We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Newly renovated” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Minneapolis

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hyatt Regency Minneapolis to your Saves list
Hyatt Regency Minneapolis
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1300 Nicollet Mall, Minneapolis, MN 55403   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Stay More, Save More
Ranked #9 of 48 Hotels in Minneapolis
GreenLeadersBronze level
La Ronge, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Newly renovated”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

My husband booked us the king suite. It was comfortable & cozy. It had plenty of outlets on either side of the bed! The bathroom is well used space. The only downside to the room was there isn't a lot of light & there wasn't a deadbolt (there's a safety bar - which worked well).

There's a parking fee.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark B, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Minneapolis, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Thank you for the great review! We are very happy with the renovation and glad you enjoyed. The outlets on the side of the night stands are very convenient for cell phone charging! We look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

535 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    231
    223
    53
    22
    6
See reviews for
56
104
18
265
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Top Contributor
176 reviews 176 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Stayed one night while visiting family in Minneapolis. It looked like there were not that many guests at the hotel when I was there. The Regency Club was closed for renovations, however, free breakfast for Diamond members was served down in the restaurant. The room was the size you would expect for a Hyatt Regency hotel it seemed that the floor I stayed at was recently renovated. The view from my room was also good. The staff was also very friendly during my stay, and I was very satisfied with the service I got. Overall a very good experience, and I would probably come back next time I am in Minneapolis.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark B, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Minneapolis, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review! The hotels has been recently renovated so thank you for noticing. We appreciate your Diamond Status and thank you for choosing Hyatt as your preferred brand. We look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Nice hotel, good price, great location. Parking is expensive and there is no hot tub?! What?! Insane. Was also surprised there was no frig in the room.
Very soft beds and a gorgeous bathroom. Easy to pamper yourself. :)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark B, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Minneapolis, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review. I was pleased to hear that you enjoyed the facilities and the location of the hotel. It is true that we do not have a hot tub, but there is a pool adjacent to the health club for guests to enjoy. We do have refrigerators for request so please do upon your return! We look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

Stayed one night on business. What a great renovation. Loved the new look. Staff was very friendly. They offer a complimentary shuttle to certain locations downtown, which was a very nice service on a chilly night. Would definitely return when in the area and recommend to others. One negative, they spent all this money to renovate and then didn't reglaze the bathtub. It's totally minor, but when everything else is shiny and new, the tub stuck out.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark B, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Minneapolis, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review and we are so glad to hear you enjoyed the renovation! The shuttle is a wonderful service, especially when the weather is a bit chilly! Hopefully you had a chance to visit either the Market or Prairie Kitchen and Bar. Both of these are wonderful options for dining options. Looking forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013 via mobile

I do not recommend having any teenagers or anything with you at this hotel. The staff is not kind. They talk down to their customers and treat them like they are the dumbest people on the planet. The security staff is the worst. Instead of asking nicely to keep it down they yell at you like your am animal and threaten to kick you out of the hotel. Poor poor poor customer service. The rooms are very dusty. The remodel is nice but the food is extremely overpriced and being there for a competition they only offered me crappy food instead of giving me a legit menu. I got a choice of 4 things to eat that looked and should be on a kids menu. Very very disappointed with this hotel and their staff. I would not stay there again

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark B, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Minneapolis, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review. Obviously, we are diappointed in yourexperience and have enjoyed over 25 years of hosting DECA/BPA. I am happy to discuss with you at your convenience. My direct line is 612.596.4505 or i can be reached at mark.becker@hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We stayed at the Hyatt a few years ago before they renovated the whole place. It was just ok then; the location was really good and we got a good deal. We were going out with some friends this past weekend and booked a room through a discount hotel site and named a ridiculously low price...and ended up back at the Hyatt. Were we surprised when we showed up and found the new look. The lobby area and check in area are completely revamped. Nothing really stood out the last time so I can't even compare that time and this. The room was so nice. The bed was very comfortable and we are usually very picky about the beds. The decor was very modern and classy, the lights were quite stylish and the bathroom was so very nice that my wife might make me upgrade some items at home! The view wasn't that great but we didn't really get the room for the view. Definitely would recommend this to anyone coming to town on business or pleasure. The only other complaint was that you could hear everything going on in the hallway. There was some kind of team that was up and moving pretty early on Saturday morning and we heard every door slam when they were leaving.

Room Tip: If you want a good view, don't get a south facing room. It overlooks the parking garage. North w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark B, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Minneapolis, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Thank you for appreciating the renovation! We are very excited to show off our new property. Our apologies that you were awoken on Saturday morning but glad you had such an enjoyable visit. We have somegreat packages on our website for future visits. See you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We stayed at the Hyatt for a dance competition. Rooms were modern and clean. Despite a hotel full of teenage girls, it was quiet and security was present in the evening to check the floors for noise. They even allowed us to have a team get-together in the lobby where we had our own food and drinks. Staff was friendly and helpful with directions and use of public transportation. Plus, they have a full size basketball court that my son took full advantage of. Only downside, WiFi was free only in the lobby not in your room. Hotel connects to the city's skywalk system! We would stay there again!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark B, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Minneapolis, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
We were pleased to hear you had a great experience at the dance competition. Obviously, with that many kids in the hotel, it can certainly be a challenge. Thank you for thestaff feedback and kniow I will share your comments with the team! We look forward to welcoming you back for future events.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Regency Minneapolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Minneapolis

Address: 1300 Nicollet Mall, Minneapolis, MN 55403
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Minneapolis
#7 Green Hotel in Minneapolis
#8 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
#11 Family Hotel in Minneapolis
#17 Romantic Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Minneapolis 4*
Number of rooms: 533
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Full service hotel located in the heart of downtown on Nicollet Mall. Connected by climate-controlled skyway to the Minneapolis Convention Center, downtown restaurants, shopping, and entertainment. The Hotel completed an extensive renovation in May of 2012. This renovation features new guest rooms and a completely transformed lobby and Food and Beverage options. Including Prairie Kitchen and Bar, an upscale bar/restaurant, and expansive marketplace for grab and go items as well as sundries. Hotel features an extensive StayFit fitness facility and over 74,000 sq. feet of flexible meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Reservation Counter, BookIt.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hyatt Regency Minneapolis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Minneapolis Hotel Minneapolis
Minneapolis Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Regency Minneapolis On Nicollet Mall
Hyatt Minneapolis

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Minneapolis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.