We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware the pool unless you are fit.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Minneapolis Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard Minneapolis Downtown to your Saves list
Courtyard Minneapolis Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1500 Washington Avenue South, Minneapolis, MN 55454 (Formerly Hotel Minneapolis Metrodome)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #19 of 48 Hotels in Minneapolis
East Haddam, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Beware the pool unless you are fit.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I choose this hotel because they had a swimming pool and I need to exercise to recover from surgery. However, getting in and out of the pool was very difficult...there were two toe holds in the side and no steps, not even the usual metal ones...high style but non-functional and certainly not accessible, since it was painful and scary getting out. Plus, the pool is small and cold. Otherwise, staff are nice and the hotel has the trendy styling of all Courtyards. My only beef was with the pool.

Room Tip: I was upgraded to a suite and it was high-style.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    32
    6
    3
    1
See reviews for
13
16
3
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stickney, South Dakota, USA
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

OK so we booked our room coming from south dakota as 4 friends going to the Vikings game. Hotel is big and beautiful, first of all, parking was an absolute joke. We asked as we checked in where to park, they said in the public part...ok, we tried, nope, you need to buy a $17 a day parking pass. Fine. Then we couldn't even find a spot except for the highest level or the garage. Fine. We get in the elevator and realize you have to go all the way to the ground floor, and walk back outside, while carrying all your stuff, and then back into the hotel and up those elevators to our room on the 5th floor. Why don't they just tell you this when you check in? Because people would be annoyed and say no thank you and walk out. This is exhausting.
Now, the room. It was beautifully remodeled and decorated, except one thing. They forgot the bathroom. It was so small. 2 girls could not get their hair done at that same time. We tried. Also, where is the exhaust fan? For people with low blood pressure, that much heat and steam will cause you to pass out. Because the bathroom was so small, I decided to sit on the floor by the big closet mirrors to do my hair and makeup, well another mistake, no outlets or lights? For being recently remodeled they made alot of mistakes.

Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard M, General Manager at Courtyard Minneapolis Downtown, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to provide thoughtful feedback about your recent stay with us at the Courtyard Minneapolis Downtown! Please accept my sincerest apologies for the issues that you experienced while you were our guest. The ramp adjacent to the hotel, while convenient for our guests to use, is owned by a third party. I promise to follow up with the front desk to ensure the parking options are being clearly explained and the option of unloading prior to parking is being offered. I know how bothersome it can be to haul luggage around and I am sorry that the option to unload prior to parking was not provided to you upon arrival. We have received feedback about the lighting in the main entrance of the guestroom previously and are looking at options to add more light to that space soon. Per code, the ventilation in our guest bathrooms does run 24-hours a day. We would be happy to check your previous guestroom to ensure it is functioning properly. If you would like to discuss your experience further, please feel free to contact me directly. Once again, please accept my apology. Phil Johnson - GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westfield, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Just returned from a business trip in Minneapolis, and stayed at the Courtyard Minneapolis Hotel. Upon my arrival, the staff was absolutely amazing!! What a great bunch of people, individuals that absolutely love and embrace their job!!! Very warm and welcoming staff all around. I stayed there for 7-days, and not one day went bye that I was not greeted/treated as if i were a King!!!

Hotel wise - wasn't a big fan of the lighting in the room, not enough lights, had to open the curtains in the morning in order to light up the room. Big show yeah, but they could have hung a hook on the back of the bathroom door to reach and or dry a towel.....

-Digs

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The staff is very friendly and helpful. The room and lobby was clean and well appointed. The bed and pillows were super comfortable. The HVAC and thermostat worked well. All the elevators worked and we never had wait long for the elevator. The lobby was nice and spacious, they had many little sitting areas where hotel guests can meet their friends or relatives. There was no front desk that we are used to seeing, they have a few pedestals/desks where the guests can register or check out. There were enough associates working that you didn't even notice or cared about the unusual setup.

The reason I didn't give a 5 star rating:

No hooks in the bathroom. No place to hang your clothes and trousers, have to put the clothes you're changing into on the sink/vanity....and then try not to wet them if you have the sink before or after you shower.

No coffee in the lobby as with other Courtyards and Marriots we have stayed at. Didn't upset us too much, we went to the excellent tavern next door anyway. (please, don't pass the stuff near the dirty coffee maker in the room as coffee)

No cups in the bathroom, have to use one of the two glasses from the microwave/ice bucket area so that we can brush our teeth. Had to carry the glass back and forth so that we can drink soda or water in the room.

We, and our other friends who travelled to this hotel, had trouble finding it. What is the right address? Entering the above adress into Google took us to the otherside of the Mississippi, got lost for 45 minutes coming from the airport. Only after entering the address as "1500 South Washington Ave" did we find the hotel.

Parking fee add on. $17/day. Yes other downtown hotels may charge a parking fee, but this hotel is not really downtown.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Springfield, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed here for work. I'll be coming back to Minneapolis quite a bit over the next three months and plan on staying here every time I'm out. The good location around town close to work a lot of stuff in the area. Hotel is clean. They have a decent restaurant on site only serves breakfast and dinner. Not a big menu but good they have good variety of foods. They only drawback is having to pay for parking each day that's kind of expensive so you have to factor that into the price of the hotel.

Stayed November 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard M, General Manager at Courtyard Minneapolis Downtown, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to let us know how your recent stay with us was. I am glad to hear that our central location is a good fit for your travels and that you have enjoyed your experiences in our Bistro. The ramp adjacent to the hotel, while conveniently located for all of our guests to utilize, is owned by a third party and does have an additional fee associated with its use. I encourage you next time to look at our room packages as we do offer a parking package for a fraction of the price – promo-code PARK. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Thank you,
Phil Johnson - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheboygan, WI
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2014

This newly renovated, high rise hotel is very impressive. We thoroughly enjoyed our recent three-night stay. The overall experience here is more like that in a first rate Hyatt or Intercontinental than that of typical mid-tier Courtyards. In fact, we liked this hotel better than the Marriott City Center in downtown Minneapolis where we usually stay when in the area
One thing, however, as others have mentioned, this hotel is most definitely not in downtown Minneapolis. It is located on the edge of the University of Minnesota West Bank campus. A more accurate name would be “Courtyard by Marriott-University.”
It is also near the U of M Children’s Hospital. Downtown is on the other side of Interstate 35W, more than walking distance away. There is a Green Line light rail station a block or so from the hotel. Nicollet Mall station is 3 stops to the west, Target Field 5 stops. Connections can be made at either downtown stop with the Blue Line that runs to the airport and the Mall of America.
As for the hotel, it was originally a Holiday Inn. A year or so ago, the Marriott company completely gutted the interior and rebuilt it. The room furnishings are top quality, as are the beds. Rooms on upper floors on the southwest side of the building look out over the beautiful downtown skyline and the construction site of the new football stadium. The public areas are beautiful, modern high fashion design. The lounge bar is popular and where a fine selection of breakfast items are available in the morning. Everyone we encountered from check in, to bartenders, to wait staff was friendly and professional.
This is now my first choice for future stays in the Twin Cities.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Falls, SD
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2014

Stayed on a Sat. night after a concert at the Target center. Was initially concerned that the distance would be too much compared to one of the more convenient downtown locations. Our weekend rate was around $175. Rates for the downtown hotels started at $300 and went up. Our thought was that a $10 UBER trip would far outweigh the extra cost associated with a more central location. This was the right to go. Save your money and take a 5 minute cab ride.

The location is central by a few restaurants and brew pubs, all within a 2 minute walk. This made eating convenient. There is also a Starbucks in the lobby which made the morning tolerable. The staff was very helpful and the room was a standard Courtyard room, a little more on the upscale side but nothing earth-shattering. Parking was convenient and the easy on/off from the Interstate 35 made getting around the city very easy when we did drive.

I love convenient locations but as long as Uber can get me places round trip for <$20, this hotel has now become by Downtown MSP hub.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard Minneapolis Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Minneapolis Downtown

Address: 1500 Washington Avenue South, Minneapolis, MN 55454 (Formerly Hotel Minneapolis Metrodome)
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Minneapolis
#17 Romantic Hotel in Minneapolis
#30 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Minneapolis Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 265
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Minneapolis Metrodome offers a convenient location and a memorable stay. Located on the edge of downtown and adjacent to the University of Minnesota means guests are close to everything great in Minneapolis. The hotel offers complimentary internet access and transportation service to the Metrodome light rail station and University of Minnesota campus. Guests can take in the view of downtown Minneapolis when exercising in the fitness center or unwinding in the heated indoor pool, hot tub or sauna located on the 14th floor. Whether you visit Minneapolis for business or vacation, stay comfortably at the Hotel Minneapolis Metrodome hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard Minneapolis Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Minneapolis Metrodome Hotel Minneapolis
Minneapolis Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard Minneapolis Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.