We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easy to get to everything” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Minneapolis

Save Saved
You added Hyatt Regency Minneapolis to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Minneapolis
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1300 Nicollet Mall, Minneapolis, MN 55403   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Stay More, Save More
Ranked #11 of 48 Hotels in Minneapolis
GreenLeadersBronze level
Northbrook, Illinois, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Easy to get to everything”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Location was fantastic. Right on Nicollet and walking distance to a bunch of great restaurants, bars (some are rooftops), and Target Field (about 1 mile). Right off the 35W and 94 expressways. Free bus took us to Washington and Marquette so we were able to walk to to the Stone Arch Bridge. As for the hotel, it was very nice. We were on the 17th floor viewing northeast and had a great view of the city skyline. It was a very spacious and clean room. If I had to give any complaints, it was that the TV remote had some issues with the power button and that the windows on the outside needed a good cleaning. But if those are the biggest complaints I have for any stay, I consider it an excellent stay! We had a lot of noise the first night that woke us up, but that's not on the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for an higher floor facing northeast
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark B, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Minneapolis, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review and we're so glad you had a good experience! I love the downtown views as well, especially at night! If you have a chance, it would be great to know your room number so I can double check the remote. Appreciate the feedback! Look forward to your return! My email is mark.becker@hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

513 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    221
    213
    51
    22
    6
See reviews for
53
103
17
249
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We came up to go to the Twin's Game...excellent location, close to everything! I noticed bike racks all over the city where you could rent bikes...looked like a good/easy way to get around if you don't want to drive...we will be doing that next time for sure. The rooms were VERY nice...I would stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark B, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Minneapolis, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Sounds like you had a fun time atttending the Twins game! The stadium is such a great place, I hope the on the field result was a good one. Appreciate the feedback on the rooms and look forward to your return. Thank you for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, NV
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

This was our first visit to this hotel. The beds were very comfy, sheets very soft & nice choice of pillows.The bathroom was the largest we've ever experienced with plenty of counter space. The continental buffet was very nice, reasonably priced and staff was courteous & helpful. Within walking distance to the baseball park and lots of restaurants. The down side is minor...very cold lobby & restaurant. It wasn't hot outside so they didn't need to have the AC cranked up so high. Also, the halls to the rooms were dark...dark walls, dim lighting, very little outside light. However, I wouldn't let that keep us from staying there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark B, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Minneapolis, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
So glad you hada great vacation! I was pleased to hear that you had a restful experience while you were here. We appreciate the temperature feedback and will keep that in mind. Come back and see us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orem, Utah
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

This Hyatt is smack downtown. Close to the convention center. Light rail close by. Very comfortable room. Front staff very friendly. Mall of America just south in Bloomington and public transportation is available.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

I stayed here while going to a conference and it is a straight walking distance to the convention center. Nice modern/retro design of lobby and rooms. Staff is very kind and very helpful. Offered me free internet in my room when they couldn't match me in a King bed like promised. The nice amenities cover that the bed was poor, very very soft and sunk very low. Also the shower was poor with very weak water pressure. Nice down pillows though. Large gym. Never stayed at the other hotels in the area would be interesting to compare them.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Not sure what Ssands and wife were expecting but our stay was fine. The beds were wonderful. I say beds, because we stayed in two different rooms. Due to construction noise, we asked to be upgraded and for a small fee, landed on the 22nd floor. Our 8th floor room was comfortable but noisy. Starting at 7 am you can hear intermittent construction occurring. On July 2nd the noise really ramped up so we requested an upgrade for less than Ssands paid. Floors 22 to 24 are Concierge floors, so we did not pay for internet, water, etc and had access to the lounge with breakfast and snacks. Previously, we paid $25 for breakfast/shirt pressing/water/internet.

Service was wonderful, except for the fact that you have to have breakfast before 1130 during the weekend, 11 during the week. The front desk said that they would not credit breakfast after 1130 and they were strict, however two days later a restaurant server contradicted it. I didn't want to take a chance and stuck to the breakfast buffet before 11 am. Everyone was friendly, no small feat given the volume they have.

The renovation is obvious! Walk along the 2nd floor or the under utilized public areas and you can see the ugly orange walls. Compare that to the modern plaid carpet in the lobby, nods to the rivers behind the front desk, chandeliers reminiscent of yarn looms. I would have hated to see the hotel prior to this.

However, despite the renovation, the color scheme on the room levels are bland. The carpets are plush, but navy blue stripes seem retro and at odds with the modern lobby. The rooms don't give you luxury of a 5 star, but are comfortable at any rate. For a fridge and robe, plus free water upgrade to the concierge level. Otherwise, you get free mini toothpaste regardless of your room.

I liked the updated bathroom. The vanity mirror doubles as a nightlight. A wooden seat helped our toddler get to the sink as necessary, but probably not appreciated by others as much. The amenities are a brand of Gilchrist & Soames. I only wish that there were a laundry line, especially given that we used the pool almost every day.

The pool could have used a good cleaning. One one tile someone scratched in "Clean Me" in the grime. Not surprisingly, my daughter got sick and passed it on to us. The location of the Stay Fit gym was unsettling for me. You have to pass through an underutilized by stylish lounge to get to the gym. While it is large and "full service", it was creepy.

We had the best watermelon and heirloom tomato salad, but the driest kids spaghetti and meatballs and hamburger in Prairie. Breakfast was decent though, with a full spread minus made to order omelets.

The concierge one day gave us recommendations on how to get to the Como Park Zoo but did not think there were any playgrounds in Loring Park. A few minutes walk behind the Hyatt on the Greenway yielded a playground complete with a young bunny feasting on flowers. Good for families to know this!

Room Tip: Choose a concierge level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark B, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Minneapolis, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you for the very thorough review, you have given us several things to think about and address. You are correct, we are just finishing up and noise should no longer be an issue, but apologize that you were invonvenienced. Would love the opportunityto discuss your stay with you if you have a moment. My direct line is 612.596.4505 or my email is mark.becker@hyatt.com. Thank you again and I hope to speak with you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

The Hyatt has undergone an extensive renovation, both the public spaces and rooms. Unfortunately they did not feel the mattress in our room needed to be changed, and neither of us slept due to worn out bed. Otherwise, still the wonderful service, and the changes are beautiful.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark B, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Minneapolis, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Glad you enjoyd the property! Little disappointed as all mattresses were changed. Hoping you might be able to send me an email with your room number so i can inspect it personally. My email is mark.becker@hyatt.com. Come back and see us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Regency Minneapolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Minneapolis

Address: 1300 Nicollet Mall, Minneapolis, MN 55403
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Minneapolis
#7 Green Hotel in Minneapolis
#8 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
#11 Family Hotel in Minneapolis
#19 Romantic Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Minneapolis 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Full service hotel located in the heart of downtown on Nicollet Mall. Connected by climate-controlled skyway to the Minneapolis Convention Center, downtown restaurants, shopping, and entertainment. The Hotel completed an extensive renovation in May of 2012. This renovation features new guest rooms and a completely transformed lobby and Food and Beverage options. Including Prairie Kitchen and Bar, an upscale bar/restaurant, and expansive marketplace for grab and go items as well as sundries. Hotel features an extensive StayFit fitness facility and over 74,000 sq. feet of flexible meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, Priceline, Reservation Counter and Odigeo so you can book your Hyatt Regency Minneapolis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Minneapolis Hotel Minneapolis
Minneapolis Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Regency Minneapolis On Nicollet Mall
Hyatt Minneapolis

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Minneapolis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.