We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice for What Matters” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Minneapolis

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Regency Minneapolis to your Saves list
Hyatt Regency Minneapolis
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1300 Nicollet Mall, Minneapolis, MN 55403   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Double Your Points
Ranked #15 of 45 Hotels in Minneapolis
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
West Bend, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
78 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Nice for What Matters”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Very nice bed. Wonderful bathroom with a luxurious shower and a separate make-up table that made mornings a lot easier. On the other hand, the couch in the room was low and uncomfortable...which made things difficult for two people. The Wi-Fi Internet was not functioning properly, and even the help desk confirmed that the signal on our floor wasn't reaching our room. When the hotel heard about this through the post-stay survey, they promptly refunded payment. The front desk staff were very helpful, friendly, and efficient--couldn't ask for better. The remodeled lobby had the most uncomfortable seating we've ever experienced. Although it looked cool and hip, it was brutal to sit in. The hotel restaurant provided good food and service when we ate there for dinner one night. Located at the end of the Nicolett Mall, the hotel is in a perfect location. All things considered, we'll stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of downtown--it's very nice to wake-up to if you're on a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark B, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Minneapolis, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review! We were pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and appreciated our recent renovations. Sorry you found some of the furuniture uncomforatable, we appreciate the feedback. The Prairie Bar and Grill is becomming a guest and local favorite. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

826 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    367
    322
    90
    33
    14
See reviews for
98
152
25
417
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ontario
Level Contributor
82 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed at the Hyatt to see the Vikings/Packers game and were very pleased with the hotel, particularly because of the great rate we got directly on the hotel website.

The renovations are beautiful. The lobby and restaurant are expansive and modern and the rooms are contemporary and functional. We had a double room and it was quite large and came equipped with a coffee maker, nice toiletries, good quality bedding and comfortable beds. The renos would have been complete if the tub had been replaced. It was obviously original with only the tiles and fixtures updated. This was about the only drawback in the room.

The biggest surprise with this hotel is the gym. It is the largest and most complete hotel gym we have ever come across. There is a large cardio studio with many new treadmills, ellipticals, etc. Headphones are provided. There are two full rooms with weight equipment including sets of free weights, barbells, two complete cable machines, various other weight machines etc. There is a separate room with a large mat area for stretching or using other equipment such as heavy balls, stability balls, bosus, etc. In yet another room there are different types of boxing bags. Finally, there is a full size gym where you can play basketball. Separate from the gym is the pool, which looks to be original but is a decent size.

We ate breakfast in the Prairie Kitchen Restaurant. Service was somewhat slow but the food was excellent and unique. The AAA rate included a $22 breakfast voucher (per person, for 2 people). Prices in the restaurant were reasonable and for this amount we were able to have a great breakfast and almost cover tax and tip with the credit available. Staff in the restaurant were exceptional, although there were some minor problems getting our orders correct.

All other staff we encountered were very friendly and helpful. On game day our waitress asked whether we were going to the Vikings/Packers game and when we said we were looking for tickets, she put us in touch with another staff member that had tickets available.

The hotel location is good. If you are going to the Metrodome, it is a bit of a hike but certainly walkable. It was cold so we opted to take a cab to the game and it was only $6.50. We walked back and it probably took about 20 minutes, perhaps a bit less. We also walked to the Timberwolves game at the Target Center and it was a bit closer. We were able to use the Skywalk for part of the walk so that helped. Target, Macy's and the City Center (Gap, Banana Republic stores) are about a 10 minute walk away. Haskel's liquor store (great selection of most everything, but particularly wine) and numerous restaurants are within easy walking distance as well. We ate at Zelo and Hell's Kitchen, both of which were excellent. If you're looking to order pizza for the room, Pizza Luce offers free delivery downtown.

We also noticed that because the hotel is at the end of the "strip", there seemed to be some nice green spaces and walking paths nearby. It would probably be a great place to stay in the summer if you wanted to run or walk in the area.

And although it might not seem like a big deal, this hotel has 5 elevators. This was particularly useful before and after the football game when there were large volumes of people entering and exiting the hotel.

We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark B, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Minneapolis, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Thank you for the great review! We are so pleased that you had a wonderful experience and enjoyed your stay. The fitness center is certainly a guest favorite! Makes for guilt-free enjoyment of Prairie Kitchen and Bar as well as a Vikings game. Thank you for your business and know that I have shared your notes with the entire team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

The Hyatt just renovated their downtown Minneapolis location and it's stunning. There's an awesome little market/coffeeshop off the lobby that serves good coffee and breakfast stuff and has some convenience store kinda stuff. The lobby itself is pretty amazing, with a huge open area for people to sit and large fireplace. (Emphasis on large.)

But really, that's not even what made our stay great- it was the service. Over the holidays hotels like this are packed -- oh, and there was the Vikings/Packers game that day on top of it) -- and the front desk / bartenders / bell hops were put to the task of dealing with stressed out and drunk customers. They did an EXCELLENT job. Kept their cool, addressed problems right away, and were very responsive. (I'm know noticing all the reviews saying the same thing - ha).

The room was beautiful and clean, we had a wonderful time. We will definitely be staying here again the next time we're in Minneapolis.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark B, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Minneapolis, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay! I am very proud of the team and how they handled themselves over a very busy weekend. As you can imagine, it can be a challenge to balance guest service and making sure everyone is being safe. We appreciate you noticing. The lobby is a great place to socialize/network and we hope you enjoyed the fireplace (a staff favorite!) We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

When reading hotel reviews, occasionally I see some by people really disappointed by hotel service. I never thought I'd be one of the complainers, but here it is: It was all fine at the beginning. The hotel was recently renovated and it shows. The lobby is very pleasant, with a big fireplace and it's nice to see people enjoying it. The room we booked, with a king bed, was spacious and well equipped. The bathroom was pleasant, with a separate make-up table that was usable, not just for show. The shower however could use a more detailed cleaning as one could see the soap scum on the black tiles. The restaurant was bright and inviting. We waited for over 45 minutes for our food (they served breakfast a la carte instead of buffet that day and seemed to be seriously understaffed) but once it arrived, it was tasty. The problems started after we checked out. Our friends picked us up and when we arrived at their place about two hours later, we realized we forgot to take the shopping bag with items purchased at the nearby Walker Art Center from the room. My husband immediately called the hotel and asked the front desk to kindly check for the bag, see if it was still in the room, He was promised that someone would take care of that and call him back with an update. Nobody ever called. My husband called them later that day to hear that they have to check the lost and found area and check with the cleaning crew. After we didn't hear back from the hotel, my husband called them the following afternoon, only to have a fairly unpleasant conversation with the security person there who said the cleaning staff didn't find anything, that person also suggested we were mistaken about losing the bag in the hotel in the first place. I know we shouldn't have left it, it was an oversight, but one would assume that contacting the hotel soon after the loss was discovered would help to recover the items. What bothers me the most about this incident is not even that we lost the merchandise worth about $100, our souvenirs and all of the informational materials from the Walker but the attitude of the hotel staff who definitely did not go out of their way to help us. It seemed as they couldn't care less about what happened. Once we were out of the door, we became a nuisance. I'm very disappointed with the whole situation and will not be recommending this hotel or the Hyatt chain to anyone, needless to say they lost me as a customer.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark B, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Minneapolis, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
I appreciate the frustration of your experience. Could you possiby contact me at either 612.596.4505 or mark.becker@hyatt.com to discuss and see if I can assist. My apologies for the less than satisfactory experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Nice, clean room. Noah at the front desk did an excellent job. The hotel was busy with Packers @ Vikings football fans checking in. At night, it was five degrees so the short walk from the hotel to Nicollet Mall bars and restaurants was very convenient.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark B, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Minneapolis, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Thank you so much for the great review. The hotel was very busy with the game but everyone seemed to have a fun time! We look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

My boyfriend booked a king room for us while attending a concert at the Cabooze on new years eve. We got checked in in no time despite them being extremely busy. This was a bit of a stretch for us price wise since we are younger. Once getting checked in and getting a cab to the cabooze we discovered we couldn't get drinks because the hotel added an additional 50.00 "deposit" to our charge card. I'm not site if this is normal or just a new years eve thing but it really messed up out night out as we couldn't pay for out taxi back at the end of the night causing some SERIOUS problems. Luckily the cab driver understood and we didn't have to involve the police. Also, the money we budgeted out for the parking ramp was also tied up in their 'deposit'. I'm not sure how it works to get the extra $50.00 back on our card, we will have to see how it pans out. But Kevin Izzi worked with us to rectify the situations. He allowed us to just put the parking on the room charge (since we were kind of already paying "extra" we knew it would be covered just fine). Kevin was also nice enough to give us complimentary coffee and a couple muffins for all the problems. Over all it was a great way to ring in the new year. But it would have been nice to not have to deal with "missing" money we worked so hard to budget our whole trip out with and needed. We may be back, but will be more careful in watching charges and planning accordingly for "extras".

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark B, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Minneapolis, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
We were pleased to hear that Kevin provided exceptional service and that you enjoyed the hotel. If you have an opportunity, please contact me at 612.596.4505 or mark.becker@hyatt.com and I will make certain that the hold has been released from your card. We hope to see you return in the future and plese let me know if I can be of assistance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

We arrived on the biggest game day of the season in the NFL!! We received great service even though we checked in 2 hours early!!! Told us very professionally we could seat at they're lounge/bar or very attractive seating area.. We were in waiting list 20 rooms long!! We were told by 3pm (normal check-in time) that we would be checked in and by 315 we were in our wonderfully appointed, clean, and modern room. Will return!!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark B, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Minneapolis, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
So glad to hear you enjoyed your experience! It was a big game and a very busy hotel. Thank you for your patience and and know that the entire staff hopes to see you back for future getaways in Minneapolis!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Minneapolis hotels
Downtown
The Grand Hotel Minneapolis - a Kimpton Hotel
Millennium Hotel Minneapolis
#22 of 45 in Minneapolis
4.0 of 5 stars 354 reviews
Downtown
Hilton Minneapolis
Hilton Minneapolis
#14 of 45 in Minneapolis
4.0 of 5 stars 624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Marquette
The Marquette
#9 of 45 in Minneapolis
4.5 of 5 stars 1,064 reviews
Downtown
The Westin Minneapolis
The Westin Minneapolis
#16 of 45 in Minneapolis
4.5 of 5 stars 885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Minneapolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Minneapolis

Address: 1300 Nicollet Mall, Minneapolis, MN 55403
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Minneapolis
#7 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
#7 Green Hotel in Minneapolis
#8 Luxury Hotel in Minneapolis
#15 Family Hotel in Minneapolis
#21 Romantic Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Minneapolis 4*
Number of rooms: 533
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Full service hotel located in the heart of downtown on Nicollet Mall. Connected by climate-controlled skyway to the Minneapolis Convention Center, downtown restaurants, shopping, and entertainment. The Hotel completed an extensive renovation in July of 2013. This renovation features new guest rooms and a completely transformed lobby and Food and Beverage options. Including Prairie Kitchen and Bar, an upscale bar/restaurant, and expansive marketplace for grab and go items as well as sundries. Hotel features an extensive StayFit fitness facility and over 100,000 sq. Feet of flexible meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Odigeo, Otel, Hyatt Hotels Corporation and Jetsetter so you can book your Hyatt Regency Minneapolis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Minneapolis Hotel Minneapolis
Minneapolis Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Regency Minneapolis On Nicollet Mall
Hyatt Minneapolis

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Minneapolis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.