We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistently fantastic!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Downtown - Northstar

Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza Downtown - Northstar to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Downtown - Northstar
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   618 Second Avenue South, Minneapolis, MN 55402 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #23 of 49 hotels in Minneapolis
Racine, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Consistently fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

I have stayed at the Crowne Plaza Downtown several times over the last year when visiting family inMinneapolis. They are consistently polite, friendly and helpful. The room are also very clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    143
    118
    51
    24
    9
See reviews for
33
77
24
123
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I stayed two nights in the hotel. I first night I had trouble with the thermostat. I basically alternated between the room being too cold and too hot.
I had to request an upgrade to get a quiter room.
The location is convenient with the skyway to downtown office buildings

Room Tip: Ask where your room is while at reception. My first room (before switching) was on the same floor a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Downtown - Northstar, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear Desert__Duo03A TripAdvisor Member,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review following your recent stay. It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations at our hotel and your comments are very important to us. We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. We have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality of services we offer to our guests.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Everything about the room is quite acceptable. They can't help that Spring has arrived and the snow is falling like there is no tomorrow. The hotel is connected via a skywalk system that lets you get almost anywhere downtown without stepping outside! The room is finished nicely and appears in good repair. Desk staff are very accomodating. There is a little sleep kit included, that's a nice touch. BUT...

You can hear --> everything<-- in the adjoining rooms. Not just clunks and bangs... the water in running in their sink, everything coming from the restroom, UGH. Pretty bad! And oh the sirens. The sirens.

If you are not here to sleep, its a great room.

Room Tip: Be sure that you grab dinner or sundries early, the sidewalks roll up before 7!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Downtown - Northstar, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear CeeTeeCee,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate your nice comment regarding our staff and room.

However, We’re sorry about the noise during your stay. We will look into this point. I understand the discomfort this caused you. Again, I do apologize and regret that this impacted your experience at our hotel. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Clemente, Ecuador
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Pros:

Updated decor, very elegant
Plugs galore in room (hooray)!
Great location with access to Skyway
Room on 8th floor was terrific and had a patio door that opened to a courtyard!

Cons:

When checking in my clerk left a few times to answer the phone and tell housekeeping what rooms they should clean for the following night while I stood there. He seemed oblivious to the fact that you should continue to help the customer you are interacting with, rather than walk away for an internal phone call!

The room was hot, hot, hot. I was about to get my tanning lotion out! Something was wrong and the thermometer kept resetting to 82 degrees (why would it even go that high?). Despite calling the front desk and tipping an attendant to resolve the problem after he confirmed something was wrong........I never heard back!

A 'four' star hotel should have bottled water in the room,either for purchase or gratis!

Room Tip: Ask for the 8th floor, you can also access from Wi-fi from there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Downtown - Northstar, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear megoreilly,

We appreciate your feedback of our hotel. I am happy you found our hotel location commendable. We strive to provide the best possible service and experience and it is always great to hear from our guests on how we are doing. We are sorry for not being able to meet your expectations on this day particularly with the room temperature and level of service received from our hotel staff. Comments such as yours permit us to target areas of concern and take the necessary steps to remedy the situation.

Thank you again for your comments. We hope to see you soon.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marshfield, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The location is very easy to find and parking garage is convenient to access hotel. However as others mentioned parking fees are an add-on many of us forget when comparing total cost of stay. Also, In today's world Wi-Fi shouldn't be an additional cost.

The location on the Skyway is excellent to get to any downtown venue. The parking pass did allow us unlimited entry as this location provided us easy access to the highway in all directions.

I as others, thought the on-site restaurant was a bit pricey for guests. Maybe a discount card would be appropriate to encourage guests to stay in. Plenty of other options for dining in the area. The hotel did offer some coupons for these types of places.

We had reserved a room for 4, however room was only set-up for 3 towels. Not a big deal , just one of those inconveniences.

Room was very comfortable. the large shades are ideal for sleeping in. Missed a hot tub or pool.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Downtown - Northstar, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Ziggys_Mfld,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review following your recent stay. It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations at our hotel and your comments are very important to us. We are delighted to read you liked our location and found the rooms comfortable. We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

Just stayed at the crowne plaza Minneapolis for a wedding and it was a great stay. The staff and hotel were great and the food was awesome. Loved the room that I stayed in and the bed had a nice touch of the new sleep amenity kits that really helped me sleep.

The only complaint I had was the parking the price is was a lot but off set with a discount. Not sure about the parking the next time I'll get dropped off.

Overall the stay was great in terms of service and rooms. When a hotel delivers on the basics, it will always be a great stay

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

My boyfriend and I booked a room at an obscene discount and were excited to spend the weekend out on the town on my first trip to Minneapolis. Our room had one king bed on the 11th floor and was perfect (although the rooms could use a fridge). Parking was extra, but you get a big discount if you get your parking pass validated at the front desk. I can't count that against them as they don't own the garage and it's what one would normally expect downtown in a large city. Our first night was ruined by some ridiculously obnoxious kids who gave us and the night concierge, Ron, a horrible time. The offenders were removed from the hotel and our second night was so much better. The hotel comp'd us some meals at the restaurant and some drinks at the bar.

I'm going to have to parrot some previous reviewers in complimenting the staff. Ron at night and Anita during the day were gracious hosts and put our needs and comfort first. Had the hotel itself been a little less amazing, I'd still stay there for the helpful attitude these front desk attendants always maintained. Kudos and I can't wait for my next trip!

One note: our heavy window shade wasn't capable of shutting. I'm a partier and like to close those things tight to get some daytime sleeping in. I think the hotel should look into making that happen.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager618, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Downtown - Northstar, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Thank you so much for kind review. We are very lucky to have Ron and Anita. Ron does a really great job keeping things under control on the 3rd shift. I would like to apologize for the issue with your noisy neighbors. We have a very strong stance on noise complaints and will react accordingly.

The issue with the blinds is not uncommon. There is a black out shade behind the wooden blinds that can be pulled down to block the light. Unfortunately, in the evenings it is difficult to see them against a dark window.

Please keep us in mind when you come back to Minneapolis. Thanks so much for choosing us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Crowne Plaza Downtown - Northstar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Downtown - Northstar

Address: 618 Second Avenue South, Minneapolis, MN 55402
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Minneapolis
#12 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Downtown - Northstar 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Minneapolis Crowne Plaza Hotel located in the heart of the downtown Minneapolis business and retail district and connected to the Skyway system for easy access to shopping, dining, sports, entertainment and any other downtown Minneapolis event. Deluxe guestrooms include 2 phones with data-port and voice-mail, wireless high speed Internet access for a fee, On-Demand movies, iron/ironing board, coffee/coffeemaker and USA Today paper delivered daily. Our Cafe Northstar restaurant serves breakfast, lunch and dinner. In addition, our Krona lounge overlooking 2nd Avenue in downtown Minneapolis, features light meals, a connoisseur's collection of spirits, complete wine bar and more than thirty beers & ales in a comfortable atmosphere complete with fireplace. Take advantage of our free Fitness Center and the services of our Business Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Agoda, Otel and Venere so you can book your Crowne Plaza Downtown - Northstar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Downtown - Northstar Hotel Minneapolis
Crowne Plaza Minneapolis
Crowne Plaza Hotel Minneapolis

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Downtown - Northstar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.