We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay, Great Location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Downtown - Northstar

Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza Downtown - Northstar to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Downtown - Northstar
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   618 Second Avenue South, Minneapolis, MN 55402 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #21 of 49 hotels in Minneapolis
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great Stay, Great Location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for a night on a trip to Minneapolis to go to the Mall of America and to see the Mets play the Twins. The hotel is in a great location downtown and easily within walking distance of everything we wanted to see. The bed was extremely comfortable, and we had an incredible view of the city!

The woman at the front desk was also very helpful, and informed us about a parking special for hotel guests that saved us a ton of money! Make sure you ask about parking to get the scoop on any deals they can give you.

My only complaint was the wifi...it wasn't a huge deal since I wasn't there for work, but in my opinion, it's 2013 and if you're paying over $100 for a room, your internet access should be free. I definitely wasn't going to pay the $14.99 for 24 hours of access!

Overall, a great place to stay in a wonderful location. I'd definitely stay again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCPNorthstar, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Downtown - Northstar, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Gronezy20,

Thank you for chosing the Crowne Plaza on your recent visit to Minneapolis to watch the Twins play and visit the Mall of America. In regards to internet charges, I am happy to announce that starting in 2014 all IHG rewards members will get free wi-fi access at our hotel and every Crowne plaza. We hope your travels take you back to Minneapolis in the near future.

Have a great day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    143
    117
    51
    24
    9
See reviews for
33
77
24
122
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Nice, quiet room. Right in downtown. Friendly staff and very accommodating. Bed was comfy. Bathroom was a bit small, but not a big deal. Good coffee in the room and TV was more than enough. Overall a good stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mankato, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

My wife and I stayed at he Crowne Plaza for a little overnight date, once a month we travel from southern MN to Minneapolis for fun. We picked the Plaza as we have enjoyed it in the past. The Plaza s in the heart of the city, close to several venues. Our check in went well however when we got up to our room, the room next door was having a small but loud party. I returned to the front desk and asked for a room change. Without hesitation the manager, Ken, moved us to an excellent and quiet room. He also stated he would take care of the party room. Ken also helped us with discounting our parking rate and provided an umbrella for the rainy night. The room was very clean and functional. The bed was extremely comfy and I slept like a baby! The front desk and other staff that we ran into throughout our visit we helpful and friendly. We plan on staying at the Crowne Plaza next month!

Room Tip: The city view is nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCPNorthstar, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Downtown - Northstar, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Tom C,

Thank you for your loyal business to the Crowne Plaza Northstar. I am very happy to hear the good service provided by Ken one of our front desk managers. We look forward to seeing you again next month.

Have a great day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Finland
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

The hotel has an excellent location in the heart of the city. The women at the front desk were helpful, however the male shiftmanager was not that helpful. The doormen were extremely nice. The hotel seems to be quite beautifull, especially the atrium, unfortunatelly I wasn't able to spend much time there. Average, but good rooms, however there was some noise from the other rooms that could be clearly heard. The lobbybar was mall, but nice. The service was good, but very slow. I was very suprised about the parking; lots of space and it is very cheap, thumps up for this!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Downtown - Northstar, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear yoto1,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We certainly do our utmost to make your stay comfortable and pleasant, so we are very pleased to note that you were satisfied with the level of service, facilities and the location of the hotel. I am sorry to hear that we failed to meet your expectations in a few areas. Rest assured that this isn't reflective of the high standards we usually pride ourselves with. We take all reviews very seriously and your feedback will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit.

We know you have many choices when it comes to lodging and we hope you will continue to choose IHG for your travel needs.

Sincerely,

Lera P
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

Location is so great, right where you need to be downtown. This is an older hotel but is so clean. It is noisy being in downtown, but that is to be expected with this great of a location. Really enjoyed this room.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCPNorthstar, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Downtown - Northstar, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
MSPatsfan,

Thank you for chosing the Crowne Plaza for your recent viist to Minneapolis. The hotel was built in 1963 and we are very proud of our maintenance and housekeeping staff for keeping the condition and cleanliness at a high level. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Have a great day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fargo, ND
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

There for a wedding (which the hotel handled so beautifully....out in the open atrium) so it was a weekend. I suspect that it's a place that is more geared to business travelers. Restaurant was very small. Room was nice and updated....dusty! No one has cleaned the cords, etc., that sort of drape across the bathroom (hair dryer plugged in). Room clock was set to the wrong time...tried to figure that one out and simply couldn't:-) All in all, fine for a downtown hotel on a weekend.

Room Tip: View into the open atrium would be nice choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCPNorthstar, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Downtown - Northstar, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
SMJ17,

Thank you for the thorough review of your recent stay. Our sky garden is a great feature of the hotel and a popular destination for weddings. I will make sure housekeeping reviews your comments and addresses them promptly.

Thank you and we look forward to your next visit with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clear Lake
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The staff was most professional, price was right and free breakfast was excellent. The front desk "clerk" was very sweet, responsive and forthcoming. The concierge was most professional and appropriately conversant.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Crowne Plaza Downtown - Northstar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Downtown - Northstar

Address: 618 Second Avenue South, Minneapolis, MN 55402
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Minneapolis
#13 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Downtown - Northstar 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Minneapolis Crowne Plaza Hotel located in the heart of the downtown Minneapolis business and retail district and connected to the Skyway system for easy access to shopping, dining, sports, entertainment and any other downtown Minneapolis event. Deluxe guestrooms include 2 phones with data-port and voice-mail, wireless high speed Internet access for a fee, On-Demand movies, iron/ironing board, coffee/coffeemaker and USA Today paper delivered daily. Our Cafe Northstar restaurant serves breakfast, lunch and dinner. In addition, our Krona lounge overlooking 2nd Avenue in downtown Minneapolis, features light meals, a connoisseur's collection of spirits, complete wine bar and more than thirty beers & ales in a comfortable atmosphere complete with fireplace. Take advantage of our free Fitness Center and the services of our Business Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Otel and Venere so you can book your Crowne Plaza Downtown - Northstar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Downtown - Northstar Hotel Minneapolis
Crowne Plaza Minneapolis
Crowne Plaza Hotel Minneapolis

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Downtown - Northstar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.