We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice since remodeled” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Minneapolis Downtown

Save Saved
You added Courtyard Minneapolis Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Courtyard Minneapolis Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1500 Washington Avenue South, Minneapolis, MN 55454 (Formerly Hotel Minneapolis Metrodome)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #16 of 48 hotels in Minneapolis
Sacramento, California
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Nice since remodeled”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

I stayed here two nights on my last business trip. Nicely remodeled since my last stay two years ago.
The staff were quite friendly and check in was quick. I stayed on the seventh floor, away from the elevators and vending. Room was spacious and quiet. No view but I didn't care. The only annoying thing was the lighting. Very dim which I hate. Plenty of outlets to charge phones, iPad, computer, etc.
No room service. With plenty of restaurants, who cares. Also, there is a bistro in the lobby; I can't comment as I did not eat in the bistro but the menu seemed good.
Plenty of computers I the lobby to use for airline check in.
Small pantry with drinks, snacks, microwave foods, ice cream, etc. Expensive, though.
Note: cab fare from airport is $50 with tip. Try the light rail instead. Only a few block walk and much cheaper.

Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    21
    24
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
9
14
2
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manitowoc, Wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I needed a hotel for one night while visiting the University of Minnesota Twin Cities campus. I didn't want to spend a lot, but needed a good location since I'm not familiar with the area and did not want to drive around much. Other reviews for this hotel were accurate, very helpful!

If you want to be close to campus, like great pub food and beer, and don't mind a basic yet good restaurant breakfast, this is a great choice. It was all these things, plus very clean, modern and fairly easy to get to. Parking seemed high at $17/night though the U of M discount was fairly generous, so I was fine paying it. The front desk service was superb, answering all our questions and showing sincere concern when we asked for a BandAid.

We had dinner directly across the street at Republic, and it was awesome. We had breakfast in the hotel. They have a Starbucks, and offer things like fruit & yogurt cups to eggs with the works. We had a drink at the bar and the bar staff were very friendly and offered us samples of the local beers.

The only negative for me was no fan in the bathroom. There were 4 of us taking showers and a fan would have been nice.

If my daughter attends the University, I will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ninth floor room had a decent view over to the University. It seems the "corner" rooms wou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poynette, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The rooms are very comfortable, clean and quiet. Check-in was quick and the front desk staff was helpful with questions about restaurants and activities. We were in town for a wedding and the rates were very reasonable. There are several restaurants very close. The only negative is that the hotel charges $17 a night for parking in an adjoining city ramp, but there is no guarantee you will be able to find a parking place even though you are charged for one.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Had booked two weeks prior for three nights. I show up at 11pm and I was informed that they gave away my room. I kid you not. Manager was useless and offered no help in getting anything beyond a single night in another random hotel. I've never even heard of that happening before.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dick T, General Manager at Courtyard Minneapolis Downtown, responded to this review, 1 week ago
I would like to sincerely apologize for the poor welcome you received and invite you to call if you like so I may personally convey my regret. I do hope to speak with you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed at this hotel to attend a wedding . Price was fantastic, close to lots of activities and the University. Rooms were clean and modern. Only drawback was the parking but for a downtown hotel it was okay

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

As a premier member of Marriott, was I surprised by the sheer size of the 'King Suite' rooms which are on the end of each floor. I asked the front desk if the building had been renovated or if it was newly constructed - renovated was the answer. Needless to say, my King Suite room had a very large and spacious living room with a lot of windows and the bedroom was exceptionally large. This location is right near the U of M, walking distance to downtown (maybe a littel bit of a trek) down Washington Avenue.

Room Tip: Near several pubs, little 'feet' from the entrance, this hotel is in a good location. You c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

It was our first time ever visiting MN, we stayed here during our business trip. We absolutely loved the view from our room on the 13th floor! We loved that we could see the beautiful city! Food, gas etc was very convenient to where we were staying. If you love Chipotle or bars etc you'll love staying here because it's within walking distance. The hotel was super nice, the staff was friendly. Only thing I didn't like was that we had to pay for parking AND share the parking garage with the people next door in the apartments. They had a huge party on the top deck and the parking was FULL so no one had a place to park even though they were GUEST at the hotel. I thought that was a but ridiculous. People PAY good money to park there and they couldn't even park at the hotel that they paid good money at. I wasn't too happy about that. They need to work on better parking. Other than the parking issue everything was wonderful! Staff, rooms were nice and clean, the shower was super big which I loved! Would definitely recommend staying here!

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard Minneapolis Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Minneapolis Downtown

Address: 1500 Washington Avenue South, Minneapolis, MN 55454 (Formerly Hotel Minneapolis Metrodome)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Minneapolis
#29 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Minneapolis Downtown 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Minneapolis Metrodome offers a convenient location and a memorable stay. Located on the edge of downtown and adjacent to the University of Minnesota means guests are close to everything great in Minneapolis. The hotel offers complimentary internet access and transportation service to the Metrodome light rail station and University of Minnesota campus. Guests can take in the view of downtown Minneapolis when exercising in the fitness center or unwinding in the heated indoor pool, hot tub or sauna located on the 14th floor. Whether you visit Minneapolis for business or vacation, stay comfortably at the Hotel Minneapolis Metrodome hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Marriott, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Courtyard Minneapolis Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Minneapolis Metrodome Hotel Minneapolis
Minneapolis Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard Minneapolis Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.