We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vacation in Minneapolis” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Minneapolis

Save Saved
You added Hyatt Regency Minneapolis to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Orbitz.com
and 8 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Minneapolis
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1300 Nicollet Mall, Minneapolis, MN 55403   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Stay More, Save More
Ranked #9 of 49 hotels in Minneapolis
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reno, NV
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Vacation in Minneapolis”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

This was our first visit to this hotel. The beds were very comfy, sheets very soft & nice choice of pillows.The bathroom was the largest we've ever experienced with plenty of counter space. The continental buffet was very nice, reasonably priced and staff was courteous & helpful. Within walking distance to the baseball park and lots of restaurants. The down side is minor...very cold lobby & restaurant. It wasn't hot outside so they didn't need to have the AC cranked up so high. Also, the halls to the rooms were dark...dark walls, dim lighting, very little outside light. However, I wouldn't let that keep us from staying there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark B, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Minneapolis, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
So glad you hada great vacation! I was pleased to hear that you had a restful experience while you were here. We appreciate the temperature feedback and will keep that in mind. Come back and see us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

392 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    173
    159
    38
    17
    5
See reviews for
41
82
13
175
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Orem, Utah
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

This Hyatt is smack downtown. Close to the convention center. Light rail close by. Very comfortable room. Front staff very friendly. Mall of America just south in Bloomington and public transportation is available.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

I stayed here while going to a conference and it is a straight walking distance to the convention center. Nice modern/retro design of lobby and rooms. Staff is very kind and very helpful. Offered me free internet in my room when they couldn't match me in a King bed like promised. The nice amenities cover that the bed was poor, very very soft and sunk very low. Also the shower was poor with very weak water pressure. Nice down pillows though. Large gym. Never stayed at the other hotels in the area would be interesting to compare them.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Not sure what Ssands and wife were expecting but our stay was fine. The beds were wonderful. I say beds, because we stayed in two different rooms. Due to construction noise, we asked to be upgraded and for a small fee, landed on the 22nd floor. Our 8th floor room was comfortable but noisy. Starting at 7 am you can hear intermittent construction occurring. On July 2nd the noise really ramped up so we requested an upgrade for less than Ssands paid. Floors 22 to 24 are Concierge floors, so we did not pay for internet, water, etc and had access to the lounge with breakfast and snacks. Previously, we paid $25 for breakfast/shirt pressing/water/internet.

Service was wonderful, except for the fact that you have to have breakfast before 1130 during the weekend, 11 during the week. The front desk said that they would not credit breakfast after 1130 and they were strict, however two days later a restaurant server contradicted it. I didn't want to take a chance and stuck to the breakfast buffet before 11 am. Everyone was friendly, no small feat given the volume they have.

The renovation is obvious! Walk along the 2nd floor or the under utilized public areas and you can see the ugly orange walls. Compare that to the modern plaid carpet in the lobby, nods to the rivers behind the front desk, chandeliers reminiscent of yarn looms. I would have hated to see the hotel prior to this.

However, despite the renovation, the color scheme on the room levels are bland. The carpets are plush, but navy blue stripes seem retro and at odds with the modern lobby. The rooms don't give you luxury of a 5 star, but are comfortable at any rate. For a fridge and robe, plus free water upgrade to the concierge level. Otherwise, you get free mini toothpaste regardless of your room.

I liked the updated bathroom. The vanity mirror doubles as a nightlight. A wooden seat helped our toddler get to the sink as necessary, but probably not appreciated by others as much. The amenities are a brand of Gilchrist & Soames. I only wish that there were a laundry line, especially given that we used the pool almost every day.

The pool could have used a good cleaning. One one tile someone scratched in "Clean Me" in the grime. Not surprisingly, my daughter got sick and passed it on to us. The location of the Stay Fit gym was unsettling for me. You have to pass through an underutilized by stylish lounge to get to the gym. While it is large and "full service", it was creepy.

We had the best watermelon and heirloom tomato salad, but the driest kids spaghetti and meatballs and hamburger in Prairie. Breakfast was decent though, with a full spread minus made to order omelets.

The concierge one day gave us recommendations on how to get to the Como Park Zoo but did not think there were any playgrounds in Loring Park. A few minutes walk behind the Hyatt on the Greenway yielded a playground complete with a young bunny feasting on flowers. Good for families to know this!

Room Tip: Choose a concierge level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark B, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Minneapolis, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you for the very thorough review, you have given us several things to think about and address. You are correct, we are just finishing up and noise should no longer be an issue, but apologize that you were invonvenienced. Would love the opportunityto discuss your stay with you if you have a moment. My direct line is 612.596.4505 or my email is mark.becker@hyatt.com. Thank you again and I hope to speak with you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

The Hyatt has undergone an extensive renovation, both the public spaces and rooms. Unfortunately they did not feel the mattress in our room needed to be changed, and neither of us slept due to worn out bed. Otherwise, still the wonderful service, and the changes are beautiful.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark B, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Minneapolis, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Glad you enjoyd the property! Little disappointed as all mattresses were changed. Hoping you might be able to send me an email with your room number so i can inspect it personally. My email is mark.becker@hyatt.com. Come back and see us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

A very nice hotel. Our room was clean, employees very friendly. Did not like that it cost $17.00 a day for parking, and wish they had complimentary breakfast. It really is a beautiful hotel and in a prefect location. We were able to walk every where!
Will for sure stay again.

Room Tip: We were on the 21st floor and the view was fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark B, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Minneapolis, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Sounds like you had a great birthday celebration! We hope you come back soon for the next big event, we appreciate you staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring, Texas, United States
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Stayed at the Hyatt Regency Minneapolis for a trade show and I was quite happy with it. The room was very nice, spacious with a modern design. The bed was very comfortable as well. The lobby was stylish and spaced out nicely to do informal meetings right there. Food quality in the restaurant was good and not expensive either. I liked that they had a good quality "grab and go" restaurant with very nice croissant sandwiches and good quality coffee for the mornings as well. Plus the location is right on Nicollet Mall street so you're right by lots of great restaurants to take clients out. The staff were very quick and efficient every time I asked for something as well. You could tell this hotel was run very well. I would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: ask for a room with a view of downtown
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark B, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Minneapolis, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review! The lobby renovationhas been a huge hit with business and leisure guests alike. The spacious seating area is great for either informal meetings or just to sit and people watch and the egg sandwich in the Market is a pesonal favorite. So glad you had a great experience. Quick and efficient is music our ears! Come back and see us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hyatt Regency Minneapolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Minneapolis

Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Minneapolis Hotel
Hyatt Regency Minneapolis Hotel Minneapolis
Minneapolis Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Regency Minneapolis On Nicollet Mall
Hyatt Minneapolis
Minneapolis Hyatt
Address: 1300 Nicollet Mall, Minneapolis, MN 55403
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Minneapolis
#6 Luxury Hotel in Minneapolis
#7 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
#7 Green Hotel in Minneapolis
#10 Family Hotel in Minneapolis
#17 Romantic Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Minneapolis 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Full service hotel located in the heart of downtown on Nicollet Mall. Connected by climate-controlled skyway to the Minneapolis Convention Center, downtown restaurants, shopping, and entertainment. The Hotel completed an extensive renovation in May of 2012. This renovation features new guest rooms and a completely transformed lobby and Food and Beverage options. Including Prairie Kitchen and Bar, an upscale bar/restaurant, and expansive marketplace for grab and go items as well as sundries. Hotel features an extensive StayFit fitness facility and over 74,000 sq. feet of flexible meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, BookIt.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Venere and TIG Global so you can book your Hyatt Regency Minneapolis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Minneapolis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.