pros:

-The Fitness area is 2nd to none!
-The Staff at the hotel has great knowledge of the area and is 100% professional at all times regardless of the circumstances. (The Detroit Lions stayed at the hotel on Saturday Night and didn't know any difference)
-The Rooms were clean and well kept with 2 HUGE Queen size beds in our rooms
-- The bathroom was very clean and the shower had instant hot water (a huge plus)
- The Lobby area and hallways were clean and were designed quite intelligently

I'm not sure if I met you Mark but I will be passing on your hotel to all my friends that come down to travel from Thunder Bay from now on.

Cheers and Happy New Year

Room Tip: 3rd Floor Room 333 get's free WIFI from the lobby connection
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark B, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Minneapolis, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Thank you for the recommendations to your friends! I was not in town this particular weekend but glad to know the staff took such great care of you. Certainly understand about your friend. Obviously, the safety and security of our guests is paramonut. I apologize if this caused an inconveneince. I love the gym also, never a wait for a piece of equipment! Come back and see us very soon, would love to say hello!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hyatt Regency Minneapolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Minneapolis

Address: 1300 Nicollet Mall, Minneapolis, MN 55403
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Minneapolis
#8 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
#11 Family Hotel in Minneapolis
#19 Romantic Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Minneapolis 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Full service hotel located in the heart of downtown on Nicollet Mall. Connected by climate-controlled skyway to the Minneapolis Convention Center, downtown restaurants, shopping, and entertainment. The Hotel completed an extensive renovation in May of 2012. This renovation features new guest rooms and a completely transformed lobby and Food and Beverage options. Including Prairie Kitchen and Bar, an upscale bar/restaurant, and expansive marketplace for grab and go items as well as sundries. Hotel features an extensive StayFit fitness facility and over 74,000 sq. feet of flexible meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and TIG Global so you can book your Hyatt Regency Minneapolis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Minneapolis Hotel Minneapolis
Minneapolis Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Regency Minneapolis On Nicollet Mall
Hyatt Minneapolis

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Minneapolis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.