We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice, modern renovation.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Minneapolis

Save Saved
You added Hyatt Regency Minneapolis to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Minneapolis
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1300 Nicollet Mall, Minneapolis, MN 55403   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Stay More, Save More
Ranked #10 of 48 Hotels in Minneapolis
GreenLeadersBronze level
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Very nice, modern renovation.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

Stayed one night on business. What a great renovation. Loved the new look. Staff was very friendly. They offer a complimentary shuttle to certain locations downtown, which was a very nice service on a chilly night. Would definitely return when in the area and recommend to others. One negative, they spent all this money to renovate and then didn't reglaze the bathtub. It's totally minor, but when everything else is shiny and new, the tub stuck out.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark B, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Minneapolis, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review and we are so glad to hear you enjoyed the renovation! The shuttle is a wonderful service, especially when the weather is a bit chilly! Hopefully you had a chance to visit either the Market or Prairie Kitchen and Bar. Both of these are wonderful options for dining options. Looking forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

513 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    221
    213
    51
    22
    6
See reviews for
53
103
17
249
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013 via mobile

I do not recommend having any teenagers or anything with you at this hotel. The staff is not kind. They talk down to their customers and treat them like they are the dumbest people on the planet. The security staff is the worst. Instead of asking nicely to keep it down they yell at you like your am animal and threaten to kick you out of the hotel. Poor poor poor customer service. The rooms are very dusty. The remodel is nice but the food is extremely overpriced and being there for a competition they only offered me crappy food instead of giving me a legit menu. I got a choice of 4 things to eat that looked and should be on a kids menu. Very very disappointed with this hotel and their staff. I would not stay there again

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark B, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Minneapolis, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review. Obviously, we are diappointed in yourexperience and have enjoyed over 25 years of hosting DECA/BPA. I am happy to discuss with you at your convenience. My direct line is 612.596.4505 or i can be reached at mark.becker@hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We stayed at the Hyatt a few years ago before they renovated the whole place. It was just ok then; the location was really good and we got a good deal. We were going out with some friends this past weekend and booked a room through a discount hotel site and named a ridiculously low price...and ended up back at the Hyatt. Were we surprised when we showed up and found the new look. The lobby area and check in area are completely revamped. Nothing really stood out the last time so I can't even compare that time and this. The room was so nice. The bed was very comfortable and we are usually very picky about the beds. The decor was very modern and classy, the lights were quite stylish and the bathroom was so very nice that my wife might make me upgrade some items at home! The view wasn't that great but we didn't really get the room for the view. Definitely would recommend this to anyone coming to town on business or pleasure. The only other complaint was that you could hear everything going on in the hallway. There was some kind of team that was up and moving pretty early on Saturday morning and we heard every door slam when they were leaving.

Room Tip: If you want a good view, don't get a south facing room. It overlooks the parking garage. North w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark B, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Minneapolis, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Thank you for appreciating the renovation! We are very excited to show off our new property. Our apologies that you were awoken on Saturday morning but glad you had such an enjoyable visit. We have somegreat packages on our website for future visits. See you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We stayed at the Hyatt for a dance competition. Rooms were modern and clean. Despite a hotel full of teenage girls, it was quiet and security was present in the evening to check the floors for noise. They even allowed us to have a team get-together in the lobby where we had our own food and drinks. Staff was friendly and helpful with directions and use of public transportation. Plus, they have a full size basketball court that my son took full advantage of. Only downside, WiFi was free only in the lobby not in your room. Hotel connects to the city's skywalk system! We would stay there again!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark B, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Minneapolis, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
We were pleased to hear you had a great experience at the dance competition. Obviously, with that many kids in the hotel, it can certainly be a challenge. Thank you for thestaff feedback and kniow I will share your comments with the team! We look forward to welcoming you back for future events.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis MN
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

I stayed here with my girlfriend for a delayed Valentine's Day celebration on Saturday February 16th. Overall, the Hyatt is a very nice hotel in a prime location in the heart of downtown MInneapolis.

I booked directly with Hyatt's site and got a good rate (approx. $100) for an Executive room with access to the lounge for happy hour and breakfast.

The lounge is nice. The decor won't blow you away, but the view was great, especially at sunset for happy hour. The package included free non-alchoholic drinks and apps. The apps were okay. Real drinks were reasonably priced for a downtown location (around $6) and the bartender made them well. It was good to not have to fight crowds like you would have at most other downtown bars.

The breakfast was disappointing. I didn't expect much from the food, which was your usual contintental fare like muffins, rolls, fruit, etc. But the whole setup was loud, chaotic, and messy. It was not a good relaxing way to start a day. They really need more than one person to direct people and clean up.

Didn't have much interaction with the staff, but the front desk person was nice. They moved pretty fast as well. There were several groups ahead of us checking in so I thought we were going to have to wait a long time, but it was only about 10-15 minutes.

The location here is great. We had dinner at Ruth's Chris and it was excellent to be able to use the skyway since it was a typically frigid February evening. The hotel is walking distance to many different things, otherwise you can easily get to bus stops or the light rail from here.

Parking was available in a garage under the hotel. It was $13 for the night. The cost seemed high, but I guess that's par for the course for downtown hotels.

The room was small but overall, it was very good. Excellent view from the top floor. Bed was comfy. Bathroom was clean and shower had good pressure. Big flat screen TV with a lot of available channels.

I would definitely stay here again, but I would probably skip the breakfast and go somewhere else like Ike's or Hell's Kitchen for that.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark B, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Minneapolis, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Thank you for the recent review. I was disappointed to hear you did not have a good breakfast experience. The lobby is a great place to relax and have a coffee or cocktail. Glad to hear you enjoyed the bed and the view. Come back and see us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Travel a lot for business so don't usually take time to write about your run of the mill business hotels if they deliver on expectations. However have been struck by the renovated bathrooms at this Hyatt and the Vancouver Grand Hyatt...bringing a little Park Hyatt feel down-market :) Btw, new toiletries are better than the old watered down ones. Nice work!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark B, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Minneapolis, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review! We are extremely proud of the renovations, especially the bathrooms. The extra sopace, mirrir and stiool were a great addition. We look forward to your return to Minneapolis!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Hill, Texas
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

We stayed at this property multiple times with the most recent being in February of 2012. The property was undergoing needed updates. We've seen the updates since but have not stayed there since - but would.
Even during the renovation process, the staff attempted to make the stay as pleasant as possible. There are several restaurants to choose from at our near the hotel. The hotel has a Regency Club which was terrific and quiet.
The hotel is convenient to most everything in Minneapolis - you may have to walk a bit depending on where you need to go.
We walked to Nicollet Mall for dinners regularly.
There are probably close to 100 restaurants within a 1 mile radius of the property.
There is local theatre that is in walking distance.
The Guthrie is walkable but I would suggest a cab ride if you do not have a car.
Our outing was for Valentine's Day and the hotel was a perfect fit.
If you visit during the winter months - be sure to take warm clothing and use the skyway system. If you are not from this area, you will need to ask the hotel staff but you can traverse most of downtown via the skyway system and never have to enter the cold for long periods of time.
The property is very near the Minneapolis convention center also.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor for a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark B, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Minneapolis, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
We are thrilled hat you visited post renovations. The Regency Club is also being upgraded this year and will be complete by August. We are certainly centrally located and many restaurants, bars and nightlife options are within walking distance. We hope that you were able to try our own Prairie Kitchen and Bar. Looking forward to future visits!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Regency Minneapolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Minneapolis

Address: 1300 Nicollet Mall, Minneapolis, MN 55403
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Minneapolis
#7 Green Hotel in Minneapolis
#8 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
#11 Family Hotel in Minneapolis
#19 Romantic Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Minneapolis 4*
Number of rooms: 533
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Full service hotel located in the heart of downtown on Nicollet Mall. Connected by climate-controlled skyway to the Minneapolis Convention Center, downtown restaurants, shopping, and entertainment. The Hotel completed an extensive renovation in May of 2012. This renovation features new guest rooms and a completely transformed lobby and Food and Beverage options. Including Prairie Kitchen and Bar, an upscale bar/restaurant, and expansive marketplace for grab and go items as well as sundries. Hotel features an extensive StayFit fitness facility and over 74,000 sq. feet of flexible meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Tingo, Otel, Priceline, Reservation Counter and Odigeo so you can book your Hyatt Regency Minneapolis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Minneapolis Hotel Minneapolis
Minneapolis Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Regency Minneapolis On Nicollet Mall
Hyatt Minneapolis

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Minneapolis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.