We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great renovations, workout area, staff and market” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Minneapolis

Save Saved
You added Hyatt Regency Minneapolis to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Minneapolis
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1300 Nicollet Mall, Minneapolis, MN 55403   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Stay More, Save More
Ranked #11 of 48 Hotels in Minneapolis
GreenLeadersBronze level
minneapolis
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great renovations, workout area, staff and market”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

I was trying to burn off some loyalty points for HYATT and booked a weekend here. The renovations are throughout the building : great rooms, a super cool market where you can get yummy salads, sandwiches, pastries and coffee (yes, latte too) and other treats. Staff everyone from check-in to the market to the bellhops were friendly and courteous.

Workout facility is stunningly huge and all club-quality stuff. This used to be a neighborhood gym, so the hotel took it back and is using for ONLY hotel guests. If it ain't here, you didn't need it. On business, I DO check out hotels based on gym facility - so this is fantastic!

Only downside - there's a decent pool on floor 6, but no hottub. that's my only complaint. Rooms are well appointed and renovated as well. Location is DT Minneapolis - great location

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark B, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Minneapolis, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Thank you so much for the review! You hit on two personal favorites of mine, the gym and the Market. I especially enjoy the veggie flatbread wrap after a workout in the gym. Come back and see us soon to enjoy both. Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

511 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    221
    211
    51
    22
    6
See reviews for
54
103
17
246
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Traveled here in October for business. The property has undergone a pleasant remodel. Big pluses: customer service is really nice. Two negatives: light fixtures are hard to figure out...which is minor. Also, the bathroom did not have a bathtub but the vanity area was great.

TV was great, bed was comfy, room was quite. I really liked the coffee shop downstairs.

Room Tip: Ask for complimentary wifi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark B, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Minneapolis, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to provide a review! We appreciate the feedback on the lighting and are looking for an attractive way to point out the switch. We are pleased you found the room otherwise to your satisfaction and the Market is a personal favorite of mine. We look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Just enjoyed three wonderful days in Minneapolis. I have never enjoyed a hotel so much! The facilities are beautiful, complete with gas fireplace in the lobby and elegantly decorated guest rooms. However, it was the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff that made my stay so wonderful. From an initial greeting call after check in to help from the Concierge choosing restaurants for dinner, I was always greeted by name and offered help that I didn't even know I needed until they asked. The best part of the hotel, however, had to be the fitness center. Rooms and rooms of equipment! I've never before been able to do kickboxing at a hotel. Whatever your fancy (cardio, weights, resistence, yoga, or even basketball on a real court!) they've got you covered.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark B, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Minneapolis, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Thnk you so much for the fantastic review! I agree that the fitness center is pretty special but I must say that my favorite part of the hotel is the "friendly satff" you encountered. But I'm biased! Truly, we are humbled by your kind words and appreciate the recognition. You have made a lot of people proud today. We look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big Lake, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We were in the city to see a concert and got a great deal for this hotel. We were very pleased with our KING room on the 20th floor. The staff was what really made our stay wonderful! They helped with directions, local places to grab some food and holding our luggage after we checked out so we could grab a quick bite.

They offer a FREE shuttle and we were able to use it to get down to the Target Center. We took a cab back after the concert and bar hopping and it was only about $6 (plus tip).

The only area I saw for improvement was the noise level outside of the room that we could hear.

We would definately stay here again!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark B, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Minneapolis, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Thank you for the great feeback! I could not agree more! The staff is what makes our property so special. The local shuttle is a huge plus and we appreciate that you were able to use it around the downtown area. There are so many restaurants, bars, etc that are within walking distance but it is great to hope in the shuttle as the weather gets a little cooler! We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Just wanted to thank Hyatt Minneapolis for a great stay, over 4 nights, 5 days. The first day, when I returned to my room, I found the door was accidentally left open for most of the day by housekeeping. I was very shook up though nothing was missing. The hotel managed the situation very well- security was great, the manager checked in on me several times, and they upgraded my room to a secure floor and gave me access to the Regency Club. That made a huge different. In particular, Robert from the concierge staff at the Regency Club on the 22nd floor was fantastic, really helpful and looked after me everyday to make sure I was comfortable with my stay (I was quite shook up at first, when I arrived to find my room open). The Club was great with a lounge, and free breakfast and happy hour snacks. Besides my situation, in general I found the hotel to be stylish, with good amenities, and the room was very comfortable, well laid out, and had everything I need, except perhaps for a mini-fridge, that would have been nice. In any case, I don't think I've ever stayed at a Hyatt before but I will certainly again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark B, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Minneapolis, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
First and foremost, please accept my apologies for your door being left open. Obviously, we have addresses this with the entire team and are actually replacing all of our doors in November. I was pleased to hear of your experience and have already thanked Robert for exceeding your expectations. We look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
davidlkaplan@comcast.net
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

A renovation has brought this hotel back up to a Hyatt standard. Everything was first rate. Most elements of the room were high quality. The lack of HD will always be mentioned as a negative.

The Lobby area offered a very nice work space. The service I received at the restaurant was excellent. The front desk manager worked to find me a nicer room. Good job.

The location is nice. It's right at the end of Nicollet Mall with several nice restaurants a short walk away.

I can highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark B, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Minneapolis, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thank you acknowledging our recent renovation! We are very pleased with the way it turned out and are excited to show off our new product. The staff will be thrilled to learn that you will be recommending to others. Thank you again for the great review and we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012 via mobile

I would definitely stay here again. The staff was friendly and fast and the rooms are comfortable and clean. The restaurant has a very interesting menu focused on local ingredients and the food quality was good for a hotel restaurant. Prices were also reasonable. I went to the gym, which was the size of a health club. Tons of cardio equipment, weight machines and dumbells up to 120 lbs. Best hotel gym I've been to.
I had low expectations going in, but was pleasantly surprised by the Hyatt Regency.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark B, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Minneapolis, responded to this review, October 28, 2012
Thank you so much for the great review! I was pleased to learn of your experience in the restaurant as well as the fitness center. Both of these are personal favorites of mine as well! We look forward to your return and appreciate the feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Regency Minneapolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Minneapolis

Address: 1300 Nicollet Mall, Minneapolis, MN 55403
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Minneapolis
#7 Green Hotel in Minneapolis
#8 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
#9 Family Hotel in Minneapolis
#19 Romantic Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Minneapolis 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Full service hotel located in the heart of downtown on Nicollet Mall. Connected by climate-controlled skyway to the Minneapolis Convention Center, downtown restaurants, shopping, and entertainment. The Hotel completed an extensive renovation in May of 2012. This renovation features new guest rooms and a completely transformed lobby and Food and Beverage options. Including Prairie Kitchen and Bar, an upscale bar/restaurant, and expansive marketplace for grab and go items as well as sundries. Hotel features an extensive StayFit fitness facility and over 74,000 sq. feet of flexible meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, Priceline, Reservation Counter and Odigeo so you can book your Hyatt Regency Minneapolis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Minneapolis Hotel Minneapolis
Minneapolis Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Regency Minneapolis On Nicollet Mall
Hyatt Minneapolis

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Minneapolis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.