We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOrst Customer Service at the Time of Check Inn” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Minneapolis Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Courtyard Minneapolis Downtown to your Saves list
Courtyard Minneapolis Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1500 Washington Avenue South, Minneapolis, MN 55454 (Formerly Hotel Minneapolis Metrodome)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #19 of 48 Hotels in Minneapolis
GLASTONBURY, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“WOrst Customer Service at the Time of Check Inn”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I am Marriot Paltinum for the past few years and last month when i went to stay, i got a very horrible customer service by the frond desk especially the lady and i was told she was supervisor . First of all they gave false info about the room and and welcome gift suppose to get 1 item from the market or points but here they asked me if i need to have from Starbucks( which they have inside) and i had choose the Starbucks but i only realized it was a small coffer already they keep Starbucks coffee in the lounge and mis quoted to me.Also i was told i got upgraded to a nice room but not until i went and saw they gave a last room which was no good. Then changed it to a different one and other thing i found it was they have very old towels are used and they are ugly and dirty when i question they mentioned they will change, So when i had this service i immediately cancelled all my future resrvations b'cos i didn't like the service . Never go again.

Room Tip: Make sure you get the item from market or market not from the starbucks
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard M, General Manager at Courtyard Minneapolis Downtown, responded to this review, 5 days ago
I sincerely apologize that your recent stay was not at all satisfactory and appreciate your feedback. Superior customer service is the foundation to a memorable experience. Clearly we missed the mark there. I promise to share your feedback with my entire staff and will take immediate corrective steps to avoid having another guest experience what you experienced.

If you would like to discuss your experience further, please feel free to contact me directly. Once again, please accept my apology. We would like to regain your trust and we hope you will allow us an opportunity to provide you with an exceptional experience when your travels bring you back to this area.

Sincerely,
Phil Johnson - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    29
    3
    3
    1
See reviews for
12
14
2
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

staff very good, reasonable food options & excellent amenities. Parking a bit odd, not to have a hotel entrance, but hotel mitigates issue well. Great views from the gym & indoor pool. Great choice if you need to be near the University.

Room Tip: ask for a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed at the Courtyard for business for one night and had a good experience. The hotel is about 10 minutes by car from downtown Minneapolis and about 5-7 from the trendy Warehouse District.

The rooms were a nice size and very comfortable. The bistro in the hotel lobby had a great breakfast with Starbucks coffee. It was also very easy to get a taxi or Uber in the area.

The only negatives were the lighting in the bathroom was HORRIBLE. Don't even consider applying makeup there without probably a light from your phone to help. Also, the fitness center was lacking for a hotel of this size. Only 6 pieces of cardio equipment and one set of weights.

Stayed October 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beachbum185
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The room was very nice, I had a king size bed and a couch. The bed was very comfortable. It is not quite downtown, so please be aware in case you were looking for a place right in the middle of the city, but it is not too far. They have a city bike station right in front of the hotel, they are only $6 to rent for the day (you just have to check into another station every hour or so, which is not a problem, there are plenty of stations all over the city). I rented a bike and it was a wonderful was to spend a Sunday afternoon, exploring the city. There are several restaurants nearby and the breakfast at the hotel was fast and delicious. The pool was nice to swim in after a long day. Every employee was super friendly, very helpful when I had questions. Overall, a very pleasant stay. I would book this hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed in a great end room with fabulous view of downtown. Room was large, clean, and comfortable. The bed was one of the most comfortable in which I've slept, and I appreciated the extra pillows I had requested. Great location! Would definitely return to this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, TX
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Nice property just be aware that parking is a mindboggling $17/day and that the hotel is not located downtown. They should change the name as it's very misleading. The rooms are a nice size and The Corner Bar across the street offers very cold beer.

Room Tip: Expensive parking. Not downtown.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard M, General Manager at Courtyard Minneapolis Downtown, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
I am deeply sorry you were not made aware of the area parking options prior to your arrival. We do our best to be as transparent as possible about guest parking and unfortunately came up short. While convenient, the adjacent ramp is not owned by the hotel and as you indicated does come at a cost. We are conveniently in Minneapolis located just east of the major business district and just to the west of the University of Minnesota district on the junction of 35W and 94.

If you come back to our hotel - I would love to have the opportunity to speak with you directly, so please ask for me. We hope to see you again in the future and wish you the very best.

Thank you,
Phil Johnson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2014

I stayed at this hotel just recently and I thought it was good! It seemed recently renovated and the lobby/restaurant area was very modern and really nice!
It looked like it was busy because there was even a line to get into the elevator... The hotel in general was good, my only problem is that the rooms were sooooo small!! I was on the 10th floor and I had a corner room (usually these are larger) and it was sooo small, I barely had room to move around! Thank god I was there for just one night, because I fell claustrophobic with such a tiny space! Other than that, everything else was ok. They have USB rechargeable outlets by the tv, but the ones in my room didn't work. Overall, the hotel was good, great location!

Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard Minneapolis Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Minneapolis Downtown

Address: 1500 Washington Avenue South, Minneapolis, MN 55454 (Formerly Hotel Minneapolis Metrodome)
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Minneapolis
#20 Romantic Hotel in Minneapolis
#31 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Minneapolis Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 265
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Minneapolis Metrodome offers a convenient location and a memorable stay. Located on the edge of downtown and adjacent to the University of Minnesota means guests are close to everything great in Minneapolis. The hotel offers complimentary internet access and transportation service to the Metrodome light rail station and University of Minnesota campus. Guests can take in the view of downtown Minneapolis when exercising in the fitness center or unwinding in the heated indoor pool, hot tub or sauna located on the 14th floor. Whether you visit Minneapolis for business or vacation, stay comfortably at the Hotel Minneapolis Metrodome hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Reservation Counter, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard Minneapolis Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Minneapolis Metrodome Hotel Minneapolis
Minneapolis Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard Minneapolis Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.