We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Great Hotel.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Downtown - Northstar

Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza Downtown - Northstar to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Crowne Plaza Downtown - Northstar
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   618 Second Avenue South, Minneapolis, MN 55402 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #15 of 49 hotels in Minneapolis
Boca Raton, FL
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Location, Great Hotel.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2010

Staff was nice, Great location near ballpark, tons of restaurants and everything else you need to do in Minneapolis. As a Priority Club member we also had the advantage of the concierge level which was very nice. Parking $20... I guess expected for downtown hotel. Other reviews said noisy hotel.. we did not find that.. we were in a corner room.. we ask for that knowing it probably would be quieter (just a suggestion).

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    130
    106
    42
    22
    7
See reviews for
27
73
22
108
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ozark, Missouri
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2010

This was actually the third time my family has used this hotel. Each and every time we have been very, very pleased with all aspects of the hotel. If I had to criticize anything, it's the high internet charge (although I will admit it was far more reliable than many hotel wireless networks) and the fact that the air conditioning seemed inconsistent.

Service is exemplary and friendly, rooms are well-equipped and spotless, and the Hotwire rate we received is an extraordinary value. Our son will be attending the U of M for the next four years and we plan on staying here whenever we visit him.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2010

I chose this hotel over several options based on tripadvisor reviews. What a mistake! The rooms, price, location and, even, service are all adequate. However, I did read once or twice that is seemed like a party hotel. What an understatement! My floor partied loudly until 2 and 3 in the morning. Hotel security always responded but, even as the din quieted, the walls are just too thin to withstand any kind of activity in nearby rooms. On my last night, I checked out around 5 am (since I was still awake!) and caught an early fight home.

If you want to stay up with your buddies all night, check in. Otherwise, go somewhere--anywhere--else. Frankly, there are lots of better options in downtown Minneapolis.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2010

We held three days of meetings at the Crowne Plaza Northstar and could not have been happier. The staff was amazing, and the facility was great. We had a wonderful dinner for 50 on the roof top. I highly recommend the Crowne Plaza Northstar for conferences.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mankato, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2010

I stayed at Crowne Plaza for a weekend getaway with my wife and friends for a twins game. We paid $80 per night and were upgraded to a room that had a walk-out screen door to the terrace/patio level. We were able to make cocktails and sit on the terrace and enjoy the nice day. The room was a little small but comparable to other minneapolis hotels. Front desk service was friendly and quick. Bellman helped us get a cab. and Location is walking distance to restaurants and bars. For $80 it was a great value. I would prefer this hotel to the hyatt/doubletree/and hilton downtown.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowaman1959
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2010

Spent a weekend at the Northstar and loved the stay. The hotel seems to be recently remodeled and the room was elegant and understated. Huge shower and comfortable bed. Great location downtown and low cost parking at the hotel. Will, the check in clerk, was outstanding at his job. He provided a warm welcome and great advice both about restaurants and things to do while in town. Would stay again.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2010

I escaped to the Minneapolis Crowne Plaza from my home just outside the city as a quiet place to escape and get some writing done. While the city itself is far from quiet I have come to learn that the Crowne Plaza is a great place to escape to with the personal touches it offers to ensure a quiet restful stay. I learned on my first stay to the Crowne Plaza from the helpful staff that they offer "quiet floors" where they guarantee that there are no bachelor parties or other load groups. What a treat to find a care package of a sleep mask, ear plugs and lavender linen spray to make my stay more enjoyable. Being right in the heart of the city is always a plus, the only drawback would be the noise at night, but just request to be on a quiet floor and you will be well taken care of!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Crowne Plaza Downtown - Northstar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Downtown - Northstar

Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Downtown - Northstar Hotel
Crowne Plaza Downtown - Northstar Hotel Minneapolis
Crowne Plaza Minneapolis
Crowne Plaza Hotel Minneapolis
Address: 618 Second Avenue South, Minneapolis, MN 55402
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
#25 Family Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Downtown - Northstar 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Minneapolis Crowne Plaza Hotel located in the heart of the downtown Minneapolis business and retail district and connected to the Skyway system for easy access to shopping, dining, sports, entertainment and any other downtown Minneapolis event. Deluxe guestrooms include 2 phones with data-port and voice-mail, wireless high speed Internet access for a fee, On-Demand movies, iron/ironing board, coffee/coffeemaker and USA Today paper delivered daily. Our Cafe Northstar restaurant serves breakfast, lunch and dinner. In addition, our Krona lounge overlooking 2nd Avenue in downtown Minneapolis, features light meals, a connoisseur's collection of spirits, complete wine bar and more than thirty beers & ales in a comfortable atmosphere complete with fireplace. Take advantage of our free Fitness Center and the services of our Business Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Otel and Hotels.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Downtown - Northstar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Downtown - Northstar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.