We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“poor service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Minneapolis Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard Minneapolis Downtown to your Saves list
Courtyard Minneapolis Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1500 Washington Avenue South, Minneapolis, MN 55454 (Formerly Hotel Minneapolis Metrodome)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #22 of 47 Hotels in Minneapolis
rice lake
1 review
“poor service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Did not get room asked for as in we had a pull out bed in lie of 2 queens. Also got woken up by housekeeping to clean out room, they actually opened the door. Then they disturbed us again 2 hrs later. And room service food was not prepared as asked.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    43
    8
    3
    1
See reviews for
18
18
4
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chisholm, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I stayed at the Courtyard Marriott Minneapolis Downtown for one night because of a wedding in the area. Overall, I had a pleasant experience.

The Good:
1 The décor was modern and seems to have been recently updated.
2 The hotel service was very good. They were friendly and I felt welcomed. They also got us in our room at 12:00 which is awesome!!
3 The location is also a plus for somebody who wants to access the sights. You are within walking distance to several restaurants and bars and when the new Metrodome is complete. It is easy access to I-35 and you can see it from the freeway.
4: The hotel had a small shop where you could purchase soda, other beverages, and some frozen foods.
The Bad:
1 There isn't any complimentary breakfast offered at this hotel. The Bistro offers Starbucks Coffee and a breakfast though.
2 The roof in the pool area was leaking, making it drip into the pool. I had told the front desk about this issue, and they were very nice about it and made sure that it was going to get repaired.
3 You have to pay $17.00 to park here, and valet service is $25.00, although it is understandable for this area.


The Courtyard is overall a good choice when looking for a hotel in Minneapolis.

Room Tip: Might be worth asking for a suite if you're staying here for more than 2 nights. These rooms are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle Rock, CO.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I travel for business more than 100 nights per year. I am a loyal Marriott traveler. I have recently been in a courtship with another Hotel brand that offered me Gold status so that I could take their properties for a 'test drive'. For the past 4 weeks I have stayed at the other brand in 7 different cities, in 4 different States. So this was my first time back at s Marriott property in a while, and what a relief. This hotel is one of my favorite hotels within the 18 States that I travel. Here are the things that I expect and this hotel delivers on them all: Clean rooms with modern decor & amenities, a comfortable, large work area/desk, a large TV w/ HDMI hookups, a bathroom with plenty of room on the vanity, a modern shower, and a safe in the room. The beds in this Courtyard are far superior to the "dream" mattresses in the other hotel brand.

The restaurant is your typical Courtyard Bistro, but what makes it unique is how large it is. The bar/bistro area is great for relaxing or meeting up with colleges. But the kicker here is the HUGE TV area with "theater style" seating. The evening I was there they had a playoff hockey game on the TV & the atmosphere in the room was awesome. There are a couple of restaurants & bars right next to the hotel if you want to venture out.

The only drawback that I had was the new Valet parking company. You can sell park onsite or use the valet. I choose the valet and was completely underwhelmed by their performance. I was given a business card with a cell phone number in it and told to call or text 10-15 minutes before I came down for the car. Day 1 I sent a text at 8:15 letting them know I would be down at 8:30. I arrived at 8:35 after waiting in line for Starbucks (no complaints about the line) and not only was my car not ready, they claimed they never received my text. Although I received a text reply saying my car would be ready. Yeah, I was confused too... Day 2 I sent a text at 8:45 advising that I was on the way down. Again, no car and the only young man that I saw working seemed in no hurry to retrieve my car even though I had given them 15 minutes...I know the valet company is not operated by this Courtyard but unfortunately they are a reflection of the hotel. The valet company should have the same level of customer service and professionalism that the Courtyard does. I'm thinking on my next stay, I will just self park. BUT, I really enjoy this hotel, the property and most importantly, the wonderful staff!

Stayed May 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Hotel is located in an area called 7 points and is very convenient to the downtown area. They have a free shuttle that will take you to particular areas nearby. The rooms are nice, very comfortable bed, and included a small refrigerator. I thought elite members had complimentary water in the room, but I may be confusing this with Starwood hotels. The only issue I had was with the water pressure in the shower. If someone flushed a toilet nearby (which you could hear in the pipes), the water in the shower would shut off for a second. Thankfully it always came back on, but it was a bit annoying. Overall I would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I recently stayed for a work conference and loved it so much I had to stay a couple weeks later with my significant other. The views of downtown can't be beat. I used to live in uptown Mpls and have always been fond of this area. I love that there is so much culture, many restaurants and full of the richness of Mpls history right here. I have to tell you another selling point was the care and time taken by David 'Dee' Kurtz (I believe the Manager) to make sure that every single detail was met to my liking and each time he and the hotel exceeded my expectations. He was professional, personable and hospitable. Hotel bonus: starbucks, bar and restarant on site. The bar serves locally loved surly and summit. I had the shrimp postickers that were delicious. Some room tips: city views from the 7th floor up are amazing. If you are going as a couple the corner rooms facing downtown are probably the best (request one). What is not romantic about the Mpls skyline lit up at night? I live in Duluth now, this is my new go to place for when I need some city time. Thanks to the helpful courtyard staff for two very enjoyable stays!

Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manassas Park, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2015

This Marriott met our specific needs for our funeral trip to Minneapolis. When you just want a clean bed and no hassle bar and place to eat it's perfect. Due to our traveling while in grief and terrible experience provided by US Airways/ American Airlines it was nice to walk into the hotel and grab a drink right in the lobby. The bartenders were pleasant and human which was a nice touch. The rooms were clean and the beds very comfortable and the staff were not at all pushy or rude they were just pleasant. During the day I walked in the general area to see what was around. I walked to get my kid a shirt from University of Minnesota bookstore because the weather was perfect for walking. There are plenty of options in walking distance to this hotel for food and drink if you are wanting to venture out. I do agree with someone else who did say if they had a complimentary coffee bar which I have seen other Marriott's offer that would be the one thing that I would add.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2015 via mobile

Stayed 3 nights on business. Very clean and new. Room was quite. Checking in was easy. Gym was good with a nice view of the city. Good food close by. Parking was a little pricy but expected for the location. I will stay here again.

Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Courtyard Minneapolis Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Minneapolis Downtown

Address: 1500 Washington Avenue South, Minneapolis, MN 55454 (Formerly Hotel Minneapolis Metrodome)
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Minneapolis
#23 Romantic Hotel in Minneapolis
#29 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Minneapolis Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 265
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Courtyard Minneapolis Downtown, a stylish new hotel in Minneapolis, MN, impresses travelers with inviting accommodations and state-of-the-art facilities. Our hotel's location in Minneapolis, MN is adjacent to I-94 and I-35W and is only eight miles from MSP International Airport. Guests are steps from Guthrie Theater, Mill City Museum, the breathtaking St. Anthony Falls and many other downtown attractions. Travelers can retreat to spacious, smartly designed rooms featuring plush bedding, large desks, ergonomic chairs and free Wi-Fi, for work or relaxation. The Bistro at our hotel in Minneapolis serves an energizing breakfast and mouthwatering evening fare. Keep up your fitness regimen in our gym or let tensions float away in our indoor pool. We provide optimal settings for focused meetings and special events within comfortably productive breakout space and a 5,200-square-foot ballroom. For modern amenities and welcoming service, choose Courtyard by Marriott in Minneapolis, MN as your lodging destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Marriott and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Courtyard Minneapolis Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Minneapolis Metrodome Hotel Minneapolis
Minneapolis Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard Minneapolis Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.