We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect hotel for downtown fun!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Downtown - Northstar

Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza Downtown - Northstar to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Crowne Plaza Downtown - Northstar
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   618 Second Avenue South, Minneapolis, MN 55402 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #15 of 49 hotels in Minneapolis
Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Perfect hotel for downtown fun!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

We stayed at the Crowne Plaza for a Twins game at Target field. Room was clean, bed was comfortable and the hotel is perfect walking distance from Target field, Nicollet Mall, and downtown Minneapolis in general. We ordered room service for breakfast the night before and it arrived right on time and was delicious! We would definitely stay at this hotel again for anything in downtown Minneapolis. Parking was $20 for the night (about 11am to 10am the next day) can't beat that for parking your car and not having to worry about it again during your stay!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCPNorthstar, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Downtown - Northstar, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Lindsay K,

We are glad to hear that you had a great time while visiting Minneapolis and staying with us at the Crowne Plaza Northstar. We look forward to your next visit.

Have a great day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    130
    106
    43
    22
    7
See reviews for
28
73
22
108
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

I've stayed at the Crowne for the better part of a year on a long term project in Minneapolis, and have always been pleased with the level of service, attention, and professionalism of the staff. Every one is very friendly, accommodating, and helpful. The rooms are well appointed, always clean, and quiet (despite the downtown location). The views of the city are quite good, and it is close to many of the best attractions (Nicollet Mall, the light rail, Target Field, etc.).

This is excellent value for money, and I often recommend the property to friends and colleagues.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of Foshay Tower, very nice at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCPNorthstar, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Downtown - Northstar, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
BrianC,

Thank you for your business over the past year. I am very proud of the staff we have at the hotel and your feedback reinforces the quality and caring staff we have. Thank you and we look forward to continuing to be your home while working in Minneapolis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit Lakes, Minnesota
Top Contributor
187 reviews 187 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

The location is within walking distance of the Metrodome and Target Field as well as great shopping and eating. The rooms are well appointed and the staff helpful. Would rate this 5 stars except for the fact that they insist on charging for Internet in spite of a fairly hefty room charge. On site parking is $20 per 24 hours.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Hills, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Let me start with the positive - the location is great. The hotel is within walking distance to lots of restaurants and shopping and not far from the Sculpture Garden. Additionally, it is very close to the light rail (the Minneapolis equivalent to the Metro), so getting to and from the airport, the Mall of America, and Lake Minnehaha is a breeze, not to mention inexpensive! Our room was spacious and the beds very comfortable. Now for the not-so-great....the walls are thin so you can hear everything going on around you (I had to get up at 3AM to tell the partiers next door to go to bed). Our room was not made up one day and when I called down at 6:30 PM I was told they had one person and would do their best. On our second day they did come make the beds and replace some towels, but that was it ( our dirty glasses from the evening before were left). You have to pay to use the Internet and there is no pool, so not great for families with kids. We ate breakfast in the hotel restaurant one morning and that was enough to convince us that it was a mistake - the service was good but the food was bland and apparently "sourdough" is the same as "white". I am hoping the hotel was just having an off-weekend and that they really are better than this. I would like to give them the benefit of the doubt, but probably would not stay there again.

Room Tip: Our room had a view of the Sky Garden, but also of the office building across the garden. A city vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCPNorthstar, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Downtown - Northstar, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Natalie H,

Thank you for taking time to give us your feedback on your recent stay. I am sorry to hear that you had to deal with noisy guests that kept you awake late into the night. In addition, the issues you had with housekeeping will be addressed. I would like to invite you back for a future stay so that you can experience the true hospitality that we deliver! Again I apologize and regret that your stay was not up to your standards or ours. I look forward to getting an additional opportunity to have you stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowie, Maryland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

The Crowne Plaza Northstar, downtown Minneapolis tries hard. The staff is very polite. The hotel is situated at 2nd and 7th Avenues--walking distance to shopping, restaurants, and at least two brew pubs. Upon check in, I asked if I could get a bottle of water. I was told there was a store around the corner, vending machines on some of the floors, and I might be able to get a bottle from the bar. The room was large, the bed comfortable, the furniture dusted--but there was a clear plastic collar piece from a new men's shirt wrapping on the floor near the bed...so the rug had not been vacuumed prior to my arrival. The bathroom appeared clean, but there were dots of black (mold?) on the tub at the wall tile. The first evening, my cold water faucet broke (would not shut off). Maintenance appeared within fifteen minutes and partially repaired because it was so late. The second day, there was a small amount of leaking under the sink from the finished repair and maintenance had to be called again. In addition, there was a party going on in the courtyard below, so it was nearly impossible to work at the desk in the room. Even with the windows closed, the blackout shade pulled down and the heavy-lined curtains pulled, you could still hear the band. The party ended at 9 p.m. When I mentioned my concerns about the inconveniences in response to "How was your stay?” a front desk staff member said: "Oh, I am sorry to hear that." That was all, no offer, no coupon, just...""Here's your receipt." I wasn't expecting anything, but was surprised that nothing was offered.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCPNorthstar, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Downtown - Northstar, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Melissa M,

I am very sorry to hear of the issues you encountered in your room regarding the bathroom. I can assure you that both our housekeeping department and maintenance have taken care of these. With regards to the noise and your experience at check out, please contact the hotel and ask for the general manager to discuss this further. I do appreciate your feedback and can assure you that we are better than this and the issues you have raised have been corrected. i look forward to the opportunity to speak with you directly.

Have a great day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Loved this hotel!! Rooms were very nice and spacious. We are a priority club member and enjoyed ourselves in the club lounge on the 17th floor. Very nice hotel. Would stay here again if in Minneapolis.

Room Tip: If you're a priority club member then tell the front desk and they'll give you a room on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto Canada
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

This is a really nice hotel in a beautiful clean city. The staff is friendly and helpful. Add to that its downtown location, close to the ballpark and great eateries and you have a winner. Underground parking is very reasonable at $20 per 24 hours. Oh, and they have really neat bathrooms with squared tubs.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCPNorthstar, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Downtown - Northstar, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Jack-Dru,

Thank you for staying with us this past month and I am glad to hear your positive comments about the hotel. I am very proud of the staff we have here. We look forward to hosting you on your next trip to Minneapolis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Crowne Plaza Downtown - Northstar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Downtown - Northstar

Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Downtown - Northstar Hotel
Crowne Plaza Downtown - Northstar Hotel Minneapolis
Crowne Plaza Minneapolis
Crowne Plaza Hotel Minneapolis
Address: 618 Second Avenue South, Minneapolis, MN 55402
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
#25 Family Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Downtown - Northstar 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Minneapolis Crowne Plaza Hotel located in the heart of the downtown Minneapolis business and retail district and connected to the Skyway system for easy access to shopping, dining, sports, entertainment and any other downtown Minneapolis event. Deluxe guestrooms include 2 phones with data-port and voice-mail, wireless high speed Internet access for a fee, On-Demand movies, iron/ironing board, coffee/coffeemaker and USA Today paper delivered daily. Our Cafe Northstar restaurant serves breakfast, lunch and dinner. In addition, our Krona lounge overlooking 2nd Avenue in downtown Minneapolis, features light meals, a connoisseur's collection of spirits, complete wine bar and more than thirty beers & ales in a comfortable atmosphere complete with fireplace. Take advantage of our free Fitness Center and the services of our Business Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Otel, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Crowne Plaza Downtown - Northstar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Downtown - Northstar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.