We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“new to me” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Minneapolis

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Regency Minneapolis to your Saves list
Hyatt Regency Minneapolis
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1300 Nicollet Mall, Minneapolis, MN 55403   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Stay More, Save More
Ranked #9 of 48 Hotels in Minneapolis
GreenLeadersBronze level
East Stroudsburg, Pennsylvania
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“new to me”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Big comfy lobby, a welcome respite, not an after thought.Easy check in, We were early and still they were able to get our room. My wife and I hunt for the best coffee and hot chocolate we can find before our meetings start. The bell hop gave us all he could and it was great information. We knew we found a new gem in a city with many choices. The rooms where new and roomy and we actually slept the first night. The down is still this idea that hotels should make money on internet hook-ups note to management it is short sighted. The best was the cafe again a true part of the guest experience not some over flow space. Connected directly to the kitchen and open 6 am everyday,with a real area champion( manager) the space was clean neat and coffee was just fine.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark B, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Minneapolis, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Thank you so much for the thoughtful review! Glad you enjoyed the Market, it is one of my favorite locations in the hotel! Certainly appreciate the comment regarding internet. The vast majority of full service hotels also charge, while the limited service brands do not. Thank you for visiting and we hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

571 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    240
    55
    22
    6
See reviews for
62
112
18
282
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

I really enjoyed my stay at the Hyatt Regency in Minnesota. I was pleasantly surprised with the lobby and surroundings - the decorations were contemporary takes on "classic Minnesota history" and were lovely. There was ample room and the food in the restaurant was quite good. Check in was easy and the room was excellent. The furnishings in general are a solid step above what you would find in most of the major chains, particularly in the bathroom. The workout area was EXCELLENT in that there was no shortage of machines, a full basketball court, and an area dedicated to freeweight and medicine ball, etc workouts. Lastly, the location was close to a number of good restaurants and nightlife, and access to the breezeway was very convenient given the cold weather.

The only drawbacks I experienced were related to the location of my room and some minor construction. I was in a room on the 7th floor facing the pool. The balcony would have been lovely, except that the chlorine and pool smell was somewhat overpowering. It was also a little noisy in the morning, with early morning swimmers being audible through the glass balcony door. My only other complaint was that there was some construction going on during the day, and as I had to stay in my room to work during part of my visit, it was distracting to the point of being unpleasant. However, in their defense, it was done during the day when they expected the least amount of people to be present to minimize the discomfort. In addition, they were very responsive when I mentioned it during checkout and adjusted my food service bill without my asking, which was quite generous.

Overall, I think this hotel was great and I would have no problem booking my next stay in Minneapolis here!

Room Tip: I would request a room that is not facing the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark B, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Minneapolis, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review! Sorry about the noise, we were making some necessary adjustments to the facility that couldn't be avoided. Thr gym is pretty spectacular! 30,000 square feet and never a wait for a piece of equipment. Glad to hear you enjoyed the local touches as part of the renovation. We hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, WI
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

This hotel has a modern design, both in the rooms and in the public areas. The lighting in the rooms is great, especially the bathroom. The rooms are comfortable and easy to live in. The only problem we noticed was the carpet needed to be vacuumed. We finally got housekeeping to do it when we barged in on them while they were servicing the room.

The restaurant is great, and very innovative. The lounge has great lighting and ambience. There is a nice and convenient connection to the parking garage.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark B, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Minneapolis, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Thank you for the thougtful review! We have made recent adjustments to lighting levels in the restaurant and bar and I was thrilled to hear that it has been noticed. The restaurant menu is going through some winter changes now, so you will just have to come back and try it out. As a hint, you will see more bison!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chisholm, Minnesota
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Have not stayed at this property for a couple years as it was getting tired. I booked the hotel and was pleasantly surprised at the renovations. Rooms were well done with alot of room and the bathroooms were well done. Big improvement over the last time I stayed here. Go for it and check it out....great location!!

Room Tip: corner rooms are nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark B, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Minneapolis, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Thank you for the great review! So glad you enjoyed the renovation, we're thrilled with the way it came out. Come back and see us very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Checked in for three nights Sunday to Wednesday. We weren't part of a large conference also going on in the hotel, but it didn't seem to affect us much.

The lobby and public areas seem to have recently been updated and have a good feel. The pool was a disappointment but the fitness center was very above average.

The self-parking ($17/night) was significantly cheaper than valet ($30) and relatively easy to figure out. The front desk staff were helpful, including accommodating our request to push checkout by a half hour (to 12:30 p.m. instead of noon).

The room was nicely appointed with a nice bed/bedding. The bathroom was above average -- spacious with nice tile/counter. The housekeeping was above average -- very attentive to restocking things and generally tidying up.

I'd ask for a room away from the elevators -- the way they're set up, there's four rooms on each floor exceptionally close to the elevator bank, which could get annoying. We didn't have to pay for internet as part of our rate, but I think it's a standard charge, which would be disappointing.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark B, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Minneapolis, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review! There certainly has been a buzz around the hotel with our recent occupancy levels. The space feels so great with all of the activity! The fitness center is certainly a favorite of mine. We hope to see you back very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Top Contributor
390 reviews 390 reviews
86 hotel reviews
Reviews in 139 cities Reviews in 139 cities
233 helpful votes 233 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

This was the first time I experienced the Hyatt Regency in Minneapolis and was very pleased. The club floor rooms are the way to go. Not huge,but very well equipped. The hotel has new proximity locks on their doors so my cell phone does not demagnetize my key card.Nice to have an in room safe with a light inside the safe. Kirk the Concierge was very helpful and sure knows his restaurants.Great bed and good housekeeping. The Wifi worked well.

Room Tip: Club Floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark B, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Minneapolis, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Thank you for recognizing Kirk in our Regency Club! He is a fantastic member of our team and represents all so very well. The RFID keys are fantastic and make things very convenient. We are glad you were here and don't forget to come back and visit Kirk in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, Kansas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here during a conference at the convention center. I had requested a Diamond Suite upgrade with this stay, but it was not recognized at check in. I inquired and received a deluxe king, which was a large room with a small living area, which is about what I had expected. The room was at the end of the hall in the third floor. All the sites I was told are on low floors. It was a LONG walk to the elevators through a maze, and even longer to the ice machine. Had the ice been closer it would have been more acceptable. Room was clean and the bathroom shower was terrific. Large floor to ceiling windows looked out at...the millennium hotel. Oh we'll. Very small, attended, Regency Club with your normal fare. Fortunately it was not busy when I was there. Restaurant is pretty good--I like the farm to market concept and this one does it as we'll as any hotel would. Nice comfortable lobby where I hung out one night just to people watch and enjoy the ambiance. Short walk to restaurants and the convention center. My only complaint about service was at the bar. The bartender seemed to ignore new customers to concentrate on other duties, creating long waits to the drink order. She
was recommending/pushing the fish dinner which unfortunately was tasteless not only to me but the 2 others who got it at the bar at the same time. Oh well.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark B, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Minneapolis, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Thank you for the feedback and I appreciate your loyalty to Hyatt as a Diamond Member. I'm glad that most of your experience was very positive but am certainly concerned regarding the attitude of the bartender. Would love to speak with you personally if you have a moment. I can be reached at mark.becker@hyatt.com or 612.596.4505 We hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Regency Minneapolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Minneapolis

Address: 1300 Nicollet Mall, Minneapolis, MN 55403
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Minneapolis
#5 Luxury Hotel in Minneapolis
#6 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
#7 Green Hotel in Minneapolis
#9 Family Hotel in Minneapolis
#16 Romantic Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Minneapolis 4*
Number of rooms: 533
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Full service hotel located in the heart of downtown on Nicollet Mall. Connected by climate-controlled skyway to the Minneapolis Convention Center, downtown restaurants, shopping, and entertainment. The Hotel completed an extensive renovation in May of 2012. This renovation features new guest rooms and a completely transformed lobby and Food and Beverage options. Including Prairie Kitchen and Bar, an upscale bar/restaurant, and expansive marketplace for grab and go items as well as sundries. Hotel features an extensive StayFit fitness facility and over 74,000 sq. feet of flexible meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hyatt Regency Minneapolis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Minneapolis Hotel Minneapolis
Minneapolis Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Regency Minneapolis On Nicollet Mall
Hyatt Minneapolis

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Minneapolis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.