We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Conference Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Minneapolis

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Regency Minneapolis to your Saves list
Hyatt Regency Minneapolis
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1300 Nicollet Mall, Minneapolis, MN 55403   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Stay More, Save More
Ranked #9 of 48 Hotels in Minneapolis
GreenLeadersBronze level
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Pleasant Conference Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

I stayed at the Hyatt Regency for three nights this September, while attending a conference at the hotel. I was very pleased with the location. It is perched right at the end of the Nicollet Mall at the edge of the park, so that you are just a short walk from each. It seems to be fairly expensive to take a cab from the airport to anywhere in downtown Minneapolis. At this location you are really not far from the public transport hub on Nicollet and from there you can get to the airport for a few dollars. If you don’t mind walking just a bit – I’d recommend this option.

The staff was typically Minnesotan--ridiculously friendly and helpful across the board. My room was huge, modern and clean and the WiFi worked very well throughout the hotel. I didn’t get to use the pool – but it looked lovely. From the hallways some rooms look down on the pool's interior courtyard. Most impressive for me was the massive entry lobby with a warm wood décor and a constant blazing fireplace. The design hit a contemporary note while still maintaining a certain Minneapolis vibe. It was not too clubby, and not trying to hard to look too slick. (I’d stayed previously at the Minneapolis W, which perhaps strayed to far in the night-club direction)

It’s a big hotel overall, and aside from the lobby – it does maintain a kind of “Anywhere, USA” vibe. Sometimes this is what you want in a hotel – particularly for conference – so I think it served its job quite well.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark B, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Minneapolis, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Thank you so very much for the thorough review. I believe the lobby is the perfect spot for conference guests to network for work and relaxation! I personally just returned from a Thanksgiving break and took the light rail from the airport back to the hotel. $1.75 for the train and a 10 minute walk to the Hyatt. A grerat option as you mention! Look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

577 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    251
    242
    56
    22
    6
See reviews for
63
113
18
286
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
toronto
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We just returned home from a 3-night stay.

The Good: The hotel is newly renovated. Dark blue and natural elements type of design. Not overly loving the Mad-Men look but I like that everything is new. Very pleasant staff, especially in the restaurant. The gym is out of this world amazing, with even a basketball court!. Rooms were a very good size, with a full-room wide picture window and a bathroom big enough to house a small family. They have a fantastic shop onsite (prices were high though - $8.99 for a bag of popcorn? No thanks). Housekeeping was very quick in responding to a problem in my room - which was immediately rectified. I liked the lobby - interesting furniture - the log sofa was neat - and an inviting fireplace. It was a nice space. Location was good - many restaurants/bars/shopping/Target/Macy's, etc. within a very short walk.

The Bad: Hallways are dark. As someone mentioned, I had trouble with figuring out how to turn on the bedside light fixtures. The breakfast buffet, which we had every morning of our stay, was high quality, beautifully presented and a nice selection, but everything that should have been hot was basically lukewarm, even the items just brought out from the kitchen. (Those black heating element thingys they are using obviously are not working.) Coffee is also way too strong (even for me). Towels were a bit thin and there were a few too many hairs that weren't mine on the bathroom floor. I would have liked to purchase the little Red Wing pottery cup glued to the desk. Alas, they had none in the gift shop.

The Verdict - a few quibbles but nothing that would stop me from staying here again, especially since my rate was a good $50 less than the W or the Westin. I was happy with my stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark B, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Minneapolis, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Thank you so much for your recent review. We truly appreciate the feedback and take all comments to heart. We were pleased to hear your comments regarding the comfort of the hotel. We do and try and kep some of the red wing pottery in the Market and have ordered some of the smaller cups for sale. Additionally, we will certainly review the heating elements. We had not previously encountered an issue but appreciate the comments. We look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

I stayed here for 5 days in order to go to a conference at the convention centre which is just 5 mins along the skyway (really handy as you don't need to think about the weather). This was my first stay at a Hyatt and I was pleasantly surprised by the experience, from start to finish all staff were very friendly and attentive. My room was modern and clean, with a large comfortable bed, work area, settee and nice bathroom. In particular the bathroom has some nice touches - great shower and a led lit mirror which also acts as a night light when turned off. I had a good breakfast at the restaurant which was cooked to order (there was a buffet option which I didn't try). The coffee shop was also good and offered a nice selection of pastries, cereals and healthy options.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark B, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Minneapolis, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thank you so much for the great review! We are pleased with the renovation of the hotel and are thrilled that you are also. Sorry you missed the buffet! We use locally sourced items and it is fantastic value. Looking forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Masonville, CO
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We just spent 4 days at the Hyatt Regency in downtown Minneapolis for a professional meeting at the Convention Center. The room was $200/night and very small especially considering the cost. Their website describes daily newpaper delivery but you won't get a paper unless you request it on check in. In addition the room appears to be designed for male guests without a mirror anywhere except in the bathroom. We had the breakfast buffet one morning and the selections were all either cold or room temperature - another overpriced option. And the main lobby has terrible acoustics with loud echo throughout. They really need some kind of sound dampening in this large, cold feeling space.

Room Tip: When going to Minneapolis on business try another hotel in the downtown area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark B, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Minneapolis, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Thank you for the feedback. I was disappointed to learn that you were not satisfied with your experience. Would love the opportunity to discuss your stay with you if you have a moment. My direct line is 612.596.4505.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minneapolis
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

I was trying to burn off some loyalty points for HYATT and booked a weekend here. The renovations are throughout the building : great rooms, a super cool market where you can get yummy salads, sandwiches, pastries and coffee (yes, latte too) and other treats. Staff everyone from check-in to the market to the bellhops were friendly and courteous.

Workout facility is stunningly huge and all club-quality stuff. This used to be a neighborhood gym, so the hotel took it back and is using for ONLY hotel guests. If it ain't here, you didn't need it. On business, I DO check out hotels based on gym facility - so this is fantastic!

Only downside - there's a decent pool on floor 6, but no hottub. that's my only complaint. Rooms are well appointed and renovated as well. Location is DT Minneapolis - great location

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark B, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Minneapolis, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Thank you so much for the review! You hit on two personal favorites of mine, the gym and the Market. I especially enjoy the veggie flatbread wrap after a workout in the gym. Come back and see us soon to enjoy both. Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Traveled here in October for business. The property has undergone a pleasant remodel. Big pluses: customer service is really nice. Two negatives: light fixtures are hard to figure out...which is minor. Also, the bathroom did not have a bathtub but the vanity area was great.

TV was great, bed was comfy, room was quite. I really liked the coffee shop downstairs.

Room Tip: Ask for complimentary wifi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark B, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Minneapolis, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to provide a review! We appreciate the feedback on the lighting and are looking for an attractive way to point out the switch. We are pleased you found the room otherwise to your satisfaction and the Market is a personal favorite of mine. We look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Just enjoyed three wonderful days in Minneapolis. I have never enjoyed a hotel so much! The facilities are beautiful, complete with gas fireplace in the lobby and elegantly decorated guest rooms. However, it was the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff that made my stay so wonderful. From an initial greeting call after check in to help from the Concierge choosing restaurants for dinner, I was always greeted by name and offered help that I didn't even know I needed until they asked. The best part of the hotel, however, had to be the fitness center. Rooms and rooms of equipment! I've never before been able to do kickboxing at a hotel. Whatever your fancy (cardio, weights, resistence, yoga, or even basketball on a real court!) they've got you covered.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark B, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Minneapolis, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Thnk you so much for the fantastic review! I agree that the fitness center is pretty special but I must say that my favorite part of the hotel is the "friendly satff" you encountered. But I'm biased! Truly, we are humbled by your kind words and appreciate the recognition. You have made a lot of people proud today. We look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Regency Minneapolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Minneapolis

Address: 1300 Nicollet Mall, Minneapolis, MN 55403
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Minneapolis
#5 Luxury Hotel in Minneapolis
#6 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
#7 Green Hotel in Minneapolis
#12 Family Hotel in Minneapolis
#17 Romantic Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Minneapolis 4*
Number of rooms: 533
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Full service hotel located in the heart of downtown on Nicollet Mall. Connected by climate-controlled skyway to the Minneapolis Convention Center, downtown restaurants, shopping, and entertainment. The Hotel completed an extensive renovation in May of 2012. This renovation features new guest rooms and a completely transformed lobby and Food and Beverage options. Including Prairie Kitchen and Bar, an upscale bar/restaurant, and expansive marketplace for grab and go items as well as sundries. Hotel features an extensive StayFit fitness facility and over 74,000 sq. feet of flexible meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hyatt Regency Minneapolis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Minneapolis Hotel Minneapolis
Minneapolis Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Regency Minneapolis On Nicollet Mall
Hyatt Minneapolis

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Minneapolis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.